Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skinny Jeans on Men

• 30-04-2013 10:56pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5

Just a couple of questions about skinny jeans for guys.

How tight is too tight?

Tucked into boots or not tucked?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

There should be some empty space up on the thighs and crotch area, as in not skin tight. Really more of a slim leg than full on skinny.

I prefer them not tucked. I think that All Saints look is a bit tired now.

Looks neater IMO

mens-skinny-and-slim-jeans-chambers-edwin-and-unbranded.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭Black Leather

Speaking as a man who has recently converted to skinny jeans, I wear them skin tight. If I am wearing biker or cowboy boots, the skinny jeans fit inside the boots so that I can show off my new boots. If I am wearing ankle boots, then the jeans look better outside the boots. I just love my skinny jeans and I have built a new wardrobe around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Me thinks that the joke is getting a bit old now.

I agree with what Twee wrote. Also unless you are 16 dark blue or black is the way to go. You have to have good figure and it helps if you are tall.

The problem I've had with skinny jeans is that if they even fit up my leg, they barely ever close around the waist - the few times I've tried super skinny .. well .. let's just say that had I left them on for longer, I probably won't be having any children in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Personally, I don't like the look at all, but if you're intent on getting them, go for the slim fit. Noone needs to see the shape of your man parts, and I'm sure that's not comfortable either. Tucked into boots just looks silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

ElleEm wrote: »
    Personally, I don't like the look at all, but if you're intent on getting them, go for the slim fit. Noone needs to see the shape of your man parts, and I'm sure that's not comfortable either. Tucked into boots just looks silly.

Silly is a kind word. They look damn right awful.

Speaking as a male skinny jeans wearer, they are very comfortable to wear and I have no problem with my ' man parts '. Why hide a good quality pair of boots by covering them up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 short_of_cash

I bought a pair of ordinary jeans in Sorrento about 10 years ago and they were too long...shop guy measured me up and told me to collect them next day...when i arrived and tried them on he had "skinnied" the legs.

I loved them and they looked great..should have bought a few pairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,891 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I think they look wrong on guys, there way to feminine looking.

Those who seem to have a problem with a man wearing skinny jeans are men who cannot fit into them or men who do not have the guts to wear them.

Women who object to men in skinny jeans probably don't like to see a man who actually looks good if not better than them in jeans.

So lawlessman, don't take any notice to the critics and wear your skinny jeans with pride!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

I can't understand how lads wear these. I suppose it will be one of those things that they'll look back at in a few years and laugh at. They're far too girly for blokes to be strutting around in. I'll stick to me leather assless chaps thanks very much.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 60 ✭✭Shutter Island

Those who seem to have a problem with a man wearing skinny jeans are men who cannot fit into them or men who do not have the guts to wear them.

Women who object to men in skinny jeans probably don't like to see a man who actually looks good if not better than them in jeans.

So lawlessman, don't take any notice to the critics and wear your skinny jeans with pride!

Nail on the ****ing head.

I won't wear anything other than spray on skin tight skinnies.

They're a staple of my wardrobe and with a good leather jacket and pointy Chelsea boots they look awesome

ted1 wrote: »
    I think they look wrong on guys, there way to feminine looking.

A number of posters on this thread are of the opinion that skinny jeans are too feminine looking for men to wear. When blue jeans first became fashionable in the late 50s and 60s, they were mainly worn by men before they became fashionable for women. In those days, men wore their jeans tight-fitting as in the ' drainpipe ' style'. Tight jeans worn with denim jackets was the uniform of the rebellious young males or ' teddy boys ' of that period.

The point that I am making is that tight fitting or skinny jeans were worn by men before they were worn by women, so they should not be described as a ' feminine ' style of jeans.

There is a between wearing tighter jeans or looking like someone who just escaped from Motley Crue video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

A number of posters on this thread are of the opinion that skinny jeans are too feminine looking for men to wear. When blue jeans first became fashionable in the late 50s and 60s, they were mainly worn by men before they became fashionable for women. In those days, men wore their jeans tight-fitting as in the ' drainpipe ' style'. Tight jeans worn with denim jackets was the uniform of the rebellious young males or ' teddy boys ' of that period.

The point that I am making is that tight fitting or skinny jeans were worn by men before they were worn by women, so they should not be described as a ' feminine ' style of jeans.

Where the style originated is neither here nor there, but the fact is many of the posters on this thread have agreed that they are feminine looking. It is mainly women who wear figure hugging clothes, not men. I personally would NEVER be attracted to a man who wore tight jeans, and most of my female friends would be the same.

I know that you are very "pro" skinny jeans, as it seems every post on this website is about your unique style, but not everyone agrees. The OP asked for opinions, and that is what he is getting.

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Skinny jeans look infinitely better than the bootcut jeans that a lot of men seem to wear.

I don't wear the skin tight skinnys, usually go for a slim style.

These would be my sort of pick:

http://www.asos.com//Diesel/Diesel-Thanaz-885V-Slim-Jeans/Prod/pgeproduct.aspx?iid=2188476
    http://www.asos.com//Diesel/Diesel-Jeans-Thanaz-Slim-83F/Prod/pgeproduct.aspx?iid=2447401

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Skinnys done right are nice or even a straighter fit

But I hate the skangers chino look that seems to be everyway or the jeans with all the patches and skanger writing nearly like denim tracksuit bottoms

69B32EBLE_thumb.jpg

I shall be purchasing these bad boys this weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

69B32EBLE_thumb.jpg

I shall be purchasing these bad boys this weekend

I bought a pair similar to those of ASOS a few weeks back and I must say they are lovely jeans,very comfy.

Festy wrote: »
    I bought a pair similar to those of ASOS a few weeks back and I must say they are lovely jeans,very comfy.

40502_366167_83327.jpg

al2040.jpg

I shall match them up with these :D

I like your style Shutter Island - skinny jeans worn with Chelsea boots and a biker jacket. I like the look of those ASOS super skinny jeans!

Go on my son! Gok ain't got sh*t on us :D

As I thought Motley Crue are back.

meeeeh wrote: »
    As I thought Motley Crue are back.

Great, great band, with a great image to boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Why not just buy a pair of jeggings and be done with it. IMO they make your head look big, or maybe its that Justin Bieber wannabe head.

Good job the white belt / headphone combo takes the eyes away from the spots and furtive glance of the prepubescent youth.:cool:

Anyone for legwarmers?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I don't like to wear them myself, I've tried them on in shops loads of times but I just find them a bit uncomfortable, especially when sitting they squeeze my man parts. I prefer slightly tight fitting but not skin tight. I agree they can sometimes suit guys but there are skinny jeans and then there are the jeans that don't even cover your arse and look like you robbed them from your 15 year old sister. The latter is not ok in my book. But look outlined above with the leather jacket and the boots works imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭MiseryMary

katy-perry-russell-brand-kissing-04.jpg

Russel Brand is skinny and I think tall. Most men are not.

meeeeh wrote: »
    Russel Brand is skinny and I think tall. Most men are not.

Do you think tall and skinny can pull off that look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭jaxdasher

Boot cut or bust.

Don't understand all the hate towards skinny jeans.Quite often the people who take the piss out people who wear them are either to heavy to fit into a pair themselves.Also they look a hell of lot better than those awful bootcut/buffer jeans which must of the male population in this country seem to live in.You can always spot the Irishman abroad lol

Skinny-Jeans.jpeg

24lvmgm.jpg

Really don't understand the current chinos fad.

Blokes in their 30's trying to look like they've just walked off a One Direction video shoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭shoos

Chinos look grand when worn age-appropriately, just like anything else. Jeans also need to be age-appropriate but when done right, which isn't hard, then it looks really smart.

I mean there's a huge difference between:

this

and this.

Really don't understand the current chinos fad.

Blokes in their 30's trying to look like they've just walked off a One Direction video shoot

Dude, guys in their 30's need to wear them to work. Most offices have a smart casual look, so jeans are out.

Where the style originated is neither here nor there, but the fact is many of the posters on this thread have agreed that they are feminine looking. It is mainly women who wear figure hugging clothes, not men. I personally would NEVER be attracted to a man who wore tight jeans, and most of my female friends would be the same.

I know that you are very "pro" skinny jeans, as it seems every post on this website is about your unique style, but not everyone agrees. The OP asked for opinions, and that is what he is getting.

Everyone is entitled to his or her opinion and I am sure that there are females who would judge a man by the style of his jeans and I imagine that there are also males out there who would judge a woman by what she wears.

Since I started wearing skinny jeans, I have had females come up to me and tell me how good I looked in my jeans. I never had that experience while wearing straight or boot-cut jeans!

Everyone is entitled to his or her opinion and I am sure that there are females who would judge a man by the style of his jeans and I imagine that there are also males out there who would judge a woman by what she wears.

Since I started wearing skinny jeans, I have had females come up to me and tell me how good I looked in my jeans. I never had that experience while wearing straight or boot-cut jeans!

Possibly looking for a gay friend?

Festy wrote: »
    Don't understand all the hate towards skinny jeans.Quite often the people who take the piss out people who wear them are either to heavy to fit into a pair themselves.Also they look a hell of lot better than those awful bootcut/buffer jeans which must of the male population in this country seem to live in.You can always spot the Irishman abroad lol

Totally agree, since I started wearing skinny jeans, I just could not imagine wearing the baggy and shapeless jeans that most Irish males wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

Jesus man you're like a broken record. Do you ever post anything that isnt about skinny jeans???? It's getting pretty old and you tend to come across as somewhat delusional. And before you retort with your ususal "dont have a good body, not confident enough blah, blah shite" you should know that I have a slim build and could easily fit into skinny jeans, I just think they look terrible and the sooner this fad dies out the better. Same goes for coloured chinos. Straight leg jeans and a pair of Vans or Puma Suedes, job done.

Testament1 wrote: »
    Jesus man you're like a broken record. Do you ever post anything that isnt about skinny jeans???? It's getting pretty old and you tend to come across as somewhat delusional. And before you retort with your ususal "dont have a good body, not confident enough blah, blah shite" you should know that I have a slim build and could easily fit into skinny jeans, I just think they look terrible and the sooner this fad dies out the better. Same goes for coloured chinos. Straight leg jeans and a pair of Vans or Puma Suedes, job done.

In case you have forgotten, the title of this thread is ' Skinny Jeans on Men ' so what else should I post about! Anyway, this forum is all about discussing ' Fashion and Appearance ' and not about criticising your fellow posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

In case you have forgotten, the title of this thread is ' Skinny Jeans on Men ' so what else should I post about! Anyway, this forum is all about discussing ' Fashion and Appearance ' and not about criticising your fellow posters.

You're completely skipping over the basic point I was making that you always seem to post on one very specific topic where you keep repeating the same spiel ad nauseum, here and in AH, and it gets tiring. And I'm perfectly aware of what the forum is about hence why I added my own opinion at the end of my post thereby adding to the discussion. Anyways I'm not interested in getting into an argument, just wanted to say my piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I wore flares and bootcuts over trainers for years. I now wear slim fitting jeans and any of a few pairs of nice boots. Looks much better on me and they don't flap around in the wind or soak up water from the ground when it rains. Win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

Can't stand skinny jeans on men , yuck.
    Straight leg jeans look the best, in my opinion, and seem to suit most people.

• Site Banned Posts: 103 ✭✭newsunglasses

On some men,skinny jeans can look questionable.But if the man is fashion concious enough,and knows what to team them up with,they can look amazing. Also i think he has to be in good shape,there is nothing flattering about an overweight scruffy male wearing skinny jeans..

Im sure the same can be said for girls too,if you are too overweight the skinnies just dont look well flattering,stick to non skinny straight leg,or bootcut or flare.

On some men,skinny jeans can look questionable.But if the man is fashion concious enough,and knows what to team them up with,they can look amazing. Also i think he has to be in good shape,there is nothing flattering about an overweight scruffy male wearing skinny jeans..

Im sure the same can be said for girls too,if you are too overweight the skinnies just dont look well flattering,stick to non skinny straight leg,or bootcut or flare.

Totally agree 100%! For a man to wear skinny jeans, he must in good shape and be interested in fashion so that he knows the right footwear and the tops and jackets that will work with skinnies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 djmsgs

skinny jeans are not for men. only a very rare guy can pull that look off :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Skinny jeans are just not good, you need to be so lean to pull them off and also pair them correctly with the right stuff. IMO someone like Harry Styles gets away with it.

Slim fit is best. Suits athletic shapes.