Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Councillors arrested in Cork

• 01-05-2013 1:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0501/389724-cllrs-arrested-in-cork-boi-protest/

It seems the bould Ted Tynan (Workers Party) and perpetual General Election candidate Mick Barry (Socialist Party) were acting the maggot in a BOI branch at a protest today.

Not that I have any particular love of the banks, but does this seem like aimless grandstanding and eejitry to anyone else? The state of the country is hardly the fault of the tellers and clerks working there, and having a gang of muppets storm in screaming slogans at them was probably a tad intimidating.

Methinks Cllrs Tynan and Barry would be better off spending less time coming up with ways to waste garda time, and more time coming up with some actual, workable solutions to the hole the country finds itself in (PS: "1.) have a revolution like the russians did, 2.) ???, 3.) PROFIT" doesn't count as a real solution lads).

What do ye think? Principled protest or cheap showboating?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I believe the intention was that if they inconvenience the low level counter staff enough, Richie Boucher is sure to resign, hand over all his wealth to the Workers Party and live in solitude on the Skelligs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Just eejitrey, and exposes the immaturity and naivety of the left wing tbh.