Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving car home after sale, tax question.

• 30-04-2013 7:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭

So, as you may have seen in the chat thread we found our advertising banger :)

we bought it in Waterford (where we are in college) but we have to take it home Friday, a 70 mile trip.

The car has no tax or NCT. and is a bit of a skanger banger.

Keen to not break any motoring laws on the way home, we have a temp transfer from the girlfriends insurance onto it. We have also made an NCT appointment for it.

As regards tax though, what is the law?

we would ideally not like to tax it. because it will never see the road again when it gets home. but the previous owner said he has no problem taxing it in his name tomorrow if we need to, to get it home (at our cost obviously).

is there a way the new owner can tax it before they get the logbook? if not, would a garda be happy to just see a photocopy of the logbook verifying that you had only bought it two days ago and it was not possible to tax it yet?

thanks for any advice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I think you are required to have a valid disc at all time, however I reckon reasonable proof of sale would be enough and tbh chances of getting checked are slim enough I'd have thought. If you're on the motorway the whole way with proof of purchase I'd imagine you would be ok.

In order to be sure you're ok you can tax it but it may be €100 you do not wish to spend. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

So, as you may have seen in the chat thread we found our advertising banger :)

we bought it in Waterford (where we are in college) but we have to take it home Friday, a 70 mile trip.

The car has no tax or NCT. and is a bit of a skanger banger.

Keen to not break any motoring laws on the way home, we have a temp transfer from the girlfriends insurance onto it. We have also made an NCT appointment for it.

As regards tax though, what is the law?

we would ideally not like to tax it. because it will never see the road again when it gets home. but the previous owner said he has no problem taxing it in his name tomorrow if we need to, to get it home (at our cost obviously).

is there a way the new owner can tax it before they get the logbook? if not, would a garda be happy to just see a photocopy of the logbook verifying that you had only bought it two days ago and it was not possible to tax it yet?

thanks for any advice :)

A reasonable guard will just ask you to produce a tax disk at station of your choice within 10 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

I wouldn't tax it, for the sake of one journey. It's not like insurance.

Some people don't have tax that are regularly driving their cars around, so I'd say you'd be okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Legally you still have non-display of tax disc, but it's unlikely a garda would bother considering the circumstances.

The main problem would be no NCT. The car can't be on the road without NCT. Booking an NCT appointment means nothing legally. The law was even changed this year in which they've removed the allowance for driving to/from the NCT centre on the date of a test. Gardaí can seize the vehicle with no NCT (Section 41 of the Road Traffic Act 1994), and it's mandatory court appearance with 5 penalty points and up to €1500 fine.

So in terms of not breaking that law, you're either getting a trailer or towing it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,760 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Challengemaster seems to be right legally.

If the car will never see a road again, why plan an NCT? Why not use the money to get a trailer - which you'll presumably need to take it to/from events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I'd just drive it,

I realise advocating it is seen as a taboo around here, but just drive it, you've done more than most do totry and get it legal already,

I buy bangers a lot, the vast majority don't have tax or test, once you're insured just drive it home and don't take the piss.

How often do any of ye get stopped anyway?

I haven't been pulled in nearly 5 years, and I haven't met a checkpoint since this time last year - and I was waved straight through it, in : a car with no tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Sure aren't the Guards on strike for this type of thing, good timing on your part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

The main problem would be no NCT. The car can't be on the road without NCT. Booking an NCT appointment means nothing legally. The law was even changed this year in which they've removed the allowance for driving to/from the NCT centre on the date of a test. Gardaí can seize the vehicle with no NCT (Section 41 of the Road Traffic Act 1994), and it's mandatory court appearance with 5 penalty points and up to €1500 fine.
    Just wondering in relation to this. My NCT is up as of yesterday. I went to make a booking last week and the nearest date I could find was the 28th of June.

Does that mean I could potentially get done for no NCT for the next 2 months even though I have confirmation of the booking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Provided you have insurance Id say its pretty unlikely that you are going to face any issues if you get stopped, so long as you have some proof with you that you have just purchased the car. If you can show evidence of an NCT booking then you should be fine. I say should, because obviously its not an absolute guarantee that you wont meet a Garda who doesnt show leniency, but Id say youd be unlucky to have an issue.

Just dont park it in a public place without a valid tax disc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Buying a car this evening but don't think it is taxed.
    Whats the rules on drivig without tax - even though I will be in the process of changing ownership and will tax as soon as I get the log book back etc?

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Merged with current thread on same topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

As Des Kelly says:

"Tax is for putting down carpets"

'Nuff said :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

From yesterday's news.

945242_10151905732369937_373205568_n.jpg

The chances of getting stopped are slim,even if you are just explain that the car has just been bought & you'll be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I didnt think Garda cars had to be taxed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

djimi wrote: »
    I didnt think Garda cars had to be taxed?
    They don't. They have to display a disc is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson