Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a car for weekly 1000km commute

• 15-04-2013 11:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭

Hey Lads,

Similar thread on this already from some one else but rather than hijack it said i'd post my own.

I'm looking for a recommedation for a car, commuting 1000km/week (All motorway) Budget is 10K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Depends how old you want. Current shape Mondeo with a 2 litre tdci under the bonnet will do the job with comfortable ease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Diseased toe

Currently in a 2011, 1.3 diesel, back is broke going up and down in it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

Try a Prius for size and your back and if it fits put it on LPG .

Quite high seating position on these and relaxing to drive , ultra reliable, get one with cruise control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

520d i'm doing similar to you its comfort ye need

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

well, for a velvet type ride that your back will love you for..........this.......

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4195258

(but obviously not this particular one as the high miles, and the 2007 tax etc), but you get my drift....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

OSI wrote: »
    As frugal as a Prius might be around town. I can't imagine it's frugal at all doing nothing but motorway mileage.
    the essence of the benefit of a prius is that it stores the energy when you brake so you can accelerate from a stop using less (or no) fuel.

so on a motorway a Prius is simply a heavier than normal conventionally fueled car thanks to the batteries.
    Better off go for something designed for the job like a mondeo or BMW.
    Or the 1.5L diesel megane which is smaller but from runs on fumes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,182 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Pruises' suck

There i said it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

listermint wrote: »
    Pruises' suck

There i said it.

agreed, I think of insufferable tree huggers when I see one........:pac:

Had a 2005 Mondeo in a previous life, not a bad car

like the idea of the 520 but for 10K not sure waht I would get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,530 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Id want something comfy with cruise control if I were you, at that kind of mileage whatever car it is, isnt going to be worth much by the time your done. Id consider an E90 3 series or E60 5 series. Honda accord or mondeo might be other good options... just saw the below...

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Honda/Accord/DIESEL-C/34313626075098750/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

Audi A4/Skoda Superb - whichever vintage suits your budget. Got the A4 and it drives itself - no 'numbum/tiredness' after a long trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Id want something comfy with cruise control if I were you

This: cruise control, aircon, comfortable, supportive seats, a good range of adjustments to the controls to get a really good driving position. A really good audio system is a plus, too, and you want something that'll cruise fairly quietly at 120ish.

You'll be spending a lot of hours in that seat, and you want to arrive fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭TGi666

doing roughly the same in my 03 mondeo grand car using about €80 on juice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

Previous gen Accord will sort you right out, 2.2 diesel in them. Good for 50mpg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

600 miles/week you say?

I do it in a 94 Hilux surf :D

Electric Leather seats from some form of old 5 series in the front, 3400w of sounds in the back, brutal amounts of road noise + 27mpg.. = bliss:cool:

If I'd a brain in my head i'd be driving a hack for the comfort + wallet, something like a xantia on spheres, or a 406 dturbo.

No point spending big money on a motor for that kind of work imo, once it's fit for purpose and comfy thats all that really matters..

Id spend about 3k and keep the rest for a weekend warrior, or a few weeks in the sun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

Cheensbo wrote: »
    600 miles/week you say?

I do it in a 94 Hilux surf :D

Electric Leather seats from some form of old 5 series in the front, 3400w of sounds in the back, brutal amounts of road noise + 27mpg.. = bliss:cool:

If I'd a brain in my head i'd be driving a hack for the comfort + wallet, something like a xantia on spheres, or a 406 dturbo.

No point spending big money on a motor for that kind of work imo, once it's fit for purpose and comfy thats all that really matters..

Id spend about 3k and keep the rest for a weekend warrior, or a few weeks in the sun.

at 27 mpg , you are losing the price of a few weeks in the sun every year :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

mickman wrote: »
    at 27 mpg , you are losing the price of a few weeks in the sun every year :-)

True that, but despite my ramblings above, a holiday in the sun won't pull mini diggers and bowsers across muddy fields :pac:

What about a 1.5 Dci Renault Megane?