Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ribble R872 Carbon

• 26-04-2013 11:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, just looking for some thoughts on the Ribble R872 carbon bike, if I select the 105 groupset option I can still just about come in under my €1.5k budget.
    Have any of ye experience with ribble bikes in general? Or even as an alternative recommend something around that price.

Thanks in advance.

M.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

If you buy it from the "Special Edition" bike builder you can get it with 105 for €1380 but your wheel choice is lessened.

My advice would be buy the "special edition" version with the Rodi Airline Evo wheels, those wheels have sealed bearings and while heavy are decent wheel and will do you fine for winter/training.

After that, buy a set of Aksium's for €149 from cyclesuperstore.ie if you feel like a wheel upgrade is warented (or feck it, you might already have nice wheels).

"Special edition" builder
    http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/sed/road-track-bike/ribble-r872-shimano-equipped?part=SE13RIBR872SHIM&sub=conf_SERC

Aksium's on Cyclesupertstore.ie
    http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=63068

Beyond that, Ribble is a well known, trusted brand, their frames get good reviews and the R872 is fecking gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Mugser

Thanks for that very swift reply. My current wheels are the Shimano R501's which I find pretty good compared to the 'stock' wheels that were on my current Halfords:eek: bike when I got it. I'm hooked again on this cycling craic so I think a decent upgrade is in order.
    Prayer to St. Domminic coming up:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

I built a bike using the Ribble Evo pro carbon frame and it has served me well. Do watch out for the delivery charges to Ireland though.

ashleey wrote: »
    Do watch out for the delivery charges to Ireland though.

Yep, It's still coming in under budget even with the delivery. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

Great. Best of luck and enjoy it. Is that frame with full internal cable routing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 MustWalkDog

Yeah, the delivery charge was ridiculous from Ribble when i bought so got it collected by www.thundertransport.ie, which worked out about €40 or €50 if memory serves......
    Other then that love the bike......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

I have a Ribble Sportive Bianco and love it. I bought the frame and fork only and they did take there time (3 weeks) to get it to be, so might be a bit of a wait.

That said, it wouldn't put me of buying another frame from them.

FWIW, their frame are made by xpace who have a good reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

I have a Ribble Gran Fondo and a clubmate of mine has the R872. I'm delighted with mine, and he seems very happy with his R872. It looks fantastic in the flesh as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭poolboy

Have a sportive bianco, no complaints at all about bike or ribble in general

Thanks a million guys, I had pretty much my mind made up okay but it's nice to get some positive feedback all the same. The delivery charge is coming in at €62 so that'll be fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

btw, those Rodi Airline Evo's are probably an upgrade on your current Shimano R501'2 as well, so win win, and the sealed bearings will mean they stay running nicely for longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

Good advice Senah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

Stunning bike - I think this might have crept to the top of my list !!! *

Just one point - I've seen some pictures of this on Google Images with seriously dodgy looking cabling arrangements:

8517974535_9265a8e2a5_b.jpg

And it's not just the cable routing that's wrong on this example ...

185669-ribble-r872.jpg

They have a cabling guide on their website if you need it: link. Assuming you go ahead, just make sure yours has the cable length/routing done right.

Oh, and we want to read all about it, see pictures, the lot!

* Not that a no. 1 position in my list will make much difference to any purchase I might make in the short - medium term ;)