Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Round 5, 2013

• 24-04-2013 10:17am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭

Essendon vs Collingwood [MCG, Thursday April 25th, 2.40PM]

Essendon

B: M.Hibberd 1, C. Hooker 26, M.Baguley 46
    HB: B.Stanton 5,J.Carlisle 22, B.Goddard 9
    C: D.Heppell 21, J.Watson 4, C.Dempsey 15
    HF:J.Merrett 20, D.Hille 19, S.Gumbleton 3
    F: K.Hardingham 34, S.Crameri 12, A.Davey 29
    Foll: T.Bellchambers 2, B.Howlett 40, J.Winderlich 8
    I/C: D.Zaharakis 11, D.Myers 23, H.Hocking 39, T.Colyer 32

Emg: N.Lovett-Murray 42, J.Melksham 17, T.Pears 16
    In: K.Hardingham, T.Colyer, S.Crameri
    Out: M.Hurley (ankle), T.Pears (omitted), J.Melksham (omitted)

Collingwood

B: N.Brown 16, A.Toovey 34, B.Reid 20
    HB: M.Clarke 9, H.Shaw 39, H.O’Brien 8
    C: S.Sidebottom 22, D.Swan 36, D.Thomas 13
    HF: J.Elliott 19, T.Cloke 32, Q.Lynch 21
    F: B.Sinclair 28, T.Goldsack 6, S.Dwyer 41
    Foll: B.Hudson 25, S.Pendlebury 10, J.Blair 11
    I/C: A.Fasolo 1, J.Russell 2, B.Macaffer 3P.Seedsman 40

Emg: J.Witts 15, J.Thomas 24, B. Kennedy 27
    In: T Goldsack
    Out: J.Thomas (omitted

St. Kilda vs Sydney [NZ, Thursday 25th April, 7.50pm]

St Kilda

B: N.Wright 34, S.Fisher 25, S.Gilbert 19
    HB: S.Dempster 24, D.Roberton 17, J.Geary 14
    C: L.Hayes 7, C.Jones 4, S.Ross 6
    HF: D.Armitage 20, R.Stanley 28, N.Dal Santo 26
    F: A.Saad 21, N.Riewoldt 12, J.Saunders 35
    Foll: B.McEvoy 5, J.Steven 3, L.Montagna 11
    I/C: T.Dennis-Lane 8, T.Lee 9, J. Koschitzke 23, B.Murdoch 30

Emg: A.Siposs 2, T.Hickey 1, F.Ray 22
    In: J.Koschitzke, S.Dempster, T.Lee, B.Murdoch, J.Saunders
    Out: S.Milne (suspended), F.Ray (omitted), B.Maister (hand), T.Milera (omitted), T.Simpkin (omitted)

Sydney

B: D.Rampe 43, H.Grundy 39, N.Smith 40
    HB: M.Mattner 29, T.Richards 25, N.Malceski 9
    C: K.Jack 15, R.O’Keefe 5, L.Jetta 32
    HF: J.Bolton 24, S.Reid20, D.Hannebery 4
    F: M.Pyke 38, A.Goodes 37, B.McGlynn 21
    Foll: S.Mumford 41, J.Kennedy 12, J.McVeigh 3
    I/C: T.Armstrong 19, C.Bird 14, A.Everitt 13, L.Parker 26

Emg: M.Morton 10, T.Walsh 17, J. White 18
    In: C.Bird, A.Everitt
    Out: L. Roberts-Thomson (knee), Morton (omitted)

Fremantle v Richmond [PS, Friday night]

Fremantle

B: L.Spurr 34, Z.Dawson3, M.Johnson 37
    HB: C.Pearce 46, L.McPharlin 18, P.Duffield 41
    C: T.Mzungu 13, R.Crowley 15, D.Pearce 6
    HF: H.Ballantyne 1, K.Bradley 26, N.Fyfe 7
    F: J.Hannath 38, C.Mayne 23, M.Walters 10
    Foll: J.Griffin, 12, D.Mundy 16, S.Hill 32
    I/C: M.Barlow 21, L.Neale 27, M.De Boer 9, G.Ibbotson 5

Emg: H.Crozier 17, A.Silvagni 36, N.Suban 8
    In: L.McPharlin, G.Ibbotson, J.Hannath
    Out: N.Suban, C.Sutcliffe, Ta.Smith (hamstring)

Richmond

B: J.Batchelor 11, A.Rance 18, B.Helbig 32
    HB: D.Grimes 2, R.Petterd 13, B.Houli 14
    C: C.Newman 1, T.Cotchin 9, M.White 35
    HF: B.Deledio 3, S.Edwards 10, D.Jackson 23
    F: L.McGuane 16, J.Riewoldt 8, T.Vickery 29
    Foll: I.Maric 20, D.Martin 4, N.Vlastuin 31
    I/C: B.Ellis 5, J.King 28, S.Grigg 6, C.Knights 15

Emg: A.Edwards 27, R.Nahas 26, M.Dea 7
    In: M.White, J.Batchelor, B.Helbig, N.Vlastuin
    Out: S.Tuck (rested), T.Chaplin (calf), S.Morris (suspension), R.Conca (foot)

Greater Western Sydney v Gold Coast [Manuka Oval, 1.45pm Saturday]

Greater Western Sydney

B: A.Kennedy 40, T.Mohr39, L.Plowman 30
    HB: N.Haynes 19, P.Davis 1, S.Reid 23
    C: T.Scully 9, C.Ward 8, L.Whitfield 6
    HF: R.Palmer 7, J.Cameron 18, A.Tomlinson 20
    F: D.Smith 10, S.O’hAilpin 37, Z.Williams 51
    Foll: J.Giles 26, A.Treloar 17, D.Shiel5
    I/C: S.Coniglio 3, T.Greene 4, T.Bugg 14, B.Thornton 46

Emg: C.Hampton 2, J.Townsend 31, S.Frost 48
    In: B.Thornton, D.Smith, A.Tomlinson, L.Plowman, Z.Williams
    Out: S.Gilham, A.Miles, J.Townsend, L.Sumner, S.Frost

Gold Coast

B: T.McKenzie 18, S.May 17, J.Hutchins 34
    HB: T.Murphy 29, R.Thompson 16, G.Broughton 36
    C: M.Rischitelli 35, G.Ablett 9, J.Harbrow 5
    HF: D.Stanley 25, TJ.Lynch 19, A.Hall 33
    F: Z.Smith 2, S.Day 12, B.Matera 32
    Foll: C.Dixon 23, K.Hunt 7, D.Swallow 24
    I/C: D.Prestia 10, J.O’Meara 1, J.Brennan 3, M.Shaw 26,

Emg: K.Horsley 42, L.Russell 8, T.Sumner 39
    In: D.Stanley, T.McKenzie, TJ.Lynch
    Out: M.Warnock (arm), L.Russell, J.Wilkinson (ankle)

Carlton v Adelaide [MCG, 4.40pm Saturday]

Carlton

B: C Yarran 13, M Jamison 40, L Henderson 23
    HB: Z Tuohy 42, D Armfield 27, B Gibbs 4
    C: K Simpson 6, A Carrazzo 44, M Robinson 12
    HF: C Judd 5, A Walker 1, J Garlett 38
    F: E Curnow 35, S Hampson 22, S Rowe 17
    Foll: R Warnock 11, M Murphy 3, B McLean 14
    I/C: E Betts 19, K Lucas 9, H Scotland 29, S White 43

Emg: L Casboult 41, D Ellard 46, A Joseph 45
    In: E Betts
    Out: A Joseph (omitted)

Adelaide

B: L Brown 16, B Rutten 25, A Otten 22
    HB: D Mackay 14, D Talia 12, B Reilly 3
    C: R Douglas 26, S Thompson 5, B Smith 26
    HF: S Kerridge 29, J Jenkins 4, J Petrenko 23
    F: T Lynch 27, T Walker 13, M Wright 11
    Foll: S Jacobs 24, P Dangerfield 32, R Sloane 9
    I/C: M Jaensch 10, B Vince 17, R Henderson 45, R Laird 46

Emg: J Lyons 31, S McKernan 35, J Porplyzia 40
    In: B Vince, B Smith
    Out: J Porplyzia (omitted), B Crouch (hamstring).

Western Bulldogs v Geelong [ES, Saturday 7.40pm]

Western Bulldogs

B: B Goodes 44, J Roughead 23, T Young 31
    HB: J Johannisen 39, D Morris 38, A Cooney 17
    C: N Lower 33, M Boyd 5, T Liberatore 21
    HF: J Tutt 15, J Stringer 9, L Dahlhaus 6
    F: L Picken 42, L Jones 19, J Macrae 11
    Foll: W Minson 27, C Smith 14, M Wallis 3
    I/C: D Cross 4, P Veszpremi 8, K Stevens 25, M Austin 47

Emg: D Pearce 20, C Howard 30, L Markovic 37
    In: M Austin, P Veszpremi, C Smith
    Out: A Cordy, R Griffen (shoulder), D Giansiracusa (shoulder)

Geelong

B: T Hunt 19, T Lonergan 13, C Enright 44
    HB: J Corey 11, J Rivers 25, A Mackie 4
    C: M Duncan 22, J Bartel 3, J Kelly 9
    HF: A Christensen 28, H Taylor 7, S Motlop 32
    F: T West 12, T Hawkins 26, J Podsiadly 31
    Foll: M Blicavs 46, J Selwood 14, M Stokes 27
    I/C: G Horlin-Smith 33, J Caddy 23, S Johnson 20, B Smedts 2

Emg: M Brown 1, J Murdoch 21, C Guthrie 29
    In: James Kelly
    Out: Paul Chapman

Port Adelaide v West Coast [AAMI Stadium, Saturday 7.45pm]

Port Adelaide

B: T. Jonas 42, A. Carlisle 27, C. Heath 3
    HB: J.Pittard 29, J.Trengove 12, D.Cassisi 25
    C: K.Cornes 18, T.Boak 1, Bra.Ebert 7,
    HF: P.Stewart 14, J.Westhoff 39, M.Broabent 5
    F: R.Gray 9, J.Schulz 28, C.Wingard 20
    Foll: B.Renouf 4, O.Wines 16, H.Hartlett 8
    I/C: M.Lobbe 23, A.Monfries 6, J.Neade 32, C.O’Shea 13

Emg: S.Colquhoun 30, L.Stevenson 15, M.Thomas 21
    In: P Stewart
    Out: L Stevenson

West Coast

B: S.Hurn 25, D.Glass 23, J.Brennan 14
    HB: B.Waters 8, E.Mackenzie 16, S.Butler 26
    C: C.Masten 7, M.Priddis 11, A.Gaff 3
    HF: J.Cripps 15, J.Kennedy 15, M.LeCras 2
    F: C.Sinclair 22, J.Darling 27, D.Kerr 4
    Foll: D.Cox 20, S.Selwood 10, L.Shuey 13
    I/C: AS.Hams 43, B.Dalziell 18, M.Brown 1, J.Hill 33

Emg: M.Hutchings 34, As. Smith 28, W.Schofield 31
    In: B Waters, M Brown
    Out: A Selwood, W Schofield

Brisbane v Melbourne [Gabba, 3.15pm Sunday]

Brisbane

B: J.Adcock 7, D.Merrett 21, E.Yeo 26
    HB: J.Patfull 24, J.Clarke 42, M.Golby 41
    C: J.Polkinghorne 31, B.Moloney 3, S.Mayes 32,
    HF: M.Paparone 22, J.Brown16, R.Bewick 8
    F: J.Green 6, A.Cornelius 44, D.Zorko 15
    Foll: M.Leuenberger 23, A.Raines 29, J.Redden 30
    I/C from: S.Docherty 1, B.Longer 5, A.McGrath 9, P.Karnezis 28, R.Lester 35, J.Crisp 47, T.Rockliff 38

In: J.Polkinghorne , A.Cornelius , P.Karnezis , R.Lester , B.Longer , E.Yeo , J.Crisp , J.Clarke
    Out: P.Hanley (suspension), D.Rich (shoulder), S.Martin (ankle) , R.Harwood (omitted) , N.McKeever (omitted)

Melbourne

B: J.Watts 4, J.Frawley8, D.Terlich 46,
    HB: J.Grimes 31, T.McDonald 25, C.Garland 20
    C: J.Trengove 9, C.Sylvia 12, S.Blease 17
    HF: R.Bail 44, C.Pedersen 21, J.Howe 38
    F: D.Rodan 15, M.Gawn 37, S.Byrnes 10
    Foll: M.Jamar 40, M.Evans 32, N.Jones 2
    I/C from: J.McKenzie 13, J. Strauss 19, D.Nicholson 26, L.Tapscott 35, A.Davey 36, J.Spencer 42, M.Jones 45,

In: D.Rodan, J.McKenzie, J.Spencer, S.Blease, J. Strauss, D.Nicholson
    Out: N.Jetta (suspended), J.Viney (rested), M.Clark (foot).

Hawthorn v North Melbourne [MCG, 4.40pm Sunday]

Hawthorn

B: J.Gibson 6, B.Lake 17, L.Hodge 15
    HB: G.Birchall 14, B.Stratton 24, S.Burgoyne 9,
    C: I.Smith 16, S.Mitchell 5, B.Hill 10
    HF: L.Breust 22, L.Franklin 23, P.Puopolo 28
    F: L.Shiels 26, J.Roughead 2, D. Hale 20
    Foll: M.Bailey 39, J.Lewis 3, C.Rioli 33
    I/C from: J.Gunston 19, M.Spangher 27, S.Savage 21, M.Osborne 7, B.Guerra 18, J.Kelly 34, K.Cheney 13

In: B.Guerra, B.Lake, M.Spangher, K.Cheney, J.Kelly
    Out: R.Schoenmakers (knee), T.Duryea (corked thigh)

North Melbourne

B: S.McMahon 42, S.Thompson 16,M.Firrito 11
    HB: A.Mullett 41, N.Grima 17, J.Macmillan 34
    C: D.Wells 8, S.Atley 18, S.Wright 19
    HF: R.Bastinac 3, B.Cunnington 10, T.Hine 26
    F: L.Thomas 12, D.Petrie 20, L.Adams 13,
    Foll: T.Goldstein 22, A.Swallow 9, J.Ziebell 7
    I/C from: B.McKenzie 2, L.Anthony 4, L.Hansen 6, W.Sierakowski 28, A.Black 35, M.Daw 38, S.Gibson 43

In: W.Sierakowski , A.Black, B.McKenzie

• Registered Users Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭DoctorGonzo08

Essendon are starting to look like serious Premiership contenders tbf. After all the bad press pre-season, you wouldn't expect the start they have made. Goddard looks to be a missing piece of the jigsaw for them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Essendon are starting to look like serious Premiership contenders tbf. After all the bad press pre-season, you wouldn't expect the start they have made. Goddard looks to be a missing piece of the jigsaw for them.

Big time. Watching the Anzac game now, but heard the result. Resounding win for them, and really pushes them as a top 4 contender to see it through to the finals. I really wasnt expecting that at all.

bruschi wrote: »
    Big time. Watching the Anzac game now, but heard the result. Resounding win for them, and really pushes them as a top 4 contender to see it through to the finals. I really wasnt expecting that at all.

Me too, I had Collingwood to win by 23 in the tipping league and tought I was being conservative with 20 pts. Difference was Goddard for me running with Swan. With Swan averaging over 40 disposals in his last 6 against them it was a big dent to bring him back to 30. Hurt my captain choice though, was expecting a nice 170+ as in other years :(

Zaharakis and Winderlich were excellent as well, expect them to disappear into obscurity again after this.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,861 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

PEDs make a team play better, who knew?! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shanemkelly

Yay! 1 from 1 in the tipping :p

In DT news, debating whether to make Brad Crouch captain and take the 130pts for Swannie as VC... Decisions, decisions...
    (Currently have Ablett as captain)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Me too, I had Collingwood to win by 23 in the tipping league and tought I was being conservative with 20 pts. Difference was Goddard for me running with Swan. With Swan averaging over 40 disposals in his last 6 against them it was a big dent to bring him back to 30. Hurt my captain choice though, was expecting a nice 170+ as in other years :(

Zaharakis and Winderlich were excellent as well, expect them to disappear into obscurity again after this.

I like Swan as a player, but to be honest, in any game I have seen him this year, I thought a lot of his disposal count were nothign balls over and back through the middle. I just dont think he is being as creative or useful with the ball as he has been in previous years, and seems to be racking up disposal counts but not being in any way effective with it.

Yay! 1 from 1 in the tipping :p

In DT news, debating whether to make Brad Crouch captain and take the 130pts for Swannie as VC... Decisions, decisions...
    (Currently have Ablett as captain)

?? There was 2 games yesterday??

Crouch might still play so it could be risky picking him. If you had Kane Mitchell he is a better captain choice as he will def not play. Swanny only got 120, so it might be playing the loophole. GAblett tends not to scor all that highly against GWS, but then again it is GAblett so he could very well bust out 150. However a punt on Rocky against Melbourne might pay off. I can't do it myself as I had Swan locked in as Captain.

?? There was 2 games yesterday??

However a punt on Rocky against Melbourne might pay off. I can't do it myself as I had Swan locked in as Captain.

No, 1 out of 1; 100%! I'm brilliant :D
    Yeah, might give Rocky a go as captain for a change. Zorko's not going anything like last year so won't give it to him - he better have a good one or he's OUT next week!

No, 1 out of 1; 100%! I'm brilliant :D
    Yeah, might give Rocky a go as captain for a change. Zorko's not going anything like last year so won't give it to him - he better have a good one or he's OUT next week!

You still have Zorko? You have to hold onto him and wait for him to come good. Should have a good score against Melbourne, but if you were to let him go now you will have lost nearly 100k!

Yes you're right. Zorko's a long-hauller.

I just pity anyone that went with Toby Greene. Nearly did myself, but went with JP Kennedy instead. Not the best choice but at least its not Greene.

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

Fantastic occasion in the MCG yesterday, the pre-match ceremony and huge crowd really made for a brilliant atmosphere. I was in the middle of the Bombers members section so was copping serious abuse for the whole game. Good craic all the same :D

Essendon are the real deal this year, no doubt about it. They have a great balance across the ground and its hard to see any real weaknesses unless Watson goes down. They have arguably the best depth of talls in the league at the moment (not many teams could replace Ryder and Hurley with players of the calibre of Gumby and Crameri) and their midfield is driven on the inside by Watson and Hocking with classy players like Goddard and Heppell outside.

As for us, we're really struggling with the injuries at the moment. Ball and Beams out leaves our midfield very light and we're so reliant on Cloke up front to kick goals as we have very few other options so we need Krakeour and/or Didak to come back in as well. Maxwell is a huge loss as well as we are very stagnant and disorganised coming out of defence.

Should be a good one tonight, think Freo should sneak it

SSK wrote: »
    Should be a good one tonight, think Freo should sneak it

Yeah, thought the same myself. With Crawley likely to go to Deledio, and De Boer to Cotchin, and Freo at home. Still very close at half time, so depends what Freo come out with in the second half. At least you can bank on Martin disappearing for Richmond now.

BALLANTYNE YOU LITTLE BEAUTY!!!!

Freo now getting a helping hand, or leg, from the umpires :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Freo now getting a helping hand, or leg, from the umpires :rolleyes:

So p1ssed off with that finish. Clown of an umpire cost us the game.

Jack Riewoldt needs a kick up his lazy hole as well, totally gave up in the 2nd half. I'd love to see him dropped for next week, big sulky muppet....

Priddis knocked out after three minutes, wonderful start :o

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭jj1

BALLANTYNE YOU LITTLE BEAUTY!!!!

He was unreal Friday night. He cleared a couple of balls from his own 50 during the second half. Him, Johnson & Zach I thought were very good. 13 (can't remember his name) must have covered every blade of grass in Subiaco. He did a trojan amount of work but was a bit sloppy with the football at times.

I thought Freo were the much stronger team but seriously missed Pav for a bit of cutting edge. They must have been inside the 50 twice as much but really didn't make it count.

[QUOTE=Xavi6; Freo now getting a helping hand, or leg, from the umpires rolleyes.png [/QUOTE]

Bit of a comical situation but imo it seemed like Richmond got a lot of soft frees compared to Freo. Roll on Collingwood in Subiaco in 2 weeks!! Hopefully with a 4-2 record going in to that match.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

jj1 wrote: »

Bit of a comical situation but imo it seemed like Richmond got a lot of soft frees compared to Freo.

Ah, I know we are all a bit biased when it comes to umps decisions against our own teams but no way can Freo have any complaints about the umps on Friday. After every quarter commentators had to replay frees in good positions conceded by Richmond (Cotch's 2 in particular) to try and see what the free was paid for, I am still no clearer on most of them.

Soft frees have been the story of first 5 rounds really, umps are paying high contact frees for even glancing anywhere above the chest now, it is ridiculous and they need to use some common sense instead of letter of the law interpretation of everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

I couldnt agree with you more jackbhoy. The players and the umps are struggling to get their heads around the new rules, which leads to questionable decisions pretty much throughout every game.

The whole ump getting in the way of the goal, I dunno, I definatly think he was in the wrong position, the umps shouldn't obstruct the goal line, I think it would have hit the post, as most Freo supporters probably do :) still delighted with the win.

Great game yesterday between the cats and Roos. Right down to the wire again. North missed their chance, but jeez, hawks are all class. I'm tipping a Hawks v Cats grand final. Essendon are a shout but they looked good at the start or last year too, then fell to pieces in the second half of the season

Taylor Walker gone for the year.

The AFL averages 12-14 ACL ruptures a year normally, it's not even May and we're up to 11 already :eek:

Having done it myself, there's little I cringe at more than seeing it happen :o

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

Personally I don't think the Hawks are all they're hyped up to be. Although Lake is a fantastic addition to their backline, he's a hell of an upgrade on Shoenmakers.

I've see the Cats live twice and they're definitely the pick of the bunch for me, but Sydney will be very strong again once Tippett comes in. Essendon will be close if they can keep their form up

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Having done it myself, there's little I cringe at more than seeing it happen :o

Papercuts!