Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So how many are active here?

Options
  • 01-05-2013 3:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭

Just wondering how many people are active here and what your levels are.

Noticed a lot of even the first few threads are quite old!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

Aye, it's a quiet wee forum (post moaaaar! >_>).

Not sure where exactly my level lies as I haven't had a chance to take a JLPT exam yet but I'm studying Japanese in college atm and just finished 2nd year. Heading off to Tokyo now in September for a year so hoping to improve a fair bit over there (particularly with spoken Japanese as my written is definitely miles ahead of my speaking at the moment!).

How about yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭The_Nipper_One

Ahh sounds nice, be sure to keep up the posting on boards so we can know how you're doing.

This is the first week I've been learning, so I'm scoping out a few different places I might be able to post to interact with a few other learners. I'm purely spending this week learning the Hira/katakana, and once I have those beaten into my head I'll start on the Kanji. After I have a few of those down I'll begin learning grammar while slowly progressing through the Kanji.

From what I gather there are about 3 main ways people go about learning them:

1. Follow the Japanese school route (seems to be generally discouraged for non native speakers.)
    2. Learn how to write the Kanji and then go back over them again to learn the meanings/readings.
    3. Learn the Kanji from most simple to draw, with readings, to the most complex.