Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange car reg!

• 02-05-2013 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭

Hey folks, my boss asked me to check out a car for him today.
    Went to have a look, everything checked out fine until I put the reg into motortax.ie and cartell.ie...
    They both tell me the reg corresponds with a Nissan Tiida!! Which it sure as hell isn't!
    And before anyone asks, my boss is not a funeral director!
    Anyone have any ideas what might be going on?!
    Its in a main Mercedes dealer!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

Get a look at the log book. The physical plate is wrong. At an educated guess it should be 08-KY-3207 MERCEDES BENZ C200 cdi estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Hey Basil
    have you anything for Doncaster tomorrow?
    Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭markoire

Haha, thanks lads. That was fairly easy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I was in a petrol station and saw a car with my old number plate on it. Turned out the lady had got a new plate for the nct and they got the number wrong. She'd even drivien it around for 18 months like that and nct never copped it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I was in a petrol station and saw a car with my old number plate on it. Turned out the lady had got a new plate for the nct and they got the number wrong. She'd even drivien it around for 18 months like that and nct never copped it

What would happen there in the case of penalty points?
    The owner of your old car would get them?

Old car was scrapped at that stage

What would happen say if I was to have the same reg as some chap 400 miles away?

Scortho wrote: »
    What would happen say if I was to have the same reg as some chap 400 miles away?

He'd be in a different country if he was 400 miles away :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Won't be a problem.

With the other car in the sea, that is..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Ha! :D

My bad! 150 miles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

My bad! 150 miles?

They'd have to provide some proof that they couldn't have been in the area where the alleged offence took place. Then it'd be up to the Gardaí/courts/DPP to decide if they believe them or not.

Del2005 wrote: »
    They'd have to provide some proof that they couldn't have been in the area where the alleged offence took place. Then it'd be up to the Gardaí/courts/DPP to decide if they believe them or not.

Fairly **** one if you couldn't prove it alright. Great for the other person until they get caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The full pic of the car from the speed camera would clear the owner of the proper reg unless by some real fluke it ends up on the same make, model and colour with a driver that looks remarkably like the other guy.

Ah grand. Never got points so didn't know there was a pic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

but beware, regs are being cloned more frequently nowadays, doesn't show up unless parking/speeding tickets come along and questions start being asked, but if cloned reg stays clean, hard to be caught!!

The picture I got wouldn't prove anything. You could barely make out the reg and that was about it.

Don't forget the smart scumbags know to copy plates of similar cars, the dumb ones just clone any plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Afaik they send a crap pic with the fine but if you challenge it they have a bigger clearer picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I got new plates made up for the NCT a while back and the guy accidentally put another 1 into the number. I coped it in the shop at the time, but a mistake like the one in the OP might not be so quick to pick up on, especially if you only glance at the plate quickly.

sean1141 wrote: »
    Afaik they send a crap pic with the fine but if you challenge it they have a bigger clearer picture

Not on the one I got. The 1st one was of the number plate when I requested the bigger picture all I got was a crap quality picture. I didn't even get the 2nd one to prove I'd been speeding past the lines for the Gatso camera, as Gatso's are not reliable for bikes.