Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

very strange calf

• 24-04-2013 7:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

have a pb aa calf 10 days old- out of a mental cow- cow calved herself, calf sucked no bother, next day we got vet as it seemed to have pnuemonia, ... holds its head very strange... was giving it la alamycin every second day and some cortisone every second day too-5ml of each... went over this evening and it seemed to be having a fit, kicking like crazy, it doesnt seem to have a pain, its mental kicking really fast, we never saw anything like it, vet had said he had given it all he could... when she does this kicking it drives the cow crazy... also got multivitamin... got no injections at all today or yesterday, any ideas, cows all got minerals etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Had a calf doing the same. would lye down anywhere and start kicking like mad. in with the vet about 5-6 weeks back and he said it was collic. gave him muscle relaxant and liquid parafin and seemed to clear that up. little f**ker back in today with pneumonia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

gave it a life aid just there now, will give her liquid parafin in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

whelan1 wrote: »
    have a pb aa calf 10 days old- out of a mental cow- cow calved herself, calf sucked no bother, next day we got vet as it seemed to have pnuemonia, ... holds its head very strange... was giving it la alamycin every second day and some cortisone every second day too-5ml of each... went over this evening and it seemed to be having a fit, kicking like crazy, it doesnt seem to have a pain, its mental kicking really fast, we never saw anything like it, vet had said he had given it all he could... when she does this kicking it drives the cow crazy... also got multivitamin... got no injections at all today or yesterday, any ideas, cows all got minerals etc

Is it throwing its head back to one side? We had one that kept doing that. Turned out she had meningitis. Friend of my dad has had a few with smallingberg this year, one of them had that strange head turning thing too.

Hopefully it's just a bit mental

when i went over on sunday i was full sure it was dead , she was lying stretched out, had to get help to get cow out and then she stood up, seriously it didnt look like it was breathing at all:confused: holds head to 1 side... then can look perfectly normal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭dealerman

is it passing dung as said liquid parafin or cooking/vegtable oil eggs and brown sugar and cronyxin probally just bound better do him 2nite

dealerman wrote: »
    is it passing dung as said liquid parafin or cooking/vegtable oil eggs and brown sugar and cronyxin probally just bound better do him 2nite
    am waiting on man to buy calves now, need 2 people to do anything with calfso willbe the morning , as she is 1 dangerous mama, will give her liquid parafin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

A bit of the b? vitamin that you give for meningitis would be no harm.

mf240 wrote: »
    A bit of the b? vitamin that you give for meningitis would be no harm.
    would multivit cover that? another thing there is a swelling on its forehead, also very strange

Putting my sherlock hat on here but Id say your thick bitch of a cow hurt that calf somehow.

mf240 wrote: »
    Putting my sherlock hat on here but Id say your thick bitch of a cow hurt that calf somehow.
    we where thinking the same she is way too over protective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

could be schmallenberg or a virus maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

We bought in a calf last year..
    Seemed very hoarse but I passed it off as hoarse from bawling..

Anyway, it held its head funny to the side too, Kinda 45 degrees and back a bit, very strange..

Eventually had the vet check it at the annual test and turned out to be an ear infection, which was treated, cleared, and then came back.. Seriously affected how the calf could eat, meal falling out of its mouth and eating real slowly, and the calf went deaf.... stone deaf !

It struggled for four months and had to be isolated all the time to let it time to eat, and in January seemed to turn a corner, eats well now and is with comrades, but deaf as a post... Constantly finding itself on its own as others walk off and it doesn't notice.. Still holds its head funny, kinda stupid looking..

Just something to consider...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Would you post a video please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Not to hijack. Do you all notice that sometimes the healthiest of calves just sit down and die. We keep calves in groups of 30 once out of pens and are fed with mobile 50 teat feeder. One group about a week from weaning eating 800gm milk powder and about 1 kg meal were fed yesterday am and all fine. I went back at 3pm to fill meal feeder and one was lying funny in the corner, went to investigate and its skin had split from brisket to her teats and all intestines had come out. She was dead needless to say, must not have been a nice death for her. I have seen new born calves rupture at th navel and we just shove everything in and stitch but never saw in an older animal.
    She is in the big pasture in the sky now anyway, time to move on I'm sure there'll be something else today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

delaval wrote: »
    Not to hijack. Do you all notice that sometimes the healthiest of calves just sit down and die. We keep calves in groups of 30 once out of pens and are fed with mobile 50 teat feeder. One group about a week from weaning eating 800gm milk powder and about 1 kg meal were fed yesterday am and all fine. I went back at 3pm to fill meal feeder and one was lying funny in the corner, went to investigate and its skin had split from brisket to her teats and all intestines had come out. She was dead needless to say, must not have been a nice death for her. I have seen new born calves rupture at th navel and we just shove everything in and stitch but never saw in an older animal.
    She is in the big pasture in the sky now anyway, time to move on I'm sure there'll be something else today!!

I'd say with the numbers you are running there's something new every week.

calf was dead this morning, now to deal with loopy lou:eek: will let her out later

Culls are up to 4 kg for that type of cow. Lifes too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Lost a calf yday also, about 2 wks old, never was great for drinking, 1st few days with the stomach tube before we got him on the bottle. Fecker got scour then and wouldn't drink anything we made up for him. I dont know if its just a weak calf, or did he pick up anything in the shed. Time to try and get one shed at least fully cleaned out before the next calf. This is the worst part of dragging out calving, too much else going on, and the late calvers and their calves get ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Too bad..
    Time for the cow to hang high !! the hook sorts out those mad cows - permanently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I'd say with the numbers you are running there's something new every week.

Told ye there would be something else today. We were recording this am end missed a cow. I went to check paddock. We only have one dyke on the farm fenced both sides and where do you think my lady was in the water drowned. Knacker coming today I think I will do a quick clear out of the sick pens while he is here. The milker said this morning that I'll be at their Christmas party. It all you can do is laugh!!!!!