Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Time Golfer, First Time poster.

• 03-05-2013 9:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Hi all.

I have been a long time reader on boards on many topics from music to sport to a bit of everything but never had the need to start posting. But when i became a member of a golf club for the first time last month, and having gotten numerous tips from reading golfers posts here i felt it was a good time to sign up here too.

Now when i say first time golfer i think in the past five years (Before last month) i have played maybe 5 or 6 rounds of golf. I have practiced at home (Live on a farm) for maybe the last year just hitting a few balls with all clubs as i thought it would be good to get at least a level of consistency before i sign up for real.

First time on the first tee was daunting to say the least (Few older lads watching) but hit it say 150 yards but a long way left but still felt a sense of relief that i hit it semi respectably. The second hole a 120 yard par 3 i hit an 7 iron. Total mi**** with the ball never getting above 3 metres high but it finished 4 feet from the hole and i ended up making birdie. lol

Anyway back to reality. That round i finished in 127 shots. With the next two i improved a bit with 118 and then 109. Those are the only full rounds i have played (Each friday afternoon)but have played nine holes a few times when i have a couple of hours to spare. Got scores of 57, 52 54, etc Was very happy with a 45 stroke 9 holes this week with 1 par 7 bogies and 1 double and peeved i didnt have time to finish but i probably wouldnt have kept it going so might be for the best.

Havent handed in any scores yet so havnt got a handicap but really looking forward to playing in a few comps. Should be a bit of craic as plenty of lads i know are already members.

Anyways will update ye on how i get on every now and again and will see how far i can get. My aim was to get to a 18-19 Handicap within a year. Not sure if this is easily done or even realistic but will give it a go. Will try to play at least twice a week to give myself a chance.

Any tips or comments would be much appreciated as i know you were all in the same boat as me one time or other. Now to get all my gear ready for the morning weather permitting.

Barny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

Best of luck with it anyway . I'm only playing a year and am completely hooked on the sport , when I'm not playing I'm thinking about playing or reading golf websites .

I'm still playing off 28 HC but most rounds I'm scoring 30+ points where as this time last year I was lucky to get 20 . I'm not a club member yet but considering joining one soon enough because iv now reached a level where I wouldn make a show of myself .

Keep us posted on your progress anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

You are making great progress, far far better then most when they start out. I think I was scoring in the 130+ range for weeks when I took up membership (and like you, I had played before).
    Keep it up and keep up the practice at the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Well, you're flying Barney. I'm 2 years golfing next sept'ish and I'd say it took me 9-10 months if not more to shoot 45 for 9 I'm still not always lower tbh.
    Best advice you'll ever get for golf.

When you're playing well, enjoy it.
    When you are playing ****e, enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

You will probably hit your handicap aim the day you get one. Dont be disappointed if your handicap increases before you start getting it down again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭liam12989

also dont be too hard on yourself if you are scoring well and you frittier it away.

It happens everyone the nerves set up and people start thinking of scores but it will come some day and its a great feeling walking into the club house.

People asking what did you shoot?

Ad if you real luck that day might be Capts or Free Sub :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Barny_Army

Planning to head out tomorrow for a full 18 and just a few questions ye might be able to help me out with.

When the ball is a few inches higher than my feet i have a lot of trouble just getting a clean contact basically. I know to grip down the club and aim a tad right but i still seem to hit under the ball for the most part. It feels very strange when i try to keep the legs straighter and i am just not too confident over the balll.(It will take time i know but i want to know if i am getting the basics right)

Also i cannot hit my sand wedge to save my life. I make divot after divot. Anything from 80 yards in to a little chip and run i use my pitch wedge. Is this or could it prove to be a problem in future.I am solid enough with the pitch at this stage in my game anyay.

Thanks for the help.

Okay. Just to let ye know i havnt packed it in. had a little bit of an accident playing football and ended up with a double break of the arm and a dislocated elbow. Havent managed to play really until this week.

The good news is when i hit a clean shot the arm is alright. The bad news is when i mi**** it slightly i get a shot of pain down the arm. If that wont improve my swing i dont know what will. Looking forward to going out again. even after only a few rounds it was becoming addictive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Barny_Army wrote: »
    Okay. Just to let ye know i havnt packed it in. had a little bit of an accident playing football and ended up with a double break of the arm and a dislocated elbow. Havent managed to play really until this week.

The good news is when i hit a clean shot the arm is alright. The bad news is when i mi**** it slightly i get a shot of pain down the arm. If that wont improve my swing i dont know what will. Looking forward to going out again. even after only a few rounds it was becoming addictive.

That's awful, I hope you are ok to play ATM though, I'm not sure if golf should ever hurt mate watch that. I'd get it checked but you know never take medical advice off the net :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

m r c wrote: »
    That's awful, I hope you are ok to play ATM though, I'm not sure if golf should ever hurt mate watch that. I'd get it checked but you know never take medical advice off the net :-)

Oh it does, but in a curl up in a ball and made the bad world go away Daddy kind of way :D

Doctors have given me all clear. Its just muscle pain more than anything.

My short game should be a bit better now anyway as thats all i have done for the last 6-8 weeks.