Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things that make you proud of yourself for no apparent reason

• 30-04-2013 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

I was in the GPO today, posting a letter by registered post no less.

As I walked out, I could see security guards milling around and making sure nobody robbed all the stamps.

I looked them right in the eye and thought - Well Mr. Security Guard (they were all men), You don't need to be suspicious of me. I'm not going to rob or pester anybody. I'm dressed for work and cleanly shaven (although, as I'm a girl, they probably didn't realise). I've been friendly with the tellers and I have caused no hassle.

And I walked out of the most general of all our post offices with my head held high, conscious of the fact that I didn't cause any of those security guards any hassle or worry.

That made me feel pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Being a big boy and making my own din din's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭heffo500

As I walked out, I could see security guards milling around and making sure nobody robbed all the stamps.

I looked them right in the eye and thought - Well Mr. Security Guard (they were all men), You don't need to be suspicious of me. I'm not going to rob or pester anybody. I'm dressed for work and cleanly shaven (although, as I'm a girl, they probably didn't realise). I've been friendly with the tellers and I have caused no hassle.

And I walked out of the most general of all our post offices with my head held high, conscious of the fact that I didn't cause any of those security guards any hassle or worry.

That made me feel pretty good.

You remind of Mark from Peep Show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 487 ✭✭Cungi

... I'm dressed for work and cleanly shaven (although, as I'm a girl, they probably didn't realise)...

Giggedy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

made me feel pretty good.

Wow, your like totes amazing,like, so proud of being just another like average law abiding

citizen, I like totes think you should like get a medal or something:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I didn't murder a single person since 10.40am today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

I love causing hassle in the GPO.
    Makes me feel great compared to the losers who just go about their business causing no hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Hmm...I haven't a clue. I guess when I do things that really help others. I can think of 3 instances where I've really stepped up and felt proud of my selfless actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

That I can tell what's for dinner without even seeing what's for dinner. Just from the smell alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Pride is a sin OP.

Guilt isn't though, so best to cause a bit of hassle and feel bad about it - for the sake of your eternal soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Im proud of the fact that the team I support for no reason other than my brother picked Liverpool and daddy said I had to choose either Arsenal and Man Utd, have just notched another premier league title.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Jack Lumber

I felt so proud bleeding the radiators the other day, felt really manly too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

heffo500 wrote: »
    You remind of Mark from Peep Show.

I never got into that show. Sounds like I have a soulmate out there though! Might be time to start writing fan letters.
    Wow, your like totes amazing,like, so proud of being just another like average law abiding

citizen, I like totes think you should like get a medal or something:rolleyes:

Ah here - I'd go at one of the guards with a kitchen implement before I started saying totes. I resent your implication. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Whenever I do an oversized shít.

Don't know what it is but I feel proud as punch. Usually give the girlfriend a shout to come and have a look aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Felexicon wrote: »
    Whenever I do an oversized shít.

Don't know what it is but I feel proud as punch. Usually give the girlfriend a shout to come and have a look aswell

My ex used to do that too. Come here and look at This, its the size of your forearm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Duvetdays

I recently learned how to do the Vulcan salute. The ring finger never wanted to join up with the pinky but I forced it into submission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Successfully removing a paper jam from the photocopying machine in work.

I always feel very proud and even attempt to introduce it into the conversation during tea break.

'Hey guys, did the photocopier jam on you this morning? No? Oh, it did for me. Yeah, managed to sort it out though. Took a while, y'know'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I always feel really proud of myself doing any sort of DIY or car stuff- even filling up the screenwash makes me feel so manly. Once I lift the bonnet, I'm a badass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

When other people think that a comment I randomly make about sports apparently makes sense and nobody copping that I don't have a clue what I'm talking about.

Actually, the same could be said about anything that I say about anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

The amount of good looking women who've visited my profile to leave suggestive kinky PM's :cool:

Successfully removing a paper jam from the photocopying machine in work.

I always feel very proud and even attempt to introduce it into the conversation during tea break.

'Hey guys, did the photocopier jam on you this morning? No? Oh, it did for me. Yeah, managed to sort it out though. Took a while, y'know'

Beautiful skills! People need to know your achievements to appreciate them. I've done it in work. Yeah, I managed to fix that dodgy printer. Nah, it wasn't hard... (I turned it off and on again.) It helps that a lot of people in my office don't know what a plug is.
    orestes wrote: »
    When a comment I randomly make about sports actually seems to make sense and is taken to be clever despite me not having a clue what I'm talking about.

Actually, the same could be said about anything that I say about anything.

I pretty much repeat what I heard on the sports section of the radio and instant kudos!

I find that "I've seen them given" and "it depends on the ref" can get you through about 80% of almost any football match.

orestes wrote: »
    "I've seen them given."

I don't know that one. What does it mean???

Supporting a non-premier league team seems to work as well. I support Wolves. Supported them through thick and thin. They'll have their day yet. People like that, but Jebus help me if I ever have to name one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The washing, done and on the clothes pony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    The amount of good looking women who've visited my profile to leave suggestive kinky PM's :cool:
    Same, only they're usually asking the going rate for copper and lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sand678

proud for not being an abnoxious poster on ah, for not putting up stupid replys thinking im really smart when actually i would just sound dumb

I don't know that one. What does it mean???

It means nothing, that's why it works. It's a catch-all for pretty much any disputable decision though if you use it right and tweak it a bit when you need to.

Any time there is a decision made that people are giving out about (offside, free-kick, goal disallowed, pretty much anything) and everyone is giving out about if the right decision was made by the ref (eg: "that was never offside!" - "Yes it was, by a mile!" -etc.) just throw it into the arguement and people will all remember some other time that something similar happened and assume that's what you're talking about. Usually they will even give you an example themselves ("that's right, in the xxxxx game a while back, same thing!") and validate your pointless point for you.

Not only do you look like you know what you're talking about, you get bonus points for connecting the debatable decision in question to another debatable decision and using it as a precedent, all without saying anything at all. Just keep things nice and vague and let people fill in the blanks for themselves, it seems to work quite well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

I killed a really nasty virus yesterday on my computer.
    "Delta Search", it's pretty bulletproof, you can check it on yahoo.

So I just tooled up and zapped it myself, didn't have to call for help. Not even on thread on here about it.

Taking care of biz-niss ladies.

ToddyDoody wrote: »

Try doing that AND making sure all your matching socks are hanging beside each other. Makes me feel like a real grown up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

When I use my problem solving abilities and powers of deduction at work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

I've given blood over 50 times and people say i should be proud of my-self.
    I'm not in the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

GPO you say...why those slack jawed gawkers certainly took their time when I tried to send a letter to the Prussian consulate in Siam...didn't know how to operate the autogyro. The ignorance.

Ended up I had to send it via the spruce moose.

Being prepared for security in an airport and not taking half an hour to realise I need to take my shoes off or laptop out of bag or empty pockets or what do you mean I can't bring my water?

a vommit so loud it woke my housemates.
    proudest moment of my life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭soggy biscuit

Woman pulled in on the side of the road today and looked in a bit of bodder. I kindly stopped my car. Got the jack, jacked up her car, loosened the nuts, took off the wheel, replaced with spare and made sure it was on good and tight.....

Now this didn't solve the fact that her car was on fire....... but i felt i did my bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I needed to move one of the cars off the lawn to cut the grass. The battery was dead so instead of jumping it off another car I put my shoulder to the door pillar and pushed it 20 metres. I felt pretty chuffed with that

Woman pulled in on the side of the road today and looked in a bit of bodder. I kindly stopped my car. Got the jack, jacked up her car, loosened the nuts, took off the wheel, replaced with spare and made sure it was on good and tight.....

Now this didn't solve the fact that her car was on fire....... but i felt i did my bit

I now feel good because I'm not the one who set her car on fire. Two in one for you!!

getzls wrote: »
    I've given blood over 50 times and people say i should be proud of my-self.
    I'm not in the least.

Who did you give it to? This is important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I feel proud when i pay the rent each month.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Making it to the top of a really steep hill on my bike.

effing and blinding all the way up, sometimes worried I'm about to die of exhaustion, and BOOM, hit the top of the hill and then bomb down the other side!

ToddyDoody wrote: »

Piles of neatly folded towels and sheets and I'm delighted with myself. Only surpassed by the special feeling I get when I clean the fluff filter in the dryer. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Not stalling on a hill start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

We had a coffee maker that was quite expensive, and when it broke we decided it was worth getting fixed. We took it back to the shop (or, another shop that sells the same model), but they told us they wouldn't be able to fix it.

So we took it home, I decided to have a go (before throwing it out) and I was able to fix it.

I remind my wife of this at every opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

I once let 12 black binliners of rubbish build up in my shed. One day I heard the bin lorry coming so I put a few of them out.

They took them.

The next week they came again.

By the end of the month my shed was clear.

Who-Da-Man!

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Successfully parallel parking into a tight space on the first go.

Try to maintain an air of nonchalance as the wife glances over with admiration shining in her eyes.
    No big deal.
    Don't call me a hero, please - I'm just a regular guy.

Try to maintain an air of nonchalance as the wife glances over with admiration shining in her eyes.

She's looking in the window of the shoe shop behind you.

But well done you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭bellylint

I'm dressed for work and cleanly shaven[/I] (although, as I'm a girl, they probably didn't realise).
    Well you gave me a good hearty chuckle at this, so may you feel proud about that too.

Just to keep with the vein, repairing punctures. I set my bar high it seems.