Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

May Meet-Up May 10th - (Sweetmans/Messrs)?

• 26-04-2013 6:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭

Table is booked for May 10th, under 'Boards.ie', for 6:30pm onwards!

It's that time of the month again! :D

Since December we've been having a meetup roughly every month.
    Don't worry if you haven't been to any of the previous ones, everyone is very welcoming and there's always lots of first-timers there!

Feedback has been very positive, for a lot of people it's an opportunity to meet other gay people who are in the same boat, while also being a good excuse to have a few pints!

The meetings are open to everyone, male & female. At previous meetings most of the people attending are students or in their twenties, but anyone who wants to come along is welcome. :)

Date/Time: Poll is open for the second week of May - vote away.

Venue: Suggestions? I'll book a table once it's decided.

List: Add yisserselves - the more the merrier!

1. face1990

Also, any suggestions on nightclub venues? I think a change from Andrew's Lane would be good, but let me know what you think ;)

Which date? 24 votes

Monday 6th
    0% 0 votes
    Tuesday 7th
    4% 1 vote
    Wednesday 8th
    0% 0 votes
    Thursday 9th
    8% 2 votes
    Friday 10th
    4% 1 vote
    Saturday 11th
    58% 14 votes
    Sunday 12th
    25% 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭bicloset

1. face1990
    2.bicloset

Highly recommend this, esp for those who represent my username!lol :), everyone is sound and easy going and its just like meeting lads in the pub for drinks, dont be put off by feeling intimidated or thinking its sort of weird cuz its not! only been to one but really looking forward to the rest. roll on May 10!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭corked

I'm in Dublin a fair bit wth work ATM so if I'm up when it's on ill pop along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Soldering_Iorn

May - the month of exams.

I'm sure all college go-ers like myself have exams during the month of May, for me they don't finish up 'til the 25th. With this in mind - any chance the date could be worked on?

As for the venue, ALT was disappointing last time for sure. Maybe WAR is where it's at now? Personally I think that the George would be best but that's just opinion.

Rebecca-Black-Friday.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭paulmorro

That night has moved to Button Factory (I think) anyway, so might be better than ALT.

Re: exams, I'm sure another night will be around in early June again. When these things start getting put back, there's the risk they fall apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

As for the venue, ALT was disappointing last time for sure. Maybe WAR is where it's at now? Personally I think that the George would be best but that's just opinion.

For the love of jebus guys, can we open our horizons to another spot? I would love to see what else is out there. Of course, I'm sure a lot of you like ALT. But, I tried it twice and hated it on both occasions :o. I've never been to the George so would be up for that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Cosmic Maybe

May - the month of exams.

Haha! I shouldn't laugh but I always find it hard to feel sorry for people doing exams when I'm finally free from them for a while :D, at least till the results come out anyways :confused: (I'm probably just a cruel person but hey what can you do? Freedom is great! :rolleyes:)

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭manic mailman

Haha! I shouldn't laugh but I always find it hard to feel sorry for people doing exams when I'm finally free from them for a while :D, at least till the results come out anyways :confused: (I'm probably just a cruel person but hey what can you do? Freedom is great! :rolleyes:)

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe

4.Manicmailman

I'll try not utter "yolo" too much - but I make no promises!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭cnn27

I've just recently moved to Dublin and looking to get to know some new people so I'd love to come along!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Cosmic Maybe

I'll be finished exams by 9th May. Hopefully by then I'll be drinking something other than coffee and monster energy.

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive

You've just ruined the fun. </3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭conspiracycat

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat

I can definatly go this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Xevkin

Is it too much to hope for a Saturday? Or am I to go to my last exam hungover?

I'm sensing a dilemma....

Xevkin wrote: »
    Is it too much to hope for a Saturday? Or am I to go to my last exam hungover?

I'm sensing a dilemma....

This kind of dilemma, right?..................RIGHT?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Xevkin

Replace all the crew with Dublin locals and it's pretty much it. The fascination with cars, the dancing in the street - why do you think anyone wants to go to the meetups at all!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭lyinghere

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat
    7. lyinghere

count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Tainor

4.Manicmailman

I never believed that my disdain for #YOLO can get any bigger! Jayzus, #YOLO the most annoying acronym invented since #rotflmfao types....oh the good memories of those days :D

Anyway...sorry lads can't do this time, exams scheduled from the 9th of May until the 18th. #noscarfdancing

Hope you all have a good craic! ....eeehh...#YOLO (OOOOOhhhhh noooooo what have I done!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

cnn27 wrote: »
    I've just recently moved to Dublin and looking to get to know some new people so I'd love to come along!

Come along! Add your name to the list!
    1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat
    7. lyinghere

Any thoughts on which pub? Messrs aka Sweetmans (aka Sweet-ums) is fairly handy as its easy for people to find and has a fair bit of space upstairs.
    Alternatively somewhere like Doyles perhaps?

As for clubs later on I think we should give the George a try!
    ALT was fun and all, but the novelty of dancing in a decrepit warehouse wears off after a while. :p

face1990 wrote: »
    Come along! Add your name to the list!
    1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat
    7. lyinghere

Any thoughts on which pub? Messrs aka Sweetmans (aka Sweet-ums) is fairly handy as its easy for people to find and has a fair bit of space upstairs.
    Alternatively somewhere like Doyles perhaps?

As for clubs later on I think we should give the George a try!
    ALT was fun and all, but the novelty of dancing in a decrepit warehouse wears off after a while. :p

My €0.02 . . .

Messrs/JS Sweetman ticks the boxes for many reasons:

Easy to find
    Good Beer
    Not cramped (i.e. not sardines in the corner of a cramped pub),
    Music is generally a good mix as is the clientelle..

The Long Stone isn't a bad shout either but I remember some peeps last time saying it might be a bit off putting for any newbies trying to find the table, etc if we're off in the corner, etc.

I'd be up for the George (or Dragon) /whatevz. ALT was far too packed last time, plus €8 squid in is a bit "rich" considering it's a glorified warehouse :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭cnn27

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat
    7. lyinghere
    8. cnn27

Looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 tster

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat
    7. lyinghere
    8. cnn27
    9. tster

Should be a good night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Unfortunately I can't go to this one as it is bang in the middle of exams :(
    But y'all enjoy it now!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 BrazIrish

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat
    7. lyinghere
    8. cnn27
    9. tster
    10.Brazirish

Hello,

I'm a regular reader of the forum but don't reply post however I might join you, hopefully I won't be working :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭AndrewJD

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat
    7. lyinghere
    8. cnn27
    9. tster
    10.Brazirish
    11. AndrewJD

Fair play to face1990 for messaging around people who had expressed an interest in previous threads. It's been a good while since I did anything LGBT related and this is right after my first set of exams so I'll try and head along!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 morgmorg

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat
    7. lyinghere
    8. cnn27
    9. tster
    10. Brazirish
    11. AndrewJD
    12. morgmorg

Hey, I've been meaning to come to one of these for a while now, I'll have to try and make it Friday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭bicloset

So off work nxt sat so able to make up 4 last time! plus may be taking an extra fresher along on friday, more da merrier!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Alfonzo_ire

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat
    7. lyinghere
    8. cnn27
    9. tster
    10. Brazirish
    11. AndrewJD
    12. morgmorg
    13. Alfonzo_ire

Hey all! I'm gonna do my best to get to this one! I couldn't make the last meet cos I was working!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 cx85

1. face1990
    2. bicloset
    3. Cosmic Maybe
    4. Manic Mailman
    5. playedalive
    6. Conspiracycat
    7. lyinghere
    8. cnn27
    9. tster
    10. Brazirish
    11. AndrewJD
    12. morgmorg
    13. Alfonzo_ire
    14. cx85

Going to head along for a drink or two anyway - what time does this start at?

Its a pity so many people can't make it due to exams. May is a bad month for it, but I expect a meet-up the sixth in early June.

Thing is....if we ended up postponing it, some would be able to come that couldn't otherwise....but others would then miss out (from people I've been chatting to, everyone seems to be finishing their last exams throughout the whole month) so I doubt there would have been an ideal time this month.

I highly recommend trying some o' the house beer in Sweetman by the way folks, cheaper and tastier than the Coors/Heineken/dishwater alternatives....I'm far too cool for school :D

Thing is....if we ended up postponing it, some would be able to come that couldn't otherwise....but others would then miss out (from people I've been chatting to, everyone seems to be finishing their last exams throughout the whole month) so I doubt there would have been an ideal time this month.

I highly recommend trying some o' the house beer in Sweetman by the way folks, cheaper and tastier than the Coors/Heineken/dishwater alternatives....I'm far too cool for school :D

True, it's a pity May is exam time. Luckily, all my written exams finish this thursday. So no more study guilt yayyy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Thing is....if we ended up postponing it,

Dunno what all the moaning is about :D - There were a few meets organised here a few years back where only 2 or 3 people turned up so 14 is hardly a small number ;)

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Luckily, all my written exams finish this thursday. So no more study guilt yayyy!!
    All mine have yet to start.. maybe I should be feeling just a bit of guilt?? :pac:

morgmorg wrote: »
    All mine have yet to start.. maybe I should be feeling just a bit of guilt?? :pac:

It's never too late to cram....

morgmorg wrote: »

Cram and then forget said cramming at the meet up :D

Then only remember said cramming after it's needed! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭ewan whose army

I would go to this, but sadly I have an evening planned with my boyfriend ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 1Dubdude

Wouldn't mind heading along to this Friday! I'm 24, Irish guy working in Dublin! Similar story to the rest of the posters on this thread! ;)

Might be worth throwing this into the original post so peeps see? See yoll tomorrow :)

1Dubdude wrote: »
    Wouldn't mind heading along to this Friday! I'm 24, Irish guy working in Dublin! Similar story to the rest of the posters on this thread! ;)

Come along so!

I'll try to be there around half 6 myself, maybe 7. See you all there!:)

Mango we miss you xoxoxo

Edit: Sorry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

AndrewJD wrote: »
    Mango we miss you xoxoxo

Edit: Sorry...

Were you a little drunk perhaps?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Were you a little drunk perhaps?

Never!

There was a clear decision as a group however that you are the most mysterious of characters and are intensely desired as a future meet-up participant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Tainor

AndrewJD wrote: »
    Never!

There was a clear decision as a group however that you are the most mysterious of characters and are intensely desired as a future meet-up participant.

Mango is the Boards equivalent of Facebook's God. No one knows whom that person is, but we all know that person exists!

Maybe one day Mango, thou shalt grace ūs with thy apparition :D :P