Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help picking a venue in Leinster area!

• 23-04-2013 9:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭

Hey boardies,

I'm really hoping you guys can help because I think my brain is about to melt trying to find a venue for our wedding next year!! :o

We've already decided on a spiritual ceremony and as we've got children, I think it will be fab to include them in the proceedings!:) The probelm is finding a decent venue we can afford :( We've got a budget of €60pp for a Saturday wedding and I'd like to have the option of an outdoor ceremony so a nice garden area is a must but also the venue would have to have a nice room incase the weather is crap. Have any of you guys been to, booked or viewed any venues around this price range lately???

I'd really appreciate any help, tips or advice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Desailly

I would recommend you have a look at the Springfield Hotel in Leixlip. Nice outdoor area, but also lovely room inside. The staff are really approachable and you dont justy feel like another number when you are dealing with them. Also very good offers on at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭~Trixiebelle~

Thank you so much!! :) I just had a quick look there, it looks lovely! I'm going to read through the packages now :) Have you been to a function there?? Food any good?

We have actually booked it for our wedding in May next year :).
    I have talked to a few people who have been to weddings there, as recently as two weeks ago. Everybody said the food was amazing and they could not fault the hotel at all.

Ah Great! Congrats :) Are you having a church or a civil ceremony?? The packages are great, I think its worth popping up to have a visit! Did you go with a package or adjust anything within it?? I've been trying to deal with another hotel and adjust some of the menus and I seem to be getting less for alot more money!? I really fall down on the haggling too! :)

We are having a Civil Ceremony in the hotel. You should arrange to meet with one of the managers down there. They are 2 really nice blokes and will go through everything with you.
    Basically the packages are just an idea of what you can get for your money but they are fully customisable. For example we did not need the house DJ, so got rooms for the Best man and bridesmaid for the night instead. So everything can be tailored to suit your needs.
    In relation to haggling you can just talk out straight to the 2 lads. They are very down to earth and it feels like you are talking to someone you have known for years. We looked at a number of different venues and we just felt like we were another number to the people showing us around and they were only interested in our money, but the Springfield have a very personal approach and make you feel very special, which is what sold it to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Checkout the step house borris Carlow and ballybeg in Wicklow

Thanks so much! Its great to have people suggest venues from personal experiences! :D

I'm going to contact them today Desailly! Hopefully I can go up tomorrow for a show around!

Cheers for that Sweetie! I LOVE Ballybeg but I think rental is €6k alone so It'll be well out for us but I'll check out the Borris! :)

Best of luck with it Trixiebelle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Fagashlil

http://www.thomaspriorhall.com/

We got married here a few months ago, amazing, couldn't fault a thing. They have an outdoor area for ceremonies, also the hall itself is fab if it rains. Ours was under your €60 budget p/p

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Have you looked at the Glenview in Wicklow? I got married there and it was amazing, there's lovely gardens for photos and the like. They've got a couple of different packages at the mo, I think. I'd recommend them 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Bookywook

Hi there. I would recommend Leixlip Manor. We have booked our wedding there for next year and they have beautiful gardens and their packages are within your budget. It takes up to approx. 120 people so I don't know if that would suit you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭lowly26

try amber springs in gorey wexford. fab hotel and packages well under that price that include dj, cake, flower etc.

also the gardens are absolutely gorgeous! and they have an outdoor activity place for children

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Motvalley might suit your requirements.
    I love Johnstown House too,we got married there.

Thanks so much for the suggestions guys!! We've still not booked anything yet! :( I think we're being highly critical and we cant just seem to agree!! ha! this doesn't bode very well for the marriage now does it?! :D

I really like Druids Glen but the guests room are a little pricey and the pint is too! This really concerns my other half because he doesn't want our guests to feel under pressure financially attending the wedding which I completely understand and worry about too. I would hate our guests to either not be able to attend due to cost or attend begrudgingly.:eek: It can be such a dampner!! How much would you consider reasonable for a Saturday b&b rate for a couple???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Did you look at the Station House in Kilmessan, Meath? My sister just finished her search..she loved it but it's too small unfortunately. Lovely grounds, non-soulless atmosphere, great reputation for food and it's supposed to be pretty reasonable.

I've already mentioned the step house in Borris, Co Carlow but since then my sister had her wedding there a couple of weeks ago and I was very, very impressed. I knew it was a nice hotel from working there but the service and food we got at this wedding was the best I've ever seen at a wedding I've personally attended. At 90 mins from dublin it may be a little far for you but might be worth checking out.

sweetie wrote: »
    I've already mentioned the step house in Borris, Co Carlow but since then my sister had her wedding there a couple of weeks ago and I was very, very impressed. I knew it was a nice hotel from working there but the service and food we got at this wedding was the best I've ever seen at a wedding I've personally attended. At 90 mins from dublin it may be a little far for you but might be worth checking out.

Thank you so much for your suggestion. I looked them up the 1st time you mentioned them and it look's gorgeous! I loved the style and décor. I rang and got them to email over a brochure and the co-ordinator was to give me a call but I haven't from her yet. I will enquire today! :)

Did your sister have her ceremony onsite?? I think this is my concern with most venues, I was worried about the flow on the day. I don't really like the sound of a room getting "turned around" for ceremony to reception and I'd like a lil wow factor for each room in its own right, ifykwim?!? :o I know I sound like an @rsehole but would it feel smothered/bored being in the same venue for 14hrs in July?? I know most people find it a bit of a drag going to the church, parking, attending the mass, queue to get out of carpark, drive to reception, park again but least its a change of scene and it does give an atmosphere and a bit of a build up to the day!!:P

I think I'm looking for a venue that can add different dimensions to each part of the day with being all on one site, have rooms for guests as we'd be travelling and not charge a fortune for a pint! I'm not a religious person but I think a private "special" spot is where I wanna say my vows and I'm not feeling it from the venues I've viewed! :( Like, himself is rooting for a hotel that has its ceremony room next door to a bar!! Do I really wanna walk down the aisle to the smell of a carvery!!???! :eek: Doesn't exactly scream romance.... now I really do sound like an @rsehole! :D

Thank you so much for your suggestion. I looked them up the 1st time you mentioned them and it look's gorgeous! I loved the style and décor. I rang and got them to email over a brochure and the co-ordinator was to give me a call but I haven't from her yet. I will enquire today! :)

Did your sister have her ceremony onsite?? I think this is my concern with most venues, I was worried about the flow on the day. I don't really like the sound of a room getting "turned around" for ceremony to reception and I'd like a lil wow factor for each room in its own right, ifykwim?!? :o I know I sound like an @rsehole but would it feel smothered/bored being in the same venue for 14hrs in July?? I know most people find it a bit of a drag going to the church, parking, attending the mass, queue to get out of carpark, drive to reception, park again but least its a change of scene and it does give an atmosphere and a bit of a build up to the day!!:P

I think I'm looking for a venue that can add different dimensions to each part of the day with being all on one site, have rooms for guests as we'd be travelling and not charge a fortune for a pint! I'm not a religious person but I think a private "special" spot is where I wanna say my vows and I'm not feeling it from the venues I've viewed! :( Like, himself is rooting for a hotel that has its ceremony room next door to a bar!! Do I really wanna walk down the aisle to the smell of a carvery!!???! :eek: Doesn't exactly scream romance.... now I really do sound like an @rsehole! :D

The hotel can probably advise you better than I but I would imagine that the ceremony could be held in the reception room and then a drinks reception afterwards could be upstairs in the lovely cocktail bar and adjoining terrace that lead down to the garden which will be lovely at that time of year (weather permitting) When the room is turned around redone for the meal it would look quite different anyhow. Otherwise, there may be the possibilty of having the ceremony in the adjacent Borris house or in the grounds of same or a local historical place like ducket's grove etc. I'm sure they have had similar requirements to your own tbh. I've been to many venues of different types around the country and it certainly has impressed me more than most. My sister found their co-ordiantor to be somewhat aloof too but once she visited the place her mind was set and the other staff more than made up for it. The meal we had was on a par with some of the finest restaurants ive been to in dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

You should definitely check out The Station House as mentioned above. Gorgeous outdoor area for ceremony, beautiful grounds that guests can stroll around and not a cookie cutter hotel either.
    However, has lots of bookings for summer so you'd need to be quick.
    prices start from €55/head and food is fab. Bar open til 4am at least and you will be fed until you burst. Oh, reasonable price for a pint too!

Thank you all for your suggestions! I'm trying to get some order into this search so I'm currently doing up a spreadsheet, complying all the venues together, with marks for the criteria we require/want and prices! We have a weekend jam packed with show arounds! Here's are list, please share your thoughts or experiences as I've never been to a wedding in any of them! :)

Finnstown House
    The Keadeen
    Moyvalley
    Druids Glen (pricey but I have a slight sentimental attachment to it)
    The Station House/The Waterside... I think their packages are too good to not a least check them out!

The Stephouse is for the following weekend Sweetie!! I think it's one worth checking out so thank you for suggesting! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭fondue

The hotel can probably advise you better than I but I would imagine that the ceremony could be held in the reception room and then a drinks reception afterwards could be upstairs in the lovely cocktail bar and adjoining terrace that lead down to the garden which will be lovely at that time of year (weather permitting) When the room is turned around redone for the meal it would look quite different anyhow. Otherwise, there may be the possibilty of having the ceremony in the adjacent Borris house or in the grounds of same or a local historical place like ducket's grove etc. I'm sure they have had similar requirements to your own tbh. I've been to many venues of different types around the country and it certainly has impressed me more than most. My sister found their co-ordiantor to be somewhat aloof too but once she visited the place her mind was set and the other staff more than made up for it. The meal we had was on a par with some of the finest restaurants ive been to in dublin.

Hi sweetie, did your sister get married in the church in Borris?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 MrsB2be

Hi OP,
    We booked Finnstown House for our wedding next July, absolutley love it and have heard nothing but good feedback. Love the fact that it is so central yet you feel like you're in the middle of the countryside! Gardens are fab and the staff are all lovely. (Doesn't feel like your on a conveyor belt as it does with some large hotels)! Let us know how you get on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭clint_silver

Finnstown House
    The Keadeen
    Moyvalley
    The Station House/The Waterside... I think their packages are too good to not a least check them out!

Theyre all really nice, station house is the best of that lot for a party. I looked at druids glen for my own wedding and didnt think it justified the price compared to others. It is really nice.
    Lets say your wedding cost you 5k and you had it in the station house of the waterside. And afterwards it scored 78/100 on the patented wedding scale of greatness that I just made up.
    Could you justify spending another 3 or 4 grand to have it in druids glen to maybe make it a 79/100? youll never really know as you can only have it one place. Ive never been at a bad wedding in any of those places.
    Maybe moyvalley once, but that was cos the grooms mother was thrown out of the hotel for fighting. Oh the stories...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Kerryfootball

My Fiancee and I are getting married in the Station house this summer.
    They have really beautiful grounds and like mentioned above the hotel has a vintage feel with a real soul to it.

I think most people remember 3 things about a wedding,

1- food , this place is second to none and I've never heard a bad word about it
    2- venue , this is an old train station converted to a hotel the bridal suit is the IMF signal box.
    3- band, well that's up to you

Note - even though the Station house and waterside are owned by the same people they are very different places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Kerryfootball

Excuse my above typo IMF should be old signal box.

Theyre all really nice, station house is the best of that lot for a party. I looked at druids glen for my own wedding and didnt think it justified the price compared to others. It is really nice.
    Lets say your wedding cost you 5k and you had it in the station house of the waterside. And afterwards it scored 78/100 on the patented wedding scale of greatness that I just made up.
    Could you justify spending another 3 or 4 grand to have it in druids glen to maybe make it a 79/100?

RE Druids Glen, Your really giving me something to think about here! Thank you! I'm not sure if I can justify it and I'm concerned about the guests forking out for the cost of rooms too..:( Where did you go with in the end??Was it The Station House??

Thank you all for all your input! I really, really appreciate it!! I'm feeling really stressed and this whole venue search has been such a buzz killer!! :eek: I feel like we've completely lost sight of what the day is really about and we're spending more time considering other people than planning the day that we want. I don't like how it's put a division between us and i'm hating how our parents are trying to influence our decision too!! :( I'm sorry for the big moan but my head is so fried! This is not at all what I hoped it would be...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 MrsB2be

Trixibelle, this is only the start of people trying to butt in, wait until you start the guest list!! theres always an aunt's sisters hubands cousins dog who wants an invite. My family is huge (over 100 cousins and close to a lot of them) but budget wont stretch that far!!:rolleyes::P

Look, at the end of the day go with what feels right for you guys. People arent going to hate you because a pint was 50c dearer etc and most venues have other options nearby in which to stay if the room is too expensive. Some people may not go anyway due to finances, work, holidays etc and then when it comes to the gifts you will see how generous (or not) people can be. Just decide what are the most important criteria and do the viewings but enjoy this time rather than get stressed by it. Btw when we showed both our parents where we wanted to have our reception they all disapproved and it didnt bother us but made us more determined to succeed with organising the whole day.

MrsB2be wrote: »
    Trixibelle, this is only the start of people trying to butt in, wait until you start the guest list!! theres always an aunt's sisters hubands cousins dog who wants an invite. My family is huge (over 100 cousins and close to a lot of them) but budget wont stretch that far!!:rolleyes::P

Oh, we're hitting issues there already! Apparently I shouldn't invite a girl I worked closely with for 8yrs because another member of my family doesn't like her! :rolleyes: I'm going to have to reclaim OUR day! ;)

Look, at the end of the day go with what feels right for you guys. People arent going to hate you because a pint was 50c dearer etc and most venues have other options nearby in which to stay if the room is too expensive. Some people may not go anyway due to finances, work, holidays etc and then when it comes to the gifts you will see how generous (or not) people can be. Just decide what are the most important criteria and do the viewings but enjoy this time rather than get stressed by it. Btw when we showed both our parents where we wanted to have our reception they all disapproved and it didnt bother us but made us more determined to succeed with organising the whole day.

Thanks for the wise words Sweetie! Your absolutely right and I'm so glad to hear your parents were just as unimpressed with your venue, as mine are with my choices/ideas!! ;) I'm feeling a lot more positive than I was this morning anyway so hopefully the viewing's lined up over this weekend, will inspire the pair of us! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Sand Wedge

Thank you all for your suggestions! I'm trying to get some order into this search so I'm currently doing up a spreadsheet, complying all the venues together, with marks for the criteria we require/want and prices! We have a weekend jam packed with show arounds! Here's are list, please share your thoughts or experiences as I've never been to a wedding in any of them! :)

Finnstown House
    The Keadeen
    Moyvalley

The Stephouse is for the following weekend Sweetie!! I think it's one worth checking out so thank you for suggesting! :)

Hey Trixiebelle, have you considered the Tulfarris Hotel in Wicklow. I was at a wedding there and it was fantastic. Really would advise on checking it out.