Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will My Dog Remember Me?!?!

• 29-04-2013 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

i got my jack russell about 4 years ago for my birthday, we were the best of friends for a good two years. he came everywhere with me, waited for me at the bathroom and everything, yeno a real movie storyline. anyway he bit my sister and was thrown out of the house by my mother. he moved in with my aunt and is getting along grand, we visited him for the first half a year of him being gone, and he always went mental at the sight of me :o but gradually the gaps got longer and longer and i havent seen him for a good year now :mad: im going over at the weekend and i cant help but thinking he might have forgotten me? what do ye think? il be devastated if he has :( we were such good buds
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

Don't under estimate the inteligents of a dog, let us know what happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Id say he will, you often see videos of soldiers coming back from tours over a year long and more abroad and the dog remembers perfectly who they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭steloide

Hi. Myself and my wife had a dog for about 4 years. We went to Australia for a year while my parents looked after her. When we came home she followed me for 4 days, even sat outside the bathroom. If dogs could cry........she was crying.

He will remember you, he also might be a bit piss off with u.
    Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭honerbright

I moved to Ireland from New Zealand in 2008 and I went home in 2011 to visit and the dog I had grown up with since was 5 years old (so she was about 16 at the time) went mental with excitement when she seen me*, so yes, I think the doggy will definitely remember you :)

*I stayed there for about 10 days, and she actually passed away about a week after I got back to Ireland. I like to think she was holding out to see me again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

I'm pretty sure he will.

I had a foster dog for about 4 months and a year after she was rehomed I went for a visit and she went mental when she heard my voice outside and then she pee'd on me :o She pees when shes excited :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

He will remember you, the size of the brain doesn't correspond to length of memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭NeonCookies

I'd say he'll remember you! I came back to Ireland 2 months ago after being away for a year, and my two went mental :D They were very clingy for a few days too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

He'll remember you. Have you ever watched Hachi? Based on a true story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I'd say he'll definitely remember you. Have fun as he'll go ape**** when he realises it's you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I really hope he does remember you after everybody here saying he will :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

Bet he remembers your mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,982 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

We got our dog as a little pup from my uncle's dogs litter. She was with them for the first few months and then we took her. We had her for 18 years and any time my uncle and his wife visited (maybe once every three or four years) she'd go ape with excitement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

When myself and my ex split up, I didn't get to see our dog for a year and a half - was very stressed when I got my first opportunity to see him again. He stood about ten feet from me, took one sniff and went stark raving mad, jumped into my arms, squealing and crying - course I bawled my eyes out :rolleyes:
    But yes, he will definitely remember you.

My dad is dead two years and he still checks the window in my mum's at 5pm to see if he's coming home. They're quite clever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭KingIsabella

Definitly! I had a rescue I had to leave with my folks when I moved to dublin, The auld fella said everytime a motorbike drove past she went ballistic thinking i was comin home cause whenever I came back to my own place shed be at the door after hearin the bike.

Im back now and they said her clingin to me will be her downfall after they spent three months spoilin her!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Lima Golf

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    - was very stressed when I got my first opportunity to see him again. He stood about ten feet from me, took one sniff and went stark raving mad, jumped into my arms, squealing and crying - course I bawled my eyes out

Was this the dog or your ex? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Lima Golf wrote: »
    Was this the dog or your ex? :D

Fortunately, the dog :P Although I imagine if my ex had jumped on me, I'd be crying too :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I had my flat mate & my pup at the same time : ) after 2 years my flatmate emigrated away & later came back for a few weeks long visit - fido & I opened the door, the dog stood staring at my suntanned flatmate for about a minute, then looked back at me & at her, and then threw herself into her arms. We laughed until we cried. She'd always adored her.

Dogs are amazing. And they do remember : )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Friend of mine got on a bus one day and went upstairs (this was in the days, not so long ago, when you could bring your dog on the bus, as long as it was upstairs).

She sat down and zoned out, and the next thing a dog wrestled itself loose from a bunch of children and came and started raving and going completely ape**** around her. Then she realised that it was her dog that had disappeared years before. She took the dog, leaving the kids wailing... but the dog was so happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

I had my dog out for a walk about an hour ago and bumped into my ex who she hasn't seen in over 2 years...she most certainly remembered him!!! Haven't seen her that excited in quite some time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 pepperfoot

He will - for sure . dogs have a great memory. especialy to the ones they love. i have a yellow lab and she remembers everything i say or do LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Did your dog remember you?!?! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

Well.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 benjii187

sorry i never let ye know till now but everything was as usual and he remembers perfectly. went mad when he saw us come in :) thanks