Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

losses

• 02-05-2013 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭

Just thought i would start a thread to see who every one got on in that hardy weather had you's much livestock lost and so on.

We are selves lost a bull calf to cripto at xmas a cow to weakness and a weanling heifer to pneumonia so a bad year for us but we have weathered the storm and most of the livestock are out and hopefully doing well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

"I have lost the will to go on"

one 3 week old heifer calf, nearly lost a cow but she pulled tru

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

less losses than last year, lost 2 cows who did the splits,another one whose kidneys gave up...lost 2 calves at birth, lost 3 calves that didnt get enough biestings-rotavec treated-, thats so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

So far this year, lost one calf at birth. He was deformed, front legs were twice the length of back legs! Recently lost a 3 month old heifer calf to pneumonia. The worst loss was a young cow I bought last year. 100% British Friesian. She did the splits on ice a couple of months ago. Still not over it:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Maybe a good idea to mention mortality rate as a %..

We lost one so far but thats 2% of our small holding.. rather than only loosing one making us any better at stockmanship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Only lost one calf this year born alive but struggled to get going died within 24 hours, so a good spring for us. Cows are extremely thin though and milk is non existant so I'll be holding my breath till they build up some condition again. they're going out tomorrow one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

9 since turn of the year, below normal. weather conditions and feed not impacting on deaths. I dont include dead baby calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

one calf through coccidiosis, another still not thriving great, and a incalf heifer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Jesus reading this is as bad as listening to the deaths on Northern Sound.

The photo thread is much more uplifting. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

bbam wrote: »
    Maybe a good idea to mention mortality rate as a %..

We lost one so far but thats 2% of our small holding.. rather than only loosing one making us any better at stockmanship.

0% so far touch wood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

3 cows, two were 12yrs old, very large calves and had been dry a long time, on hindsight they should have gone to the factory long ago. Other one came down with very bad ecoli mastitis, just bad luck. 4 calves then, 2 stillborn, and 2 within 2wks from scour etc. Just over 4% in total, now that the most of calving is done hopefully won't be many more!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Instead of numbers or percentages why not just go on how big is your knackery bill for this year so far?

Mine is over 3 figures and hopefully won't hit 4 figures:o

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

2 calves, one born dead and the other was a half twin which I wasnt expecting. Will be happy enough if thats our losses for the year.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Instead of numbers or percentages why not just go on how big is your knackery bill for this year so far?

Mine is over 3 figures and hopefully won't hit 4 figures:o

yes thats all well and good but im a bulk buyer of there services and the prices I get will beat some peoples hands down :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

yes thats all well and good but im a bulk buyer of there services and the prices I get will beat some peoples hands down :D

Are you on a ton rate?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Lost 2 calves off heifers, easy calving limo with hips on the calves that would rival beyonces. Had to cut one of these outof the back of the cow.Lost one with pneumonia. lost one that had suspected collic that then got pneumonia, she had been a caesarian job so added loss. Then a cow i , wanted to cull last year pick calved and pushed out her ass. Shipped her straight to the factory and they skipped her. so all in all less than 5% and more importantly less than last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

PUT THE FIGURES UP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Lost 2 calves and one gimped yearling. He had a bad hip and was always bent out of shape. He developed a huge gut from December on for some reason, but looked otherwise ok. Around January he started getting stuck on his back and had to be rolled over, croaked by Feb.

Lost a lovely six week old calf, flying one day and stone dead the next, could be heart problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

1% in cows 5% with calves better than average years for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

0.2% of current number but its 0.1% of cattle slaughtered in the last 12 months.

Which is it when people are talking mortality rate or how do they come to a figure?

Pretty happy with it but have a medicines bill that you could mistake for a meal bill and half the Winter given in the sick bay nursing lads on.
    But given the fact that we ran all the stores tight this Spring I think we've been lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

First lost during the winter was when I came home from Glanbia's event in Gowran and found a cow down on the slats, couldn't get up, she had torn muscles right off her hip area, didn't recover so had her put down.
    Lost two calves to Schmallenberg - confirmed.
    Two weak calves died.
    A cow got gangrene mastitis and died.

So please God thats it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

RobertKK wrote: »
    First lost during the winter was when I came home from Glanbia's event in Gowran and found a cow down on the slats, couldn't get up, she had torn muscles right off her hip area, didn't recover so had her put down.
    Lost two calves to Schmallenberg - confirmed.
    Two weak calves died.
    A cow got gangrene mastitis and died.

So please God thats it.
    Feckin' Glanbia;);););):rolleyes::rolleyes:
    What's gangrene mastitis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

Lost 2 cows one was 17 yrs old was going last year but ended up in calf so kept her. At least I have the heifer calf. The second one was bullied on the slatts and went down had to section her, the calf which was a heifer so not so bad. I lost two calves I bought in, one to diarrea and one that I found dead 2 hrs after he was fed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

delaval wrote: »
    Feckin' Glanbia;);););):rolleyes::rolleyes:
    What's gangrene mastitis?

I was happy with the vote that day, but these things happen, was not what anyone would want to return home to find, but at the same time it could be worse.

Basically a cow gets mastitis and instead of getting better or stabilising, it is gangrenous and like anything with gangrene its not good news. Usually a death sentence, this cows quarter turned blue. She had a fever and was panting before she died, wouldn't eat or drink in the days before her death despite treatment. Because she wouldn't eat she just got weaker and weaker and finally she ended up being business for knackery.

The cow was in good form when calving but then it was downhill. Found this :
    Gangrenous mastitis can also occur, particularly when subclinical, chronic infections of S aureus become severe at times of immunosuppression (eg, at parturition).

I was treating the quarter, it had the worst smelling liquid coming from it, really very bad smell, but that could have been the gangrene, just rotten, it would make a good spray against an attacker :pac:

I first came across it a few years ago when the vet diagnosed it, that cow died too, never heard of it before then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭tim04750

Had a case of that too, and like that never heard it before , vet didn't give her much of a chance but I treated her anyway with a bottle and a half of penstrep in one go for the first treatment, on the vets advice, she wasn't eating or drinking so I dosed her with a bucket of water with two packets of glucose in it twice daily for two days ,the barnyard theory being the fluids will help flush toxins out of the system and the glucose will provide energy , right or wrong ? I dunno.
    I got quare looks at the till in dunnes store on a sunday morning with every packet of glucose in the place in me basket.
    I left a bucket of water with a packet of glucose in it in the pen with her and she started taking a drop herself the third day, was givin her 30 cc noroclav every day for 10 days. she started to pick at a bit of meal on day 4 and picked up from there, continued giving glucose in the water for a few days.
    The quarter went blue then black then looked like it was melting and boy the smell ,it actually dropped off about a fortnight later and now she's grand.
    Posting this that it might help others and not blowin' me trumpet as Ive made enough of trips to the knackery this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Sounds exactly like what happened one of our cows afew wks ago, same outcomes, trip to the knackery. But not before the vet spent days pumping her full of drugs, I don't look forward to the next bill from him.

Is it worth getting the vet to sick animals. Sick animals nowadays dont respond to medicines, maybe im too fast reaching for lead, but every death seems to be something un treatable.

Very rarely get the vet here.
    Has to be something exotic like for example a B1 deficiency was the last call out. Looked a lot like meningitis and its been a while since we had a case of it so out of our league.

But when we do call one out I'd be absolutely raging if we went and paid for the call out and still lost the animal. If thats happening a lot then your vet is costing more than he/she is saving you and that means the time has come to finish up with them.
    Every vet should pay for themselves, not in every case but certainly when you look back over the year.

Very rarely get the vet here.
    Has to be something exotic like for example a B1 deficiency was the last call out. Looked a lot like meningitis and its been a while since we had a case of it so out of our league.

first case of B1 last year, was bringing the heifer to the crush and she fell down and wouldnt get back up, I sent orders for the weaponry, for some reason she seemed to be doing something different than normal death bed ones so got the vet on the blower and he diagnosed it over phone.

Yeah, its a real curveball of a problem. Actually lost a bull to it two years ago and didn't realize till it was too late that it was B1 that was the problem.

We were banging away as we would treat anything with meningitis and it was only when he didn't improve that we copped it was B1.
    The only reason why I went with the vet in this case was because I wasn't sure which one it was and I was afraid that treating him for both might be counter-active or rightly wreck him.
    But in the end that's exactly what the vet did. Treated him for both and the only reason I know it was B1 was how quick the bull is recovering.

Just goes to show, there's so many things that can catch a lad.
    I've had to treat 5 animals today, two for lameness, that B1 animal, very early pneumonia case and a bad head injury from fighting.
    Bulls are a right b*stard for coming up with ways of dying on ye.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

lost only one very good possible show quality limo bull calf.. totally my fault.. too large for her and i slept in as wrecked with the flu:(

cow is okay and all others fine, only one left to calve.. had a lovely steel grey ADX heifer today at oly 282 days gestation... unusual bright grey for a limo but nice calf.. she had a shameful runt from fl22 last year