Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving With Hazards On?

• 29-04-2013 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭

Probably a simple enough answer for this.. but I've been noticing a lot of cars lately driving with hazards on.

Even at the weekend, I was driving out to Strandhill in Sligo and was telling my girlfriend in the passenger seat that I've been noticing it more and more.. and just as I mentioned it, a Qashqai drove past me in the opposite direction indicating my point.

Is there something I'm missing here, or is it just fecking eejits who had them on at some stage and forgot to switch them off (seems unlikely)?

EDIT: Oh, and it's not a quick flash to "thank" people for letting them out / past.. it seems more random than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Haven't seen this much but when I have it's been mostly slow/limping/towing cars.
    Can't really think of a good reason to have them on other than that (on a moving car).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Faults, laziness and coincidence is all. A few weeks back my indicators failed to work for the last 60 seconds of my journey, quite bizarre. I was waiting for someone to shout at me "do your indicators not work ya ****** ". Well actually...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

Basq wrote: »
    ...or is it just fecking eejits who had them on at some stage and forgot to switch them off (seems unlikely)?

Yep, that's exactly what it is!! People with more important things on their minds and so they just drive along with the hazards on. These are the same kinds of people who pull out in front of bikers because they "don't see them" and the kinds of people who take up two parking spaces and the kinds of people who don't/won't/can't use indicators on roundabouts. But that's another rant for another day... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Faults, laziness and coincidence is all. A few weeks back my indicators failed to work for the last 60 seconds of my journey, quite bizarre. I was waiting for someone to shout at me "do your indicators not work ya ****** ". Well actually...

Don't BMW's come standard like that? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

dar83 wrote: »
    Don't BMW's come standard like that? :pac:

Mostly...and Audi's and Mercs and taxi drivers... :rolleyes: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

If one of your light bulbs is gone you can drive under Hazards.

I know there was a clamp down by the Guards over missing lights recently & by having your hazards on the Guards are not able to give you a fine & penalty points as you are warning others.

It seems some people are so lazy that thay drive with hazards instead of changing a bulb....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Hazards or as they're often known, the invisible button?

Maybe in an effort to avoid speeding fines or lack of TAX they're using the invisible button to go stealth if they are to encounter speed traps / checkpoints?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Out where I live there's a lot of sheep around the roads so if there's a group crossing or just on the road I'd stick them on for a bit to warn others. That's as far as I go with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I know in Poland and probably most other Continental countries driving with hazard lights on is strictly prohibited under any circumstances.

In Ireland I haven't seen such prohibition, and I also recall drivers were encouraged to use hazard lights f.e. when one vehicle is towing another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

CiniO wrote: »
    I know in Poland and probably most other Continental countries driving with hazard lights on is strictly prohibited under any circumstances.

In Ireland I haven't seen such prohibition, and I also recall drivers were encouraged to use hazard lights f.e. when one vehicle is towing another.

The latter is probably a good idea, a slow moving vehicle that would not normally be encountered, ie a hazard :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

BX 19 wrote: »
    The latter is probably a good idea, a slow moving vehicle that would not normally be encountered, ie a hazard :pac:

The idea behind prohibition of using of hazard lights on moving vehicles is that indicators can't be used then.

In Poland for vehicles towing, it's obligatory to either display warning triangle on the rear or put flashing amber light on the roof.

I agree 100% with it. Indicators are the same important on towing vehicles as on any other.

However I think in Germany they encourage drivers to turn on hazard light when suddenly braking (f.e. on pileup on motorway). Some cars do it even automatically when brake is pressed very firmly.

In Ireland lots of people seem to use hazard lights to say "thank you". The same was the case in Poland, but we got few articles in newspapers at some stage, that there were cases, when German driver in Poland allowed someone to overtake by moving right, and person overtaking flashed hazard lights for second to say thankyou. That driver being used that hazard lights mean - emergency braking - just stepped on the brakes which eventually led to accident.
    So since then, it's being strongly discouraged to say "thank you" by flashing hazard lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

CiniO wrote: »
    The idea behind prohibition of using of hazard lights on moving vehicles is that indicators can't be used then.

In Poland for vehicles towing, it's obligatory to either display warning triangle on the rear or put flashing amber light on the roof.

I agree 100% with it. Indicators are the same important on towing vehicles as on any other.

However I think in Germany they encourage drivers to turn on hazard light when suddenly braking (f.e. on pileup on motorway). Some cars do it even automatically when brake is pressed very firmly.

In Ireland lots of people seem to use hazard lights to say "thank you". The same was the case in Poland, but we got few articles in newspapers at some stage, that there were cases, when German driver in Poland allowed someone to overtake by moving right, and person overtaking flashed hazard lights for second to say thankyou. That driver being used that hazard lights mean - emergency braking - just stepped on the brakes which eventually led to accident.
    So since then, it's being strongly discouraged to say "thank you" by flashing hazard lights.

It's illegal to drive with hazards on here, it's just not enforced like most our laws.