Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guys called to paint roofs

• 27-04-2013 10:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭

We had 3 guys around in a NI Reg transit van "swift cleaning services" on it
    They were going to power wash and paint dwelling house roof.
    They would paint the farm sheds too etc.
    They were charging €1150 just to clean and paint our standard sized house roof and said it would take about 12 hours. Thought it was quite expensive..
    Not sure if they are genuine as the website on leaflet does not exist.
    Anyone else had these guys round
    We are in the Monaghan area

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 jack_rambo

2pack wrote: »
    They were charging €1150 just to clean and paint our standard sized house roof and said it would take about 12 hours. Thought it was quite expensive..

id never give work to those who go around canvassing for it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Report their presence to the cops as possible. They could be genuine but there is way too much rural crime these days to take chances.

Did they leave a buisness card, contact details landline phone numbers?. There are a lot of 'swift cleaning services' on the web.

A crowd were doing tarmac a few years ago, and my next door neighbour foolishly took them on to do a job. They came looking for twice the money they quoted and got aggresive. Guards were called and they backed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

Ring the guards. If you managed to get their reg no (even if it was from NI) the Gardai can track from that. Also give them the leaflet you were given. They may be genuine :rolleyes: but I really would have my doubts. There are too many vulnerable people around that these guys could prey on if these guys aren't at least approached by the Gardai for at least 'a little chat'.

Why would you consider letting strangers do work you never knew you wanted doing? If it needs doing, look up reputable companies and get quotes from them. As other posters have said, report them to the Gardai. If they are genuine, they'll have nothing to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

There are plenty of good lads around if you go looking without getting some chancers. The cleaning they may intend doing mightnt be the one you are expecting. I have a lad in doing sheds at the moment for me if your looking. Doing a decent job and i got loads of local references too before letting them in. They are doing a lot more than what was originally quoted for and doing it for reasonable money too. Just waiting for a good dry day to finish the sheds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

jack_rambo wrote: »

Run them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Figerty wrote: »
    Report their presence to the cops as possible. They could be genuine but there is way too much rural crime these days to take chances.

Did they leave a buisness card, contact details landline phone numbers?. There are a lot of 'swift cleaning services' on the web.

A crowd were doing tarmac a few years ago, and my next door neighbour foolishly took them on to do a job. They came looking for twice the money they quoted and got aggresive. Guards were called and they backed off.

How long ago was that? Same thing happened to my Dad about 10 years ago. I was at work and by the time I got home they had taken him for twice what they had quoted. He didn't contact me as he didn't want to 'bother' me at work - wish he had as they were long gone by time I got home. Rubbish job they did too. I'd never let the likes near my place to do anything in case they looking for what they can lift at a later date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭2pack

Never was about the work as much too expensive, half of this would be a good price.... they give a leaflet with a free to call office number in EngLand and strangely they have a contact number in Belguim too.
    No landline contact number in Ireland just a mobile.
    Maybe they were up looking to see if there was anything of valve that could be taken easily, im not sure and not accusing them in any way just being cautious hence why i wanted to know if any others members in the locality had a visit from them too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Probably similar to the guys that painted the roof around here poor job massive bill .
    they said they would clean the roof first. When I landed they were painting everying over dirt streetlight my newly painted 135 got a mist of it that I noticed later. They used a special spray tip that cleans as it paints is what they told me when I jarred them. Took complete advantage of my eldery father. We have a name for them here now but I would be banned for using it. but there is a whole community of them throughout Ireland.

satstheway wrote: »
    Probably similar to the guys that painted the roof around here poor job massive bill .
    they said they would clean the roof first. When I landed they were painting everying over dirt streetlight my newly painted 135 got a mist of it that I noticed later. They used a special spray tip that cleans as it paints is what they told me when I jarred them. Took complete advantage of my eldery father. We have a name for them here now but I would be banned for using it. but there is a whole community of them throughout Ireland.

what did that quote you for the job?
    there is a declaration on the back of the leaflet they give out where you sign and agree to pay when job is complete, says a professional job will be done but €1150 is a bit steep for a roof of a house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Hi 2pack you are right to be suspicious as others have posted.

1st getting a visit from these type of people should set off alarm bells as you were not looking for the work to be done and I find 98% of the time these so called companies are bogus and aren't even insured.

If they were to fall or injure themselves on your property you would be the 1 paying out.

They also especially have northern reg. are from a certain other community they like to be seen as part of but always play the equal and entitlement card.

They will do a very bad job and probably won't even finish and then of course they will find something to charge extra something along the lines of pointing or loose or damaged tiles or gutters.

They are very good at misleading and pulling the wool over peoples eyes and can be intimidating.

Any time someone like this calls say you aren't interested or say the lad next door is doing the work needed.

It was a shed roof they were looking for 1400 euro. Never quoted a price just how much a gallon was. Used a lot of gallons god knows where. Shed about 65 feet by 45.

Why even consider it get a local painter plenty about. Most of these call to the house types are gangsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

KatyMac wrote: »
    How long ago was that? Same thing happened to my Dad about 10 years ago. I was at work and by the time I got home they had taken him for twice what they had quoted. He didn't contact me as he didn't want to 'bother' me at work - wish he had as they were long gone by time I got home. Rubbish job they did too. I'd never let the likes near my place to do anything in case they looking for what they can lift at a later date.

About 10 years ago. it was around 2002-03. This guy was very sick at the time and didn't know it, but he wasn't going to be bullied into payment..

usual line was,, we are doing a jop over the road and have some tarmac left over,,, we will do you a good deal boss....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

travelers scam

Yes i believe these guys were travellers but Would they have any intention of painting the house roof (they had sign writing on the van but handy enough done) or are they trying to kill 2 birds with 1 stone and checking the place out too for tools and equipment etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Yes i believe these guys were travellers but Would they have any intention of painting the house roof (they had sign writing on the van but handy enough done) or are they trying to kill 2 birds with 1 stone and checking the place out too for tools and equipment etc.

They were and are you actually still considering using them as I and other posters have stated keep them well clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

have you ever voted in a general or local election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭DeepSleeper

To give another perspective (based upon experience rather than supposition), I arrived down to my parents' house about six months ago to see the haybarn all freshly painted - a few lads were spray painting a neighbour's barn and called in to offer the same service. They powerhosed the barn and painted it well - six months on and it still looks good - they moved on up the road and did another neighbour's barn too. No theft and no over-pricing - just a bunch of lads working flat out for a few hours until the job was done... And before anyone asks, I asked if they were Travellers and was told they weren't...

Not everything is a scam, but there is a haybarn in Tipp that's a nice shade of dark green...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 CAtocork

To give another perspective (based upon experience rather than supposition), I arrived down to my parents' house about six months ago to see the haybarn all freshly painted - a few lads were spray painting a neighbour's barn and called in to offer the same service. They powerhosed the barn and painted it well - six months on and it still looks good - they moved on up the road and did another neighbour's barn too. No theft and no over-pricing - just a bunch of lads working flat out for a few hours until the job was done... And before anyone asks, I asked if they were Travellers and was told they weren't...

Not everything is a scam, but there is a haybarn in Tipp that's a nice shade of dark green...

Do you have their contact info?

They were and are you actually still considering using them as I and other posters have stated keep them well clear.

No was never considering it as could get it done for half that price.
    I know it wouldnt be done properly anyway and suppose no point letting the Guards know now when I didnt get the Reg No. of Van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

a neighbour got her place tarmaced by the transit boys dropping leaflets. 6 months later she rang the no. on the leaflet complaining there was dandelions popping up through it. the guys response was - were u expecting roses instead! quality customer care!
    op if u get them in i've no sypathy for u, its the oul lads of 80 that get milked by these parasites that i feel sorry for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Let them up on the roof, and then take away the ladders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭DeepSleeper

CAtocork wrote: »
    Do you have their contact info?

Not at the moment, but if I get it I'll send you a PM - not sure if my father would have kept their details though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Figerty wrote: »
    About 10 years ago. it was around 2002-03. This guy was very sick at the time and didn't know it, but he wasn't going to be bullied into payment..

usual line was,, we are doing a jop over the road and have some tarmac left over,,, we will do you a good deal boss....

Sounds very like the same lot, doesn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

I know of a neighbor in galway, he got a hay shed painted, bright red, kept an eye on them, very happy with it, looked great, nice job.

All was fine until two years later when the aerial photograph man dropped in, you know the usual, €90 and showing a hallmarked copy, got him down to €60 including the frame, happy out, until he got the framed photo, good grass, yard clean, detail even showed his son cutting the hedge on a June evening such was the detail. Only problem was it showed the aerial view of the red shed...roof not painted! they painted only what he could see from the ground, half finished rusty carp on top, bit like a comb-over. He was sickened!

I have heard of that happening to others since seeing his photo.