Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In Car Cam gets driver convicted

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Great stuff, hopefully lower the amount of dangerous driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Happy days, great to see these are now regarded as admissible evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Happy days, great to see these are now regarded as admissible evidence.

well.. that was in the UK.
    Might not work here, continuity of evidence and all that craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

First time in the UK. It sets a precedent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Brilliant !!!

So if you capture something dangerous here (or something that you feel was dangerous) do you submit it directly to the guards or to traffic watch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭scoobydoobie

I think the guards would have their work cut out if it was to happen over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

That tigra driver has a deathwish. And he reakons thats not dangerous driving. What cross a double white line between two sets of bollards to overtake a car doing a realistic speed. Nutter.. 12mo off the road for him is too short imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I think the guards would have their work cut out if it was to happen over here.

I'm guessing they could just send the footage to the owner of the car with fines/points attached to keep costs down and maybe even generate revenue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭johnnydeep

how can you prove this footage hasn't been doctored. driving like this is totally unacceptable. unless your late for mass, work, a ride.............etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

johnnydeep wrote: »
    how can you prove this footage hasn't been doctored.

Might want to tell those pesky movie company's about this sudden dirt cheap super realistic video editing technique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭johnnydeep

Might want to tell those pesky movie company's about this sudden dirt cheap super realistic video editing technique.
    heres an idea I don't like you. you drive a silver golf my mate has a silver golf we get a rear numberplate matching yours "you" pass me out on a solid white line driving like a loon. number plate cost 10 euro. how does that grab you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

Does this mean that your dash cam footage could be used against yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Gosub wrote: »
    Does this mean that your dash cam footage could be used against yourself?

If I remember correctly there was a case in the UK a few years ago where some numpty got convicted after posting video of himself driving like a tool including a shot of his speedo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

If these were admissible evidence in russia there'd be no drivers left.

Zcott wrote: »
    If these were admissible evidence in russia there'd be no drivers left.

Dash Cams are admissible in Russian courts as judges tend to give more credibility to the video footage than verbal testimony due to the high levels of fraud and corruption.
    Regarding no drivers left, during 2011 - 2012 there were 28,000 people killed in motoring accidents in Russia, they are putting each other off the road!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

K.Flyer wrote: »
    If I remember correctly there was a case in the UK a few years ago where some numpty got convicted after posting video of himself driving like a tool including a shot of his speedo.
    I think that was in Japan.

ken wrote: »
    I think that was in Japan.

Yes, there was a case of the Ferrari driver in Japan, but I was thinking of this..
    http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Show-off+speeders+caught+by+video%3B+Youtube+stunt+ends+up+in+court.-a0242319560

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

TBH I have seen far worse in Dublin.

Maynard, who told the court he is an agency driver who drives 7.5 tonne trucks for a living

I have been overtaken by a HGV on a single white line outside a school in a 50 zone before, the gardai cannot use the video because they cannot make out the number plate. They know the company but the company says they are not sure which truck it was.

Do you have no clue how penalty points work? You can challenge them if you like.
    If that is what you want you can keep this cesspit of potato eating corruption.

Calm down.

calm-down-bro.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

johnnydeep wrote: »
    how can you prove this footage hasn't been doctored. driving like this is totally unacceptable. unless your late for mass, work, a ride.............etc.

Would definitely hold up in court.