Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone see idiot in R8 on the M50?

• 30-04-2013 4:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭

Im not even sure if this warrants its own thread probably not but I dont know were else to put it, im dumbfounded by what I saw the fact it was an R8 probably makes it more annoying for me.

Anyway was driving along for a few mins and could smell burning rubber was wondering were it was coming from getting paranoid it was something on my car :o, when the Passat in front of me pulls in leaving this R8 with the back tyre hanging of it and your man driving along in the outer lane on the M50 I tried flashing getting his attention surely he must have known himself.

But no he keeps driving along for a few miles with smoke bellowing from it until a bit of rubber comes off flys over my car followed by the tyre seperating from the alloy and freewheeling its own way down the M50, only then did he pull over to the hard shoulder while myself and other cars threw on hazards driving behind his tyre.

In summary I still can't believe someone could be so reckless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 johnmcnamara87

the guards wont be too nice to him!! a friend of mine had a tire blow out on him on the m3 and he was driving his truck and one of the tires was bald and just went bang, sent the truck spinning!!gards went berzerk with him. his own fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I wouldn't mind if he had a sudden blow out this idiot was driving along for miles in the outer lane with a very obvious flat tyre and is either and absolute idiot and didnt notice or just didnt care and kept driving thinking it will be grand Im not sure which is worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 johnmcnamara87

just didnt care and kept driving thinking it will be grand Im not sure which is worse.

id say this is ur answer. some very silly people out there. was she on irish plates?

Yeh 08-D pretty sure I've seen it around a good few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Wouldn't an r8 have tyre pressure monitors and run flats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭josealdo

your only jealous lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Was it heading towards Wicklow......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Wouldn't an r8 have tyre pressure monitors and run flats?

its an 08 one, so 5 years, the batteries would be dead in the TPMS sensors, if the driver is the kind of person to not notice a blowout id say they are also the kind to not bother changing the tpms sensors and just have them turned off instead.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Was it heading towards Wicklow......

No it happened heading northbound just before the Liffey Valley exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

If someone is driving along with a tyre hanging off it's not a good idea to drive directly behind them.Give him a wide berth and let him off.

tossy wrote: »
    If someone is driving along with a tyre hanging off it's not a good idea to drive directly behind them.Give him a wide berth and let him off.

It was the M50 I was in the furthest right hand lane and I stayed well well back from him he had plenty of time and opportunity to get off the M50 or into the hard shoulder but he didnt until the tyrpe actually seperated, and as soon it did he pulled straight into the hard shoulder leaving his tyre behind.

I tried getting his attention before it happened but surely he must have known with the amount of smoke and smell before it seperated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭josealdo

was he a good looking fellow in a suit ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Was he a geezer in a shell suit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

If I was in an R8 on the northside I wouldn't stop either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Those R8 alloys are pricey me thinks, he'l pay for his mistake;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

No it happened heading northbound just before the Liffey Valley exit.

There's 3 08 r8s for sale on carzone, one on the naas road. Check them out and see if looks familiar.... It'd be the one not to buy....!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I tried getting his attention before it happened but surely he must have known with the amount of smoke and smell before it seperated.
    The smoke & smell was all behind him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Where's all yer dash cams now? :pac:

JJJJNR wrote: »
    If I was in an R8 on the northside I wouldn't stop either.

:pac: he wasn't in the northside yet just by Clondalkin/ Lucan ;)
    There's 3 08 r8s for sale on carzone, one on the naas road. Check them out and see if looks familiar.... It'd be the one not to buy....!!!

Im nearly positive I know which one it was, it's one Ive seen around quite a lot over a few year and its been for sale for a while to but not sure if im allowed say which one?
    Anan1 wrote: »
    The smoke & smell was all behind him.

Yeh I could be wrong but surely he would have felt some difference to handling? extra road noise? or even noticed a bit of smoke in his mirrors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Yeh 08-D pretty sure I've seen it around a good few times.

I think I know the car you're on about. I saw it just after it was purchased (in 08) down in Donnybrook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Here is a theory. Car was on run flats and has been driven and driven without air pressure in that tyre for so long that it just gave up. I cant see how a normal flat would go unnoticed to the driver. With a runflat, im assuming the car wouldnt feel great however given the performance of the car, it would still feel 100% to someone just cruising along a motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I would think it was stolen or "borrowed" by someone (mechanic, family member) that couldnt risk getting caught in it by stopping, calling for a truck etc and rescue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

It was the M50 I was in the furthest right hand lane

This could get messy..:D

Was it the fast lane or the overtaking lane?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 dj1980

This could get messy..:D

Was it the fast lane or the overtaking lane?:pac:

Well technically the middle lane is an overtaking lane too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

dj1980 wrote: »
    Well technically the middle lane is an overtaking lane too.

And we're off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 dj1980

And we're off...

He started it!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Was he a geezer in a shell suit?

No. Though maybe he had one under his sports jacket. A middle age fat guy, with grey hair. I saw him pulled over talking to the guards. Seem a trifle animated. Him, not the guards. Just after the Red Cow slip onto the M50 Northbound yesterday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

dj1980 wrote: »
    He started it!! :D

No you go first.. I dare you:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Matt Simis wrote: »
    I would think it was stolen or "borrowed" by someone (mechanic, family member) that couldnt risk getting caught in it by stopping, calling for a truck etc and rescue.

I actually know the muppet that did this - his own car and he's had it for a few years now. Can be seen regularly in the Sandyford area. He's a plank too! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

He clearly took run flats a bit too literal.