Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend me a few straws.

• 28-04-2013 4:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭

Im going to be buying 30 straws in the next few weeks lads. 20 charolais and 10 lim, Would prefer to use a bull with 4 or 5 stars for daughter milk while im at it. Can cf61 still be got? Was thinking of the new dovea bull kjb for a few heifers aswell. Any other bulls that ye couldn recommend? I dont really want to go over 10% for calving either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

Don't know about CH redzer but on the lim front you won't get any better than Ardlea Dan and Haltcliffe Dancer.Loving ours. sold our 1st dancer last week 297cent a kilo @ 370 kgs and no blue blood. serious shape!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭GoodMan55985

CF 61 is gone as far as I know. For Charolais I would go for Mogador (MDO), Balthazar (CF 85) and Pistil (PXT).

I am very impressed with the CF 85 calves, great muscle and growth to them. I dont have MDO or PXT calves this year, I have the straws got and will use when cows in heat.

Other good Charolais are Nippur (NPP) and Hollowtree Nicolas (HWN). I have calves off these this year. NPP is good easy calving but not as muscley as CF 85. HWN good calves too but he gone now. I used him for years and good calves but easy calving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭RaggyDays

I didn't think you could still get Balthazar (CF 85) either. If you can then theres no beating him, at the moment. I got a superb crop of calves out of him, I'd even go as far as saying he`s better than CF52

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭GoodMan55985

RaggyDays wrote: »
    I didn't think you could still get Balthazar (CF 85) either. If you can then theres no beating him, at the moment. I got a superb crop of calves out of him, I'd even go as far as saying he`s better than CF52

Not sure the story if CF 85 can be got still. I pre-ordered straws of his last November and got them no prob but not sure what story would be now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Bogman Bass (edit) would know, but I think CF85 is gone alright. Magador is a safe bet as well proven. I think he is still around, as he features in the catalogue. I like the look of Adrlea Dan alright. I have a nice month old heifer by him. CVV well proven for milk but he might be gone too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

pakalasa wrote: »
    Bizzum would know, but I think CF85 is gone alright. Magador is a safe bet as well proven. I I think he is still around, as he features in the catalogue. I like the look of Adrlea Dan alright. I have a nice month of heifer by him. CVV well proven for milk but he might be gone too.

Is adx a bit too hard for heifers I wonder, I think hes between 7-8%. Ncbc seem to have a lot of new french bulls that I dont know much about and I wouldnt be too gone on the charolais bulls in dovea. I have 15 kib straws int he pot and about 20 rox but kib is around 14% for calving and its putting me off him a bit.

Ya, I wouldn't use adx on a heifer either. AHZ i'd say would be better, but I have a feeling he might be a bit butty and muscley. I've seen one or two bulls by him on dondeal and they looked butty.
    How about APZ, the simmental. I was talking to the Ai guy today and he said he was easy calving and bringing nice calves, like different guys on here have said already.
    I'd chance KIB on a few of the bigger cows that normally calf ok, especially when you are outwintering and cows will be lean and fit.

Ya, I wouldn't use adx on a heifer either. AHZ i'd say would be better, but I have a feeling he might be a bit butty and muscley. I've seen one or bulls by him on dondeal and they looked butty.
    How about APZ, the simmental. I was talking to the Ai guy today and he said he was easy calving and bringing nice calves, like different guys on here have said already.

I have seen a few calves by him and they were very handy alright, trying to aim more towards red lims though for a bit more uniformity in the calves, Its a bit of a lucky dip here at the moment apart from the springers which have all had similar type calves so far. I might try KJB from dovea yet, his reliability is crap but his sire ronick hawk was reasonable enough for calving.

http://dovea-genetics.ie/beef-sires/limousin/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Bizzum would know, but I think CF85 is gone alright. Magador is a safe bet as well proven. I I think he is still around, as he features in the catalogue. I like the look of Adrlea Dan alright. I have a nice month of heifer by him. CVV well proven for milk but he might be gone too.

Cf 61 and hwn are no more.

You might get some CF85 down in the Munster area still.

MDO is an o

PLenty of CVV still

FL21 is breeding great stock especially females

FL25 is as close to ROX as you'll get

ADX is a cracker, I'd be wary on heifers though

Bogman Bass - I meant to say you , not Bizzum, in the above post.;) (Not that Bizzum wouln't know either).

What about the other new bulls in NCBC, TVR, GWO, EFZ, AHZ - have you seen any calves by them?

Redzer - What about Gene Ireland? I think straws are only €5 a go. Lennon Frosty looks like a good bull. Cerebus X Lino X Eleazer. Might be worth a gamble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Ya, I wouldn't use adx on a heifer either. AHZ i'd say would be better, but I have a feeling he might be a bit butty and muscley. I've seen one or two bulls by him on dondeal and they looked butty.
    I'd chance KIB on a few of the bigger cows that normally calf ok, especially when you are outwintering and cows will be lean and fit.

Can you get KIB? My Ai man had none last year. I used some CF 60 straws instead. Seriously shapey calves but hard calved.

I had three out of CVV last year but all bulls. Nice calves though.

ADX is very good as well but I had two easy calving cows that didn't find him that easy to calf.

I'm going to try a few LGL this year.

Can you get TUT straws from Eurogene? He is meant to be good for milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Durrus Boy

Using BYQ on heifers for the past 2 yrs. Has strong skeletal figures which I was looking for as all A.I bulls went down the muscle route at the expense of growth in the past few
    Years in my opinion. Milk figures and ease of calving also good with strong reliability. Straws are also excellent value and they were recently doing a deal on top of this.
    As regards CH, using CSQ myself simply due to his BLUP scores as again wanted a 'growthy' CH which seems hard to find!!

Bogman Bass - I meant to say you , not Bizzum, in the above post.;) (Not that Bizzum wouln't know either).

What about the other new bulls in NCBC, TVR, GWO, EFZ, AHZ - have you seen any calves by them?

Redzer - What about Gene Ireland? I think straws are only €5 a go. Lennon Frosty looks like a good bull. Cerebus X Lino X Eleazer. Might be worth a gamble.

Sure I know nothing about this Craic however word on the grapevine is......

AHZ is doing the business but only giving a trickle of straws
    No calves on the ground from GWO yet. Cracking looking bull though.

Will ask around about EFZ and TVR

Ment to say that MDO is an old reliable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Dozer1

+1 for FL21 got a smashing red heifer calf off a plain enough black whitehead cow, she's the quietest cow I have with good milk but the calf is a bit lively, would be hoping she has replacement potential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

BB is the read deal alright in this area.
    I was wondering Redzer, from your original post is a Lim for replacements or a Lim and Ch? And a bull for heifers as well?

Bizzum wrote: »
    BB is the read deal alright in this area.
    I was wondering Redzer, from your original post is a Lim for replacements or a Lim and Ch? And a bull for heifers as well?

Was looking for a lim for replacements easy calving enough for heifers aswell if theres one out there doing the business. If I could find a Charolais bull that would hold milk without compromising other traits too much i would use him aswell hence why I asked about cf61.

HCA might be worth a bet. Easy calving with milk. I have one calf from him and she's a smasher!

Considering you have them out on the winterage I'm sure calving ease is a priority for you

HCA might be worth a bet. Easy calving with milk. I have one calf from him and she's a smasher!

Considering you have them out on the winterage I'm sure calving ease is a priority for you

The less trouble the better anyway :D Saying that we have often calved heifers to charolais stock bulls we had over the years with no real trouble. The cows are probably a bit fitter for calving when they are out all winter too which saves a lot of bother. I have 7 springers calved this year to lim bull thats 8.5% for calving and have only pulled one of them so far. The heifers I was going to ai would be big roomy type heifers as opposed to muscly ones.

TZT - easy calving, has milk in his pedigree and good growth rate. I think we have a winner! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Haltcliffe dancer is throwing lovely calves. Straws are supposed to be going up from 15 to 30 from pg. Very good figures for him now. I hoping to get a few myself.

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Haltcliffe dancer is throwing lovely calves. Straws are supposed to be going up from 15 to 30 from pg. Very good figures for him now. I hoping to get a few myself.

you wont get them from PG. he's a Powerful Genetics bull

€ 15 a pop. He was only €10 early in the year. He breeds well alright. I've seen a few pure breds by him.
    http://powerfulgenetics.com/dancer-hcf.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

This year I bought straws of THZ for heifers. Not strong in milk, but hoping he'll bring quality, and easy calved. Another Lim bull that bred well is ABI, I couldn't recommend him highly enough, super calves, shape, size, everything really. Not suitable for heifers. Milk probably average.
    SLV the Charolais will do the job if you want to keep milk and size. We had no problems calving him. We generally only use CH on PB CH cows cos the commercial ones would run with our own CH bull.