Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Frank O Rourke Memorial : Sunday May 5th , Camross Co Wexford.

• 15-04-2013 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭

WEXFORD WHEELERS CYCLING CLUB
    PROMOTE THE
    FRANK O’ROURKE
    MEMORIAL
    CYCLING RACE
    SUNDAY May 5th

On Sunday May 5th the 7th annual Frank O Rourke Memorial cycle race promoted by Wexford Wheelers; takes place in Camross Co Wexford. The club will be promoting races for both underage and senior riders, with a generous prize fund.
    Sign on ( Euro 10 for seniors and Euro 5 for underage) will open at 10:00 and will be at Camross Hall.

Promotions will be as follows:

A1/A2
    Senior racing starts at 12:15 with the 120K A1/ A2 race. Frank O Rourke memorial trophy for the outright winner. The combined A1/A2 will cover 5.5 laps of the Frank O Rourke circuit measuring 120k in total.

A3:
    Next start at 12:30 with the 100K A3 race. The A3 will cover 4.5 laps of the Frank O Rourke circuit measuring 100k in total.

A4:
    The Senior A4 race starts at 12:45 with the 80K A4 race. The A4 race will cover 3.5 laps of the Frank O Rourke circuit measuring 80k in total .

The U 16 race:
    U 16 race held for riders under 16 years of age and will begin at 11:00 24 Km

The U 14 race:
    U 14 race held for riders under 14 years of age and will begin at 11:20 12 km

The U 12 race:
    U 12 race held for riders under 12 years of age and will begin at 11:30 approx. 8 km

For more information, please contact Michael Noonan on 087 9800553 michaelnoonan196@gmail.com

www.wexfordwheelers.com

To reach 80 K and 100 K , the race will initially complete an 11.6 km loop before launching onto the full 22 K loop.

Ample Parking at the venue:
    No showers are available at the venue.
    Post race food will be served.

Last years Boards thread:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78157576

Maps:

11.6 km Circuit: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/2357958
    22 K Circuit: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/1140140

Each senior race starts with 1 lap of the 11.6 km circuit then 3 laps ( A4) or 4 laps ( A2) and 5 laps of the 22 Km circuit, giving 78km and 98 km and 120 km approx.

This Event is once again Kindly and generously sponsored by the O' Rourke Family, FerrybankOpel Motors, represented by Wendy O' Rourke.

http://www.ferrybankopel.com/promotions/frank-orourke-memorial-cycle-race/1043

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

Hi @michael196 - should that be A1/A2 in one event and A3 in another?

And Im guessing Frank's memorial trophy is only going to one rider - not to two separate race winners.

Good luck with the event, I have ridden it before and its a good one, I hope its well supported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

This is an event I enjoy going to each yr.
    Looks like an unusual format michael.Do you not feel if you take the A2s from the main race it is going to leave a very small field of just A1s.
    And if you combine the A2/A3 riders you could have a crazy huge bunch.Not being even slightly critical here by the way,as its an event i really enjoy,just looks like the balance of the field sizes is going to be out of sync.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

dedocdude wrote: »
    Hi @michael196 - should that be A1/A2 in one event and A3 in another?

And Im guessing Frank's memorial trophy is only going to one rider - not to two separate race winners.

Good luck with the event, I have ridden it before and its a good one, I hope its well supported.

well spotted, thank you : copy and paste job.

Now the A1/A2 goes to 120K , A3 only to 100K and A4 to 80K .

wav1 wrote: »
    This is an event I enjoy going to each yr.
    Looks like an unusual format michael.Do you not feel if you take the A2s from the main race it is going to leave a very small field of just A1s.
    And if you combine the A2/A3 riders you could have a crazy huge bunch.Not being even slightly critical here by the way,as its an event i really enjoy,just looks like the balance of the field sizes is going to be out of sync.

Yep , you are right !. Corrected !!

michael196 wrote: »
    well spotted, thank you : copy and paste job.

Now the A1/A2 goes to 120K , A3 only to 100K and A4 to 80K .

Good man - and Franks trophy going to A1/A2 winner i guess --

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Thanks, I'm hoping to do this and just wanted to say that your providing such clear and comprehensive information in advance is much appreciated.

A1-A4 starting times yo update

A1/A2 at midday

followed by A3 at 12:06

followed by A4 at 12:12

Because the initial small circuit passes through the start line, with an estimated 20 minutes to cover the 11.6 km circuit,

Getting the A1/A2 and A3 off will require short intervals between races.

A4 start will depend on the timeliness of the previous races ( as the A1-A2 and A3 will pass back through the start line ).

road surface check today:

Road surface was resurfaced post the race in 2012.

Today, absolute minimum amount of potholes to highlight.

Sweeping next weekend. However Road pretty clean ( stones wise) today.

So an improved surface on 2012.

A1-A4 race starts revised, to go off at 4 minute intervals.

A1-A2: 5 laps plus half lap (5 x 22 : plus 11.6 = 122km)

A3: 4 laps plus half lap ( 4 x 22: plus 11.6 = 99.6 km)

A4: 3 laps plus half lap ( 3 x 22 plus 11.6 = 77.6 km)

good stuff ye are sounding very organised fair play - tell us a bit about the man himself, Frank O'Rourke. I remember Martin Gill telling me before, "He was a tough auld wh*re!" Its always interesting to hear about the people behind the names of these races. I didn't know him myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭531

Frank is better known as having been a racing driver than a cyclist. He won over 100 races in Mondello Park and was many times Dunlop Sexton Trophy winner and Irish Production Saloon car champion, usually in an Opel which his Ferrybank Motors (Frank O'Rourke Memorial Race sponsors) deals in.

I knew of Frank through an interest in motor sport so it was a great thrill for me to get to know him and race against him, albeit on a bike instead of in a car!

He rode the Rás in the early 60s a few times, I think, and was second on a stage into Wexford.

He came back to cycling in the early 90s and was centrally involved in reviving Wexford Wheelers and local racing along with Slaney CC's Pat Whitney and others.

'Tough auld wh*re' is a wonderful Irish expression that could mean anything. I know Martin meant it well. Frank certainly had a strong work ethic and a winning determination. He also did a lot for cycling in Wexford. He was a good mentor for cyclists half his age as he showed, by example, about speed, race craft and training.

I am open to correction on any of the above, or if you need more, just ask and I'll answer if I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

Thanks 531, good to get that information pre race. I didn't do the race last year but I rode down to it and watched the finish. There were directional signs from Oylgate directly to the sign on which makes a huge difference for first timers or people not familiar with the area.

Looking forward to this race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

road surface check today:

Road surface was resurfaced post the race in 2012.

Today, absolute minimum amount of potholes to highlight.

Sweeping next weekend. However Road pretty clean ( stones wise) today.

So an improved surface on 2012.

A1-A4 race starts revised, to go off at 4 minute intervals.

A1-A2: 5 laps plus half lap (5 x 22 : plus 11.6 = 122km)

A3: 4 laps plus half lap ( 4 x 22: plus 11.6 = 99.6 km)

A4: 3 laps plus half lap ( 3 x 22 plus 11.6 = 77.6 km)

Michael if you're going out sweeping , there is a lot of glass on the main road about a km after you turn onto it from carrigbyrne just before the start of the drag . Looks like someone dumped something there and the glass got spread across the road . Probably wouldn't spot it from a car .

Appropriate that Frank was involved in Motorsport considering the motorbikes that now have his name on his trophy, Sam Bennett, Rory Wyley to name a couple of past victors.

There's a FO'R race photo somewhere of some good riders, heads down, hammering away with Sam Bennett (a junior at the time) sitting up behind them eating a banana. He went on to win it.

Appropriate that Frank was involved in Motorsport considering the motorbikes that now have his name on his trophy, Sam Bennett, Rory Wyley to name a couple of past victors.

And the aforementioned Martin Gill.

fondriest wrote: »
    Michael if you're going out sweeping , there is a lot of glass on the main road about a km after you turn onto it from carrigbyrne just before the start of the drag . Looks like someone dumped something there and the glass got spread across the road . Probably wouldn't spot it from a car .

yep, saw that sheet glass today. Will need a hoover !!!! to pick it up.

Arthurdaly wrote: »
    Thanks 531, good to get that information pre race. I didn't do the race last year but I rode down to it and watched the finish. There were directional signs from Oylgate directly to the sign on which makes a huge difference for first timers or people not familiar with the area.

Looking forward to this race.

was wondering if anyone noticed those !!! will try make em bigger this year !!!

Darragh Zaiden and Martin Mezgajski (2nd) a few years back.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

What time does sign on close at, I couldn't make it down for 10 so just wondering what leeway there is?

seniors are off at midday, o u have untill 11:40 'ish

Underage 11 am so u have untill 10:40 ish

Ferrybank Motors have kindly announced additional spot prizes for each of the senior races.

Three spot prizes of a Thule 532 roof top bike carriers: one for each of the three races.

This is a very generous additional prize, and thank you to the Race Sponsors for these additional prizes.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Ferrybank Motors have kindly announced additional spot prizes for each of the senior races.

Three spot prizes of a Thule 532 roof top bike carriers: one for each of the three races.

This is a very generous additional prize, and thank you to the Race Sponsors for these additional prizes.

Now if I could convince the wife to let me take the car and I'd return in a few hours with a bike rackkk for 10euro, then we would be sorted.

Well done Michael,but are you trying to put WAV RACKS out of business.I'll have to rob them and hide them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭SACH Central

something wrong with me engine .........search engine !!!!

Apologies to Frank Grimes. the race start moved earlier , than what is posted here. Frank unfortunately missed the start. PLease let us know ur feedback on the race in general.

For those interested in the race results:

A1/A2 Top 8 Positions:

1st Dermot Radford, Tipperary Wheelers
    2nd Ed Barry, Planet Tri
    3rd Hugh Mulhearne, Iverk Produce Carrick Wheelers
    4th Eric Downey, Orwell Wheelers
    5th Geoff Sheehan, South Dublin Cycling Club
    6th David Early, Team Albion
    7th David Walsh, Slaney Cycling Club
    8th Martin Mizgajski, Iverk Produce Carrick Wheelers
    Prime: Martin Mizgajski, Iverk Produce Carrick Wheelers

Unplaced A2

1st Martin Gill, Wexford Wheelers
    2nd Trevor Robinson, Comeragh Cycling Club
    3rd Mehall Fitzgerald, Visit Nenagh
    4th Ciaran O’Conluain, UCD

A3 Top 8 Positions

1st Ciaran Campbell, Drogheda Wheelers
    2nd Shem Cullen, Iverk Produce Carrick Wheelers
    3rd Fintan Ryan, NRPT
    4th Shane Foley, Carlow Cycling Club
    5th Fergie Whelan, Adamstown Cycling Club
    6th Martin O’Brien, Comeragh Cycling Club
    7th Joe Kearney, Iverk Produce Carrick Wheelers
    8th Leonard Foley, Iverk Produce Carrick Wheelers
    Prime: Nick Coughlan, Barrow Wheelers

A3 Unplaced Junior
    1st Darragh Campbell, Drogheda Wheelers

A4 Top 8 Positions
    1st Anthony Harpur, Wexford Wheelers
    2nd Jamie Busher, Orwell Wheelers
    3rd Frank Doyle, Wexford Wheelers
    4th Mark Reilly, Lucan
    5th Michael Walsh, Barrow Wheelers
    6th Ger Lacey, Slaney Cycling Club
    7th Gary Morris, Wexford Wheelers
    8th Michael Stafford, Wexford Wheelers
    Prime: Mark Reilly, Lucan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Apologies to Frank Grimes. the race start moved earlier , than what is posted here. Frank unfortunately missed the start. PLease let us know ur feedback on the race in general.

Thanks Michael. Twas a bummer, but these things happen and the sunny southeast delivered some glorious sunshine so I still really enjoyed the training spin for a few laps. I really liked the course, great balance between short & sharp hills with some fast drags and straight sections and very few corners.

While it was a pity to see the strong break from one clubmate caught 1.5km from home, it was great to see another clubmate get 2nd.

Any day you get to cycle in sunshine in this fair isle is a pleasure, so for me it was a pity but not a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭King Kelly

Link to photos from this race on twitter from @liamruth

I've upload photos from the Frank O'Rourke Mem A1/2, A3, & A4 RR in Wexford today to http://pix.ie/LiamR

Thanks to Michael and the crew at Wexford Wheelers for the promotion.A long round trip inc driving with the race of 517km but had a great day.Delighted with the lads today and thats being totally biased.Im sorry but sometimes Im just a proud Dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

Enjoyed the a4 race yesterday, I didn't realise until got home how much elevation gain there was, if my garmin is correct there was almost 800m, all drags in fairness.

If the hill after the finish line with a right hand turn was a little longer then there would have been a selection but as it was I would say 70/80% of the bunch were there at the finish. Nice circuit though with some fast sections.

Grub back in the hall was amazing and easily the best at any event this year.

Weather was great and enjoyable day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭SACH Central

I rode the A4 race too. Great circuit, really well marshalled. I don't know if it was the smallish bunch or what, but felt very safe out there. No dangerous riding, no crashes, no slamming on the breaks etc.

I went for it from the start and managed to get away with an Iverk Produce Carrick Wheelers team mate and a guy from Lucan CC. We were away for the first lap and a bit. We were caught shortly after the narrow bridge. If another couple of lads came across to us we might have stayed away a bit longer but with the open roads and the wind it was tough going!

I, along with anyone I spoke to at the finish, was surprised with how lumpy the course was. I though for some reason, that it was pretty much pan flat!

Sign on really well laid out - no queuing, great food at the finish - easily the best of the year!! Only down side was no showers. All in all a really well run event. Thanks to Michael & Co.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Headed down for the A3 race myself, with two club mates.

Took it handy for the first half lap, sat comfortably in the middle of the bunch somewhere. Moved up towards the front coming up to the end of the half lap and watched Billy Purcell ride off the front, thought to myself it was very ambitious but admired such a brave attempt. Sat at the front until J Madone decided to try and get across to Billy, called me as he went past so jumped onto his wheel. We were swarmed by the bunch again coming up to the corner after the start of the first big lap.

Going up the first drag the pace lifted, and I felt under pressure, legs suddenly felt powerless (not tired, just couldn't push the pedals!). A lot of people were shelled here, but I just about hung onto the bunch. At some point in the first lap a break clipped off the front, and had taken over a minute of a gap out by the time we started the second big lap. I tried to get people working at the front, but was subject to Barrow Wheelers admirable teamwork every time. They had a man up the road. Every time I drilled it on the front, expecting a man to come around and help the chase, I would turn to see a Barrow Wheeler on my wheel again. I tried to knock it into the other lads heads that they weren't going to help with a man up the road, and eventually a couple of Orwellians realised and started riding strong.

A NRPT rider and one of the wavs tried to jump at one stage before we got out to the main road, and the BW team were so quick to close it down. It really was team work at its finest.

Back out on the main road, we came across a rider that had been shelled from the 3 man break....the Barrow Wheeler....now they were under pressure and started riding strong at the front! I was happy to sit in now and recover a bit. The above break must have disintegrated, and I think by the end of the third lap another of the break was dragged back in leaving one of them out on his own.

Another break of I think 3 lads went up the road and joined the remaining lad from the previous break, I was a bit annoyed at myself for missing it, but realistically I probably wouldn't have been able to contribute much, I was parched, drained both my water bottles and cramping slightly. I'm not used to riding in this heat. A few people tried to jump once the break was out of sight but they were closed down immediately every time.

I don't know what the lads in the break were at, but the gap was closed significantly coming back in to the finish, and they were back in our sights, despite no real organisation in the bunch. They held us off though and had a small sprint to claim the top few placings.

Thanks to the kindness of J Madone and Billy Purcell giving me a few mouthfuls of their drinks coming back in, I was feeling relatively good to try my hand at the sprint. Lads started moving up and I was sitting comfortably in the front quarter of the bunch. A Carrick Wheeler rode through the bunch and jumped off the front about 1km out. I considered following him but thought he'd be shut down...but he wasn't! Everyone was preparing themselves for the sprint and mustn't have noticed him jumping! I think he bagged 5th but not sure.

The gallop started and I was in a good place out to the right, still moving up in the bunch, then the front lads swerved to the right, the road closed in front of me and that was the end of it, rolled in mid bunch somewhere!

A tough circuit on a hot day, but very good all the same. Very well marshaled and very well organised! Hope to return next year for definite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Arthurdaly wrote: »
    Enjoyed the a4 race yesterday, I didn't realise until got home how much elevation gain there was, if my garmin is correct there was almost 800m, all drags in fairness.

If the hill after the finish line with a right hand turn was a little longer then there would have been a selection but as it was I would say 70/80% of the bunch were there at the finish. Nice circuit though with some fast sections.

Grub back in the hall was amazing and easily the best at any event this year.

Weather was great and enjoyable day out.

Agreed Arthur, the group got very stretched out on the final lap and I was up near the front, thought the elastic was about to snap but it came back together quickly enough. I've heard people say that the difference between A3 and A4 is that in those types of situations the select group will really drop the hammer to finish the job, but in A4 it often nearly gets away but not quite.

A good, well run race, and great food at the finish. High quality sambos and cake, went down really well. Finished in the bunch but went a bit early in the sprint and the legs completely gave out. Also made a tactical error about 2k out, leading the peleton up to a couple of riders who were off the front but weren't getting away. A pointless bit of energy usage! Looked a super-tight finish between a handful of riders from those photographs. Good to be back after missing a few weeks through one thing and another.

wav1 wrote: »
    Well done Michael,but are you trying to put WAV RACKS out of business.I'll have to rob them and hide them.

and one of your lads won a rack as the prime ...... the irony. Nice meeting you and thank you for coming over to say hello.

If you want another crack at the circuit.... It might be included in our 2 day in august.

We have yet to define the circuits for the wexford 2 day. The frank o rourke circuit might be incuded as one of the circuits ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

It's a great circuit, would certainly be very testing with tired legs!