Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cameras at the border?

• 04-05-2013 2:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭

Hey guys, so I was going back from Belfast today on the N1, and well... I was speeding (I was doing 130kph on the 120kph stretch according to my speedo) - just after the border I noticed a set of cameras so I pretty much slammed on the brakes, but I think I saw a flash... Are those safety cameras or am I just paranoid? (It was a long day, and it was so frustrating to drive on the NI roads - they don't say what the speed limit is at all!!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Speed limit in the UK is 70mph (110kph). Did the camera flash once or twice? If once, you're probably OK. Twice? I'm afraid it's a nick...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

they do....by default the speed limit in a car is 60 (or 70 on a dual carrigeway/motorway,) indicated by a white circle with a black bar through it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Sobanek wrote: »
    Hey guys, so I was going back from Belfast today on the N1, and well... I was speeding (I was doing 130kph on the 120kph stretch according to my speedo) - just after the border I noticed a set of cameras so I pretty much slammed on the brakes, but I think I saw a flash... Are those safety cameras or am I just paranoid? (It was a long day, and it was so frustrating to drive on the NI roads - they don't say what the speed limit is at all!!!)

You most likely saw the ITs cameras and the flash would've probably been the sun. It's a nice day up here. The only static camera near there is at Dunleer a good trek from the border.

The its system reads your reg and provides the average travel time down the m1 and displays the results on to those overhead screens along the motorway. The information is then ditched and not given to any other authority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

It was on the Irish side guys! (120kph limit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

Yep, definitely not speed cams.

Thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Take her handy too. Been up and down a fair bit this week and they're watching the road heavily on both sides. PSNI had a few checks during the week and the Traffic Corps car was sitting watching southbound traffic last night when I was going to Newry around 8pm and were still on that stretch around 12 when I was on my way back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

MugMugs wrote: »
    Take her handy too. Been up and down a fair bit this week and they're watching the road heavily on both sides. PSNI had a few checks during the week and the Traffic Corps car was sitting watching southbound traffic last night when I was going to Newry around 8pm and were still on that stretch around 12 when I was on my way back.

It's funny, because on my 4 hour journey through Newry and Belfast and the M1, I haven't seen a single police/garda car :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

Saw the guards sitting on their perch in a marked Mondeo on Wednesday. Think yer man was just having a break because he didn't have his hair dryer out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There's a set of cameras on the border itself recording cars entering the leaving, think the PSNI just have them as a reference if they need to check if a vehicle has passed.

The other cameras they have are on yellow gantries, they are average speed cameras, they record your average speed between two points, if the average is over the speed limit you get a ticket even if your going below the limit passing each camera.