Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*EVENT* Tour De Bog 19/05/2013

• 01-05-2013 12:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭

Just a quick heads up about the inaugural Tour De Bog taking place on Sunday 19th May to help raise some funds for the renovation of the Community Centre in Rathangan Co.Kildare.

Cost is €20 per person with a choice of 100km or 50km routes, there'll be water/snack stops on route with hot food at the finish.

All the details are at the Facebook page (and you don't have to join or login to see it;))

If you want to bring along the non cycling family members there's plenty to keep them occupied locally with choices like shopping at Kildare Village, the horses and gardens at the National Stud of for the little ones a trip to Lullymore Heritage Park is always popular.

Why Tour De Bog? Well the picture below should answer that question.

251919.JPG

Any questions or comments post them here (or over on FB) and we'll do our best to answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,668 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

hmmm attractive title :D

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭nilhg

hmmm attractive title :D

I was waiting for that, don't shoot the messenger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

You say €20 and the FB page says €25?

EDIT: Actually, the FB page also makes reference to a fee of €20 as well as €25, you might want to clear that up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Would love to do it but would take a bit of wrangling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭LeftBlank

This is local enough to me so I reckon I shall be there.

funkyjebus wrote: »
    You say €20 and the FB page says €25?

EDIT: Actually, the FB page also makes reference to a fee of €20 as well as €25, you might want to clear that up.

Definitely €20, FB should be sorted.
    bcmf wrote: »
    Would love to do it but would take a bit of wrangling.

It'll be worth it though.

LeftBlank wrote: »
    This is local enough to me so I reckon I shall be there.

Great, the more the merrier, make sure to introduce yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

nilhg wrote: »
    It'll be worth it though.

I am sure it is BUT its my wifes birthday plus she is in work. Not sure if I wanna burn all my brownie points in one go.

Still planning to head to this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭kildarecommuter

In the diary looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭leecurlywurly

Looks good. Anyone know how to get there from Dublin without a car?

Train to Newbridge or Kildare is probably your best bet on a Sunday

As kildarecommuter says the train to Kildare is an option, I believe there is one from Heuston at 8AM, another option is Dublin Coach, they have two different services to Kildare, the M7 express,

http://www.dublincoach.ie/timetables/M7_bus_limerick_to_dublin_city.php

and the Airport shuttle,

http://www.dublincoach.ie/timetables/N7_bus_dublin_airport_to_portlaoise.php

Best to give them a call to make sure of their policy on bikes first though.

From Kildare Town across to the start is less than 10KM.

Are there many Boardies doing this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

On my doorstep, think I'll give it a lash.

Time to dust off the pink boardsie kit!

Are there many Boardies doing this ?

Not sure, hopefully a few.
    Grassey wrote: »
    On my doorstep, think I'll give it a lash.

Time to dust off the pink boardsie kit!

If the weather holds up might drag mine out for a while too, though I don't know what the mixture of boards jersey and club shorts will look like.

Forecast looks OK at the moment, rain through on Sat evening with a reasonable day for Sunday, hopefully it'll work out like that.

http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/County_Kildare/long.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Nilgh, Presume I can register on the day? I see registration is 9.30, what time will roll out be?

Will the route be marked as I am not familiar with those roads at all?

bazermc wrote: »
    Nilgh, Presume I can register on the day? I see registration is 9.30, what time will roll out be?

I don't think there's any pre-reg at all, it's all register on the day.

bazermc wrote: »

Roll out will be as soon as everyone is registered, so come a bit early, AFAIK the plan is to let the folks doing the 100km up the road first followed a few minutes later by the 50km peleton, just to space out things a little.

Roads will be marked and all the major junctions will be marshalled.

LeftBlank wrote: »
    I don't think there's any pre-reg at all, it's all register on the day.

Exactly, hopefully there will be enough help to get everyone signed up quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭DD Mikasa

What kind of numbers are expected for this? My ideal kind of hills in this, i.e. practically none!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Ahhh I can practically see my house from the route :D

DD Mikasa wrote: »
    What kind of numbers are expected for this? My ideal kind of hills in this, i.e. practically none!

That's the worst of having no pre booking, it'll totally depend on the weather on the day.
    BX 19 wrote: »
    Ahhh I can practically see my house from the route :D

Hope it's looking good:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

That's the worst of having no pre booking, it'll totally depend on the weather on the day.

Hope it's looking good:D

Cycled the bog road to Rathangan the other day. Bit windy alright, feck all shelter! Sadly I've organised a trip away with friends over those few days, if you're doing it next year, I'll jump at it! Good luck!

Im presuming its easy to find the start point in Rathangan will there be signs up?

Rathangan isn't that big:D, the Community Centre is close to the centre of the village, opposite Ryans Pharmacy, turn right if you come down the bridge.

There's plenty of parking on the streets around the village or out the Monasterevin road in front of the Secondary School.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Doing mount Leinster tomorrow but this is very close to home so I will do it on Sunday as well see ye there

Fair play to you, you're flying.

Anyone from these parts who comes along make sure to say hello, my name is John, I'll be in Headstrong Club gear on a White\Blue\Silver Trek.

Was out marking the roads this morning, the forecast looks good, hopefully everyone will enjoy the day.

Really enjoyable spin. Nice route, and a well earned bbq with tea and biscuits at the end. The sun even made an appearance at one stage!

For a first run event fair play lads! One of the ladies mentioned possibly running it again in Sept, if so I'll see ye back there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

Grassey wrote: »
    Really enjoyable spin. Nice route, and a well earned bbq with tea and biscuits at the end. The sun even made an appearance at one stage!

For a first run event fair play lads! One of the ladies mentioned possibly running it again in Sept, if so I'll see ye back there!
    +1. Very well run. Thanks to John for the lead out. To the Headstrong lads for setting a fast pace and for darealbadger for the tow when chasing hard - pace was a bit steep for me 80 k in so all I was able to do was wheel suck😳

Nice nose bag at midway and finish

Well done guys and gals

Only did the 50k but great route and lovely spread at the end.

Looking forward to the next installment!

A big thanks to all who supported the first Tour De Bog, we were very happy with the way it worked out and I hope all those who took part enjoyed their day out. The main thing is that everyone came home safe and the dreadful news from Clane just emphasizes that.

I met derealbadger, t'bear and Left Bank, I'm presuming Grassey was the other cyclist in a boards jersey, I saw you before the start and was going over to say hello but got distracted and suddenly we were away and I never got the chance afterwards.

I was comfortable enough in the front group on the first half till I had to stop to answer the call of nature, no chance of getting back on but myself and Left Bank made good time together back to the food stop. I wasn't long back till the 100s pulled out and I had to chase to get into the group and was happy ennough there till I had to make a quick stop, headed on on my own till I came on derealbadger with a mechanical which we got sorted and we had a good old chat spinning back home together.

I think it was a few folks first experience of bog roads and once we passed into Offaly the build quality of all the bikes was well tested but everything seemed to survive.

Again many thanks to all who supported this event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Thanks for a great day on the bike lads.Met a few more Boardsies really have to get some of the Boards kit if for no other reason than an excuse to wear pink.Enjoyed the sprint at the end of the first 50Km. Going back out for the second 50 I got caught slightly unaware and ended up having to chase for about 4 k to get the group was flying then but legs were not in the mood to co-operate on any sort of a climb {Mount Leinster was catching up on me} Got dropped on the drag into Rode but chased very hard to make up about a 2k gap after just got back on with t,bear in Tow hitting the main Edenderry to Tullamore Road turned of for Clonbolougue and there were one or two potholes to contend with hit one hard and instant flat so started to change it and nilhg arived to my rescue with his great C02 canister {getting some of these in the morning} and as nilhg said had a great chinwag the resat of the way home.Had a chat with Leftbank this morning as-well. Thanks to all really well run top notch BBQ and food all round lookin forward to the next one

I'm presuming Grassey was the other cyclist in a boards jersey, I saw you before the start and was going over to say hello but got distracted and suddenly we were away and I never got the chance afterwards.

Ay, that was me alright. I'll catch you at the next one sure!!!
    really have to get some of the Boards kit if for no other reason than an excuse to wear pink

You need a reason for pink these days? Madness!!