Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lets start a club ?

• 16-04-2013 9:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

im finding it hard to get permission to shoot deer,
    and im wondering if theres any guys in the same boat as me,
    that would be interested in getting together sticking a few bob in ,
    an offering it to a farmer / land owner,

im starting to think its the only way to get started { money talks }
    if i could get 10 good lads to stick 200 each in , so 2000 grand
    gos to the land owner , just might be the way to go,

i look forward to hearing from anybody that would be interested , or
    lads already in clubs that could offer any help on how to get something like this off the ground ,

cheers guys happy hunting :)

• Subscribers Posts: 336 ✭✭noeleire

what county are thinking off,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

Wast of time 10 good lads 200 each, 2000 would get you land to shoot no problem but with 10 lads shooting the same land that is not going to work you should go it alone offer a farmer with deer on his land 300 euro for the shooting rights if he says no offer him up to 500 euro. If i were you i would get into your car and call to every farm in the area that you want to shoot introduce yourself explain your situation and if you knock enough doors you should get sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭6.5 tikka

noeleire wrote: »
    what county are thinking off,,
    i was thinking of donegal

Wast of time 10 good lads 200 each, 2000 would get you land to shoot no problem but with 10 lads shooting the same land that is not going to work you should go it alone offer a farmer with deer on his land 300 euro for the shooting rights if he says no offer him up to 500 euro. If i were you i would get into your car and call to every farm in the area that you want to shoot introduce yourself explain your situation and if you knock enough doors you should get sorted

if you broke the time up between each other might work out , i dont know it was just an idea , say you got sunday , i got monday, and just keep moving the days week by week

cheers pal thanks for the info , im planing to do that on monday ,
    thinking about heading to donegal , what part should i head towards ?
    lol i`d like to get somewhere that has deer lol, oh im only new to this how do you add people as friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭vapour_trail

I lost my permission for deer last year :( Id love to get back into it even if I had to pay but I wouldnt be willing to pay more than 200 a year. In fact Id be pretty reluctant to go over 100. Its too risky. What happens if you get 10 lads who put 200 of their hard earned money into it then you get 1 or 2 of them that clear the land of deer or you get someone else who wipes numbers or even someone illegally doing so!! Lads will want their moneys worth. I know it can happen on any permission but when you introduce money it changes everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

Money does change everything. I have a few permissions and one of them was shut to us last season because a few lads clubbed together and gave the land owner money. Now only they can shoot the land and 1 or 2 lads now have no permission and as they are not working and are finding it hard to come up with money to "buy" more permissions. When 1 land owner sees his neighbour getting money for shooting deer he is going to look for money from other lads to shoot his land as well. Pretty soon every land owner will be charging people to shoot their land and the cost of our sport goes up yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

You could go in on a coillte let, You will need to do the HCAP though and it'll probably cost you alot more than 200. There is always someone on here saying there is a spot on a let closer to the start of the season. Deer permissions are hard to get and there are many many other people in the same situation as you. People are also very protective of their permissions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭ah sure !

I lost my permission for deer last year :( Id love to get back into it even if I had to pay but I wouldnt be willing to pay more than 200 a year. In fact Id be pretty reluctant to go over 100

Coillte leases will cost you a lot more than 100 quids. If you can't find permissions from farmers for nothing then do what i did , save some money and get a lease on a syndicate. Not a long time ago was talking to a chap moaning that he couldn't afford to pay for a deer lease yet he was smoking fags after fags and talking about all the pints he can drink in a night !
    If you are really passionate about your stalking , do whatever it takes to get into it. If you can get free permissions you are a lucky man but don't expect everything to be free either.

Money does change everything. I have a few permissions and one of them was shut to us last season because a few lads clubbed together and gave the land owner money. Now only they can shoot the land and 1 or 2 lads now have no permission and as they are not working and are finding it hard to come up with money to "buy" more permissions. When 1 land owner sees his neighbour getting money for shooting deer he is going to look for money from other lads to shoot his land as well. Pretty soon every land owner will be charging people to shoot their land and the cost of our sport goes up yet again.[/QUOT

well if i can get it for free happy days , because like your friends im not working at the min myself , and wouldnt have that much spare cash , the big thing wit me is getting the gun licence , so i am willing to pay even just for the first year so i can get the gun , but i do understand what your saying about everyone looking for money , its a catch 22 ,

juice1304 wrote: »
    You could go in on a coillte let, You will need to do the HCAP though and it'll probably cost you alot more than 200. There is always someone on here saying there is a spot on a let closer to the start of the season. Deer permissions are hard to get and there are many many other people in the same situation as you. People are also very protective of their permissions.

and there right to be protective about there permission , its hard to get ,last thing u want or need is some fool messing it up, by leaving litter , brecking fencing, getting off wit the farmers wife lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

There is no point in spending all that money on a rig and licence if you don't have anywhere to shoot it and nothing to shoot. Work on the permission first that is the important thing if you just want a gun join a shooting range and shoot targets. It is very expensive to get into stalking, Well i have found it to be but it is all i spend my money on and it is what i live for so it is'nt a big deal in anyway for me, I had been working towards deer stalking since i got my first licence as it had been a childhood dream of mine but it took me years to accomplish. It all fell into place in the end and i am glad it took so long as i was able to gain valuable knowledge from people and from reading without making any costly mistakes or being to trigger happy on my first. Don't worry it will all work itself out in the end it just takes time.

juice1304 wrote: »
    There is no point in spending all that money on a rig and licence if you don't have anywhere to shoot it and nothing to shoot. Work on the permission first that is the important thing if you just want a gun join a shooting range and shoot targets. It is very expensive to get into stalking, Well i have found it to be but it is all i spend my money on and it is what i live for so it is'nt a big deal in anyway for me, I had been working towards deer stalking since i got my first licence as it had been a childhood dream of mine but it took me years to accomplish. It all fell into place in the end and i am glad it took so long as i was able to gain valuable knowledge from people and from reading without making any costly mistakes or being to trigger happy on my first. Don't worry it will all work itself out in the end it just takes time.

im a member of a shooting range already, love target shooting great crack, and i have a gun picked out , but im not handy a penny across untill i get the permission , i just want the gun so im ready to go when i do get the permission

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

I lost my permission for deer last year :( Id love to get back into it even if I had to pay but I wouldnt be willing to pay more than 200 a year. In fact Id be pretty reluctant to go over 100. Its too risky. What happens if you get 10 lads who put 200 of their hard earned money into it then you get 1 or 2 of them that clear the land of deer or you get someone else who wipes numbers or even someone illegally doing so!! Lads will want their moneys worth. I know it can happen on any permission but when you introduce money it changes everything.
    Lads will want their moneys worth,100 euro a year,you wouldn't get rabbit shooting for it ,how many deer would be your moneys worth for a 100 quid ?
    I'm not putting anyone down here ,but that's comical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Vulture 1

Heres the thing lads maybe you ve taught about it maybe not.

Maybe you dont care.

I shoot in a area i am born and reared there i have the run over thousands of acres.

i know every farmer by name i ve grown up with their sons and daughters.

So you guys come in to my area offering money to farmers say they take the money do you really think they are going to clear me to allow you exclusive rights.

And say they do how would you react if you were me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭alsace royal

i had a fellow come to me this year and offer quite a bit of money to shoot my land, after he told me there was nothing left to shoot in his old premissions. now dont get me wrong im no softy when it comes to the country life, born into it, but the last thing id want to see is the deer disapear. it still nice to get up of a morning and see them if you get me? so money wont change everything in some peoples mind.

and this is coming from a very keen shooter, just incase ye think im odd lol. but i do like to see it kept sustainable so this way of life will be here for the next generation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Vulture 1 wrote: »
    Heres the thing lads maybe you ve taught about it maybe not.

Maybe you dont care.

I shoot in a area i am born and reared there i have the run over thousands of acres.

i know every farmer by name i ve grown up with their sons and daughters.

So you guys come in to my area offering money to farmers say they take the money do you really think they are going to clear me to allow you exclusive rights.

And say they do how would you react if you were me.

Its the same as most things in life ,if the money was right,i reckon you'd be told to sling yer hook from a certain percentage of your farmer friends,its happened in Wicklow .
    And 'your area' has nothing to do with it,and if I were you i'd probably be pissed off but that's life !