Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cost of silage

• 18-04-2013 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

just wondering what people have been asked for silage bales or pit have heard some crazy prices personally i think anyone asking more than e25 to e30 is an as.h.le and people wont forget them for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

€62

Your man bought 6 of them.... so total €372. And the lad selling them wouldn't even let him off the €2!! To make matters worse it was a fair distance away and by the time he got home it was getting dark. No lights on the trailer and a car ploughed into the back of him. No tractor insurance and now the farm is up for sale..... and the cows are still bawling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

And when he finally got home his best friend was in bed with his wife. And his dog ate some plastic of the bales and chocked.

And the silage was a bit stemmy.

A bit stemmy?!? huh. wishful thinkin'. 'lucky bags' he was callin ' them..... only thing was..... they weren't so lucky for him

He loved that bitch too, oh and the dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Now he is going calling yourman that sold him the expensive silage an as.h.le

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

I payed 45 for silage hay making 50 if it can be got feeding soya hulls adlib from monday on silage pit ran out last november and will prob take 2 to 3 years to pay off feed bill but i can still laugh :D
    I suppose there is no point in crying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

150 for a bale of hay.

Muckit wrote: »
    A bit stemmy?!? huh. wishful thinkin'. 'lucky bags' he was callin ' them..... only thing was..... they weren't so lucky for him

He loved that bitch too, oh and the dog

He was down the pub last night he said he got a new puppy from the vets.

He hasn't spoke to his wife or best friend since, he says he really misses his friend.

And he's still eyeballin' that 'BALES FOR SALE. TOP QUALITY' notice stuck up behind the bar that got him into the whole f**kin' mess!! :D

Heard that pup is pissin and sh***in everywhere too

The knacker lorry was seen pullin out of his yard this morning, lunch time and again at 5. 'Killt out goin' the lorry driver said... 'sleep tonight' he said. More than can be said for poor mick

And they wouldnt even take the dog the b@stards and he slipped a disk burying him in the garden.

baleout.png

'Follow one man's battle against fodder shortages, weather, losing his farm, a cheating wife and the death of a faithful companion'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Muckit wrote: »
    baleout.png

'Follow one man's battle against fodder shortages, weather, losing his farm, a cheating wife and the death of a faithful companion'

Lads ye should go into screenplay writing, or country and western lyrics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

quader wrote: »
    just wondering what people have been asked for silage bales or pit have heard some crazy prices personally i think anyone asking more than e25 to e30 is an as.h.le and people wont forget them for it

What is the cost of making a bale of silage? Contractor charge, plastic, fertilizer cost, time spreading, land tied up for 8 weeks or more and in my case I have to draw the bales to the home farm. I havent made up the cost but Im fairly sure if I sold the bales at 25 euro i would make a loss! Why do you expect another farmer to take a hit on his silage just because you are short silage? Really, Who is the as*hole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭quader

actually i am not short of silage but i sold my spare silage for 25 a bale other people have charged 40 for it around here . its called being a neighbour, i know in future if i am short of silage i can ring these people for silage .
    just dont want to be know as an asshole who would take advantage of other farmers misfortune

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

actually i am not short of silage but i sold my spare silage for 25 a bale other people have charged 40 for it around here . its called being a neighbour, i know in future if i am short of silage i can ring these people for silage .
    just dont want to be know as an asshole who would take advantage of other farmers misfortune
    Can you actually make it fo 25 a bale, the reason I ask is I came across a guy with a good bit of silage and asked would he consider selling it, he said he'd consider it. He came back to me telling me that to replace it and put in his land at 150/acre was costing over €30, he's parttime farmer and pays for everything from mowing to drawing and stacking in the yard and the price would have to be 35. fair enough we put the word out and guys are glad to get it, most are only buying 5 or 10 anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

rancher wrote: »
    Can you actually make it fo 25 a bale, the reason I ask is I came across a guy with a good bit of silage and asked would he consider selling it, he said he'd consider it. He came back to me telling me that to replace it and put in his land at 150/acre was costing over €30, he's parttime farmer and pays for everything from mowing to drawing and stacking in the yard and the price would have to be 35. fair enough we put the word out and guys are glad to get it, most are only buying 5 or 10 anyway

Good point here. Of course you have to help out your neighbours, but are guys undervaluing the spare silage they have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Suckler

I think you are both talking about different situations; Helping a neighbour in desperate times is one thing but in the end silage is now a valuable commodity. Price will be dictated by supply and demand. If I advertise good bales at E60 a bale and someone wants to buy it, I certainly won't object.

I'm not one to say it's entirely a farmers fault if they run out of fodder; summer 2012 coupled with the worst spring in many years was the major factor. I think it will emphasise planning for next winter but again it demands on the summer 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

kerry co op are selling hay bales for 79 euro, an absolute rip off, theres nothing else to get in kerry. any chance tey mite get maize sourced from sumwhere i wonder, anyone else getting maize?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

Henwin wrote: »
    kerry co op are selling hay bales for 79 euro, an absolute rip off, theres nothing else to get in kerry. any chance tey mite get maize sourced from sumwhere i wonder, anyone else getting maize?

Round bales of hay? I bought one on Friday for €69. With the transport subsidy it will cost me €44. They cant sell them much cheaper. They have to cover their costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Few lads in my area looking for 30 euro for half rotten silage bales...that is taking advantage in my view....it can be easy to be the wise soul saying everyone should have planned for enough silage.
    As regards price/cost of bales....in my case anyway get all done bar the fertilising and drawing in of bales and I have them costed at around 18 euro each........so anyone selling needs 25 euro anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

What is the cost of baled silage?

Not including a land charge. Plastic @ 80/roll is 2.70/bale. Cutting 25/acre @10 bale/acre is 2.5 euro/bale. contractor. Fertlizer and grass quality are the big question. Also you have to include charges for drawing and stacking. I have seen farmers charged through the nose from a transport company and not crib. Fertlizer in a normal year 110 units of nitrogen supplied by a combination of slurry and bag fertilizer.
    Take spreading slurry is it costing 10 euro/1000 gallons. CAN@ 350/ton, Urea@ 440/ton. From this combination is bale silage costing 6-9/bale in fertilizer. So are we at a cost of a minimum of 20/bale.

In my calculation before land charges or allowing for reseeding etc bale silage is costing in the 20/bale. Land charge 12 weeks at height of growing season 80-100/acre.

It amazes me that if you sell straw @ 20+/bale or hay at God knows what but you are a gold digger if you sell silage above 25?,30?,35?

Now a lot of this is down to management few farmers put in place a fodder plan. Most have no appreciation of good quality silage. How many will spray for weeds in meadows. How many will even fertilizer right.

How many have spread slurry a lot will wait until after the silage or hay is cut and most of the nitrogen will go up in the air.

Maybe I am a bit harsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

Not including a land charge. Plastic @ 80/roll is 2.70/bale. Cutting 25/acre @10 bale/acre is 2.5 euro/bale. contractor. Fertlizer and grass quality are the big question. Also you have to include charges for drawing and stacking. I have seen farmers charged through the nose from a transport company and not crib. Fertlizer in a normal year 110 units of nitrogen supplied by a combination of slurry and bag fertilizer.
    Take spreading slurry is it costing 10 euro/1000 gallons. CAN@ 350/ton, Urea@ 440/ton. From this combination is bale silage costing 6-9/bale in fertilizer. So are we at a cost of a minimum of 20/bale.

In my calculation before land charges or allowing for reseeding etc bale silage is costing in the 20/bale. Land charge 12 weeks at height of growing season 80-100/acre.

It amazes me that if you sell straw @ 20+/bale or hay at God knows what but you are a gold digger if you sell silage above 25?,30?,35?

Now a lot of this is down to management few farmers put in place a fodder plan. Most have no appreciation of good quality silage. How many will spray for weeds in meadows. How many will even fertilizer right.

How many have spread slurry a lot will wait until after the silage or hay is cut and most of the nitrogen will go up in the air.

Maybe I am a bit harsh

No not harsh, a good post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Maybe I am a bit harsh
    I'd reckon your even still low in cost as if you were in the business of selling silage you wouldn't have the use of slurry so all of your P+K would have to come in a bag.
    And whatever nitrogen in your figures you have reckoned comes from slurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

rancher wrote: »
    I'd reckon your even still low in cost as if you were in the business of selling silage you wouldn't have the use of slurry so all of your P+K would have to come in a bag.
    And whatever nitrogen in your figures you have reckoned comes from slurry.

It would depend on the spring day. One year slurry was spread on a foggy day that turned misty as spreading finished. I think that I must have got at least 20 units of nitrogen/1000 gallons. There was no whiff of the slurry after spreading. In the spring if you can spread on a calm day minimum 10 units/1000 gallons. I usually reckon that the less of a smell after spreading the more nitrogen going into the ground.

I just costed the price of making and like I posted you may have to allow for a land charge and drawing and stacking.

If you have to supply P&K from a bag according to Gouldings at index 3 you would need 100 units N ,16P and 95K. It is showing

http://www.gouldings.ie/advice/silage/1st-cut-no-slurry/

It is showing 5.5 replenish/acre I imagine that it is a minimum 450/ton. So cost is minimum 125/acre or 12.5/bale for fertlzer. Also for every 4 ton of nitrogen you need 1 ton of lime I think so that is another euro or two.