Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer Track League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

im planning on doing this league this year, looking forward to it. I have no idea what any of the races are, they are all mad, buts ure ill give it a go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Are we going to run ladies races again this year if the numbers are good enough?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

From what I saw last year Caroline, it seemed that it really depended on how many turned up each evening. I am guessing that if there are enough for separate races they will run them (at Group C level), but I'm also guessing it could be a very tight schedule to get all the racing in, particularly on some evenings when the light closes in, and that may dictate exactly what races are run and the numbers in them

There was talk of running seperate events for juniors, which would help matters (although clearly requires more volunteer time). It may be a matter of seeing how the first couple of weeks go in terms of numbers and taking it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

I'd love to be doing this, but I live in Dundalk and have no car... Hopefully I can get to a few, but can't see myself being there weekly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

lennymc wrote: »
    im planning on doing this league this year, looking forward to it. I have no idea what any of the races are, they are all mad, buts ure ill give it a go :)

Hare and Hound: Is as says. Bs go and As chase them down, basically same as a handicap.

Rev(erse) Win & Out: Sprints every three laps, winner of first gets third, winner of second gets second etc. Win & Out is obviously the opposite.

Scratch: First past the post.

3up: Three person match sprint.

1k Handicap: Memory is we were spaced out according to ability, strongest further away from the start line.

Italian pursuit: Two large groups do a pursuit with the front rider pulling out each lap. My memory is that you have to hold on for dear life at the back.

Devil: Basically elementation race.

Keirin: THe most awesome race in the world. You should know it if you're doing track.

I possibly need to be corrected on some of those descriptions or they need embellishment.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

"Unknown" is a good one ... (I believe it's a scratch race where you only find out how long it is when the bell goes)

Then there's "prog":confused:. Thought that was something to do with getting progressively faster - Harry, is it paced by derny?

I'm pretty sure they are just using the same template as previous years. I'm also confident there will be some points races thrown in to replace some of those listed - when there's a tight schedule they are races that can get a lot of people on the trrack at one time with a relatively short distance (over 12 laps with points every 4 laps)

Looking at leat year's results, other than the rain affected ones, it looks like there was typically between 40 and 60 riders turning up each week, although the youth numbers were quite low - I suspect that's because so many of them have progressed to the C group, with one 14 year old beating virtually all-comers in the B group - hopefully he'll have bulked up this year (and as a result slowed his acceleration a bit!)

I hate to be the one, but... no bulking, just more speed. I already had a mock race with him a few weeks ago and he's in flying form, storming along with the As.

Yes, unknown is just that, I forgot. It can be very long sometimes but you just don't know. Is that the one where we're actually on the track cycling around a few laps before they tell us how many laps are left? I remember the nerves killing me on that one.

I can't remember Progressive.

I realise I'm not the best example for any A4s that know me from the road, but I recommend roadies give it a few goes, it really will built legs speed and general speed. Plus, it's a lot of fun

Christ Harry, don't encourage them all - it's hard enough as it is ...

Beasty wrote: »
    Christ Harry, don't encourage them all - it's hard enough as it is ...

:) The better the rider I race against, the better the rider I become... or at least that is the theory.

A reminder that this is on tomorrow!!

Be there early and get warmed up etc, bring your licence and fee.

If anyone around D9 wants a lift over buzz.

Oh, and a progressive is basically a scratch race with the first few laps neutralised.

So who's going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Won't make this week, but racing the week after. Has been 2 years since I last raced on the track. Looking forward to it.

Weather's looking pretty good for it. Was supposed to be marshalling elsehere, but as that race has been cancelled I should hopefully get down to Sundrive tomorrow evening

That reminds me, always bring sun cream to any track events. You'll be sitting around a bit between races and I don't want to be running around like a few times last year offering it to red faced/armed/legged racers. I already have one child to deal with ;)

That's another great thing about the track league - you race then can sit around for 20-30 minutes or so for your next one - plenty of opportunity to have a natter about things, post your result on Boards etc ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

My track bike won't be ready until next week, if i rent a bike is there shoes available which fit the look pedals? I don't want to race on toe clips, i wouldn't consider it safe.

Get there early and you might manage to get a pair. Toe clips would be grand once you're in tight enough, though I understand where you're coming from. I run clipped and strapped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

post your result on Boards etc ...

Be great if ye could lads -

The league is great evening's training if you are planning any later events like the Duane Delaney Memorial or the Champs, couple of years since i rode the track but used always enjoy it.

dedocdude wrote: »
    Be great if ye could lads -

Sorry dude, I can't remember anything definite in the results.

I can - Harry got a second in the "B" reverse and out

14 year old Adam Stenson got 2 seconds in the "A" group - Prog and Scratch

I got no points - managed 5th in the Prog, 4th in the scratch and in the rev and out Harry took the 2nd sprint, albeit a lap after he should have, but he played by the whistle and took the points. Think I was a couple of places down in the final sprint, but it was getting a bit hairy with some of the new racers needing to learn a bit of "red-line" discipline, as well as not to move up the track without looking to make sure it's clear ...

Great to see a large youth contingent out tonight and good racing all round

I can - Harry got a second in the "B" reverse and out

14 year old Adam Stenson got 2 seconds in the "A" group - Prog and Scratch

I got no points - managed 5th in the Prog, 4th in the scratch and in the rev and out Harry took the 2nd sprint, albeit a lap after he should have, but he played by the whistle and took the points. Think I was a couple of places down in the final sprint, but it was getting a bit hairy with some of the new racers needing to learn a bit of "red-line" discipline, as well as not to move up the track without looking to make sure it's clear ...

Great to see a large youth contingent out tonight and good racing all round

Yes, there were a few hairy moments in the Prog too.

I managed third in the Scratch with someone from LCRC in second and someone from Wexford Wheelers won. I know no names, but the results will be online before next week usually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

I am the Wexford man, i got moved up to the A races now though...good first three races all the same. It's great racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

I (obviously) didnt make it. Should be there next week tho. Well done RockWretcher.

I am the Wexford man, i got moved up to the A races now though...good first three races all the same. It's great racing.

Congratulations. Looks like my "you'll be alright in toe straps" was off the mark then.

Pic of the night:

BJNfkrhCIAAD3bl.jpg:large

Bit rainy and windy out there. Keep an eye on: https://twitter.com/SundriveVelo for weather and possibke cancellation updates.

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.378368475607763.1073741837.188473764597236&type=3

Another load of great photos from Adamstown of this week's racing.

I'll keep plugging this awhile longer.

Week three is on tonight.

Results from last week here:

http://www.cyclingireland.ie/getattachment/b10ba34f-1078-49bf-99e4-21371886a417/SundriveLeagueResult.aspx

Hopefully the derny won't be trying to blow us apart this week ...

Yes, I have a feeling the Keirin will be very fast tonight.

Don't mind that, so long as the guys in front of me don't lose the wheel (which happened twice last week - I had to work a lot harder to get back on, although that actually made it a better race for me in some ways)

Of course, as soon as he pulled off the whole thing slowed down again, which was not the intention but again gave me a chance to catch the 3 of you that had managed to stick to his wheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

The derny was going to get some tweaking after last week apparently. It only had one speed - fast.

nak wrote: »
    The derny was going to get some tweaking after last week apparently. It only had one speed - fast.
    dunno - it seemed to hit "faster" in our race ...