Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Servicing My Golf Mk4

• 30-04-2013 11:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭

Hey guys gonna attempt to service my golf (02) 1.4 anything i should look out for? or is it simply change oil/filter air filter and spark plugs:D Should i change the fuel filter as-well?
    Gonna change the pads aswell. and probaly the discs never done them before but i want to give them a shot anything to look out for?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Calgary22

I am an idiot thanks for that:D don't no how i didn't see it and its a sticky cheers:o. I no how to do the service i just wanted advice with regards my golf was there anything else i was leaving out or should do.Thanks:D

Calgary22 wrote: »
    I am an idiot thanks for that:D don't no how i didn't see it and its a sticky cheers:o. I no how to do the service i just wanted advice with regards my golf was there anything else i was leaving out or should do.Thanks:D
    oil/filter air filter and spark plugs

well that's your service there, make sure to take note of the mileage once you done the service and also make sure you're using the correct grade of oil. It's also good to have the car on a flat surface. I'm speaking from experience here.. :o

If your not to sure how to do the pads/disks I would get a mechanic to do that. But if you know what to do and your confident with it, by all means fire ahead. :)

I am ok with the pads just never done the discs before:D but feck it will try:D should i change the fuel filter?:D

I'm not sure about the fuel filter, I will let someone else advise there. As I don't want to tell you to change it, if there isn't any need..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

No need to change the fuel filter on a petrol car unless it is causing issues.

One thing to do is try check as many bushes as you can, which is often something that is ignored by guys doing their own cars. Check for excessive wear or movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

The car is 11 years old so no harm in changing the fuel filter if it's never been done.It will probably be filthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

tossy wrote: »
    The car is 11 years old so no harm in changing the fuel filter if it's never been done.It will probably be filthy.
    The reason I advised against changing the fuel filter is that it is a potentially dangerous job, and not something that can be advised to do over the internet. It's not a specialist job but you're obviously dealing with petrol which is both hazardous to inhale and also extremely flammable. Without knowing the capabilities of the person carrying out the job I'd never advise it to be honest. I've seen guys with a lot of experience with cars being severely injured after a fuel line accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

It would do no harm to change your gearbox oil. Inspect your discs, they could be good for another 20 gazillion miles yet. Dont for get to check the rear brakes while your freshening things up, you may as well change the fluid if your changing all the brake parts. Wiper blades, pollen filter, washer bottle, that'll keep you busy for an afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Quazzie wrote: »
    The reason I advised against changing the fuel filter is that it is a potentially dangerous job, and not something that can be advised to do over the internet. It's not a specialist job but you're obviously dealing with petrol which is both hazardous to inhale and also extremely flammable. Without knowing the capabilities of the person carrying out the job I'd never advise it to be honest. I've seen guys with a lot of experience with cars being severely injured after a fuel line accident.

Good points but changing brake discs or oil i.e getting a car safely up on axles stands could be as equally dangerous to an equally incompetent person,we have to assume the OP has some level of cop on (i hope)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

You should listen to her ticking over if it sounds like a diesel from the rocker cover your hydraulic tappits are going. To the left of the air filter housing pull the hose and check it for yellow puss if its their clean it out and the throttle body. Check the timing (belts) if they need replacement water pump needs doin to. The mark4 is solid out but what i stated above should be done routinely with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'd say start with oil, oil filter and air filter. Then spark plugs.
    It'll give you a good start into car maintenance.
    Celebrate with beer.

Pads are pretty easy too. Discs are usually not needed to replace unless there is an issue with them, warped or there is a significant lip on the outer rim.

Thanks lads some good advice :D just last question how do i or is it even possible to check to see if a timing belt is going?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

There is no sure way to know if TB is old.
    Just make sure it is changed on or before schedule.

Thanks lads some good advice :D just last question how do i or is it even possible to check to see if a timing belt is going?:D

Just shine a light in at them just make sure they look in good nick look for splitting and so on. Actually look up ebay for a mark4 haynes manual their great for novice and even experienced mechanics could serve you well pretty sure they made them for the golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭cletus

Even if the belt looks ok, if its due a change have it done. There is no reliable method to check TB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Disks should be easy enough to do. I'll check my Haynes manual when I get home and see how the 1.4 are done. They are different to the diesel I had..

Thanks mate i just found the Haynes manual for my car on play.com have ordered it looks to be the job:D

sure for their price they can save you a bundle great car specific part by part break down and trouble shooting from novice to pro in one book happy servicing lad.:-)

Well worth it.. How much did it cost you out of curiosity

22 euro:D i no i probably could have got it cheaper on eBay or amazon but i have an account with play so i went with them i saw it on micks garage and a few other websites for 25:D

Not bad at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭bazery

After just servicing my car for the first time the first thing I'd say is for every job you plan on doing check out youtube for guides.
    Join a volkswagen forum and check out your car's section.
    I found tdiforums and Audi world to be invaluable.

If you are doing the discs u will need a very large wrench, the caliper brackets
    are bolted on tight.
    I did the full car but only because it hit 80000 miles recently. It's running like new now and i can honestly say I feel proud getting into it every day.