Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diesel estate for 2.5k??

• 13-04-2013 7:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭

Hey Lads,

I'm looking for an estate :eek:

Something cheap and cheerful that'll eat up the motorway miles 1000km/week commute.

I was looking at something along the lines of a passat estate or mondeo anything to avoid??

I had a quick look at a4's but some lads aren't taking their tablets 3.5k for an 02 with 210k miles pass Thanks. :eek:

So anyway anybody with a few tip please shout or if you know of one for sale all the better. I'm also considering picking one up in England either I work over there regularly so I've time to shop around for one.

Thanks.
    Fred

Jaysus Fred, that's some commute. That will cost over 100 a week ?

100 kms each way ?

I would have said maybe honda accord or Avensis, something that will actually take the miles without costing you a fortune to repair.

How about converting a petrol to LPG ?

I'm a big believer in LPG and Electric.

LPG over rattle box diesel any day !

You can get LPG for as little as 80 C/L in some places. 75C/L in summer.

What's your location ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

Jaysus Fred, that's some commute. That will cost over 100 a week ?

100 kms each way ?

I would have said maybe honda accord or Avensis, something that will actually take the miles without costing you a fortune to repair.

How about converting a petrol to LPG ?

I'm a big believer in LPG and Electric.

LPG over rattle box diesel any day !

You can get LPG for as little as 80 C/L in some places. 75C/L in summer.

What's your location ?

It's a bit of a spin alright but needs must.

Spent long enough sitting on my arse looking for work.

I actually drive passed one of those LPG places at kilcullen there. I'd be well up for that but it's to much to shell out at the min. Funds are more than tight to say the least.

I hadn't really looked at honda must check them out but budget is strict so they're more than likely out of reach.

It sure is in and around €100 a week just rolling over 5k a year :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I can't see you getting a good accord diesel for €2500 tbh.

Doing that kind of mileage the seats are important too.

Something like a V70

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭bigroad

Yes Fred i used to do s slightly longer commute.Well my best car was a toyota avensis td and i have to say its the most reliable car i have ever owned ,i then changed to a skoda octavia and while it was more economical it was less reliable than the toyota.If your on yhe motorway you want a car that can cruise along at 120kmh with the lowest revs showing.A 6 speed box is good for that but your budget is a bit tight for that.
    A passat 130tdi 6 speed is possible for your budget but they can give trouble.A old type bmw 320d 136 bhp is a good car.A vectra 2.0dti is a possible option.

I as thinking that about a 6 speed alright it's all motorway and main road stuff.

I was looking at a 6speed passat they seem to be few and far between. Did the 6 speed box come in around 03? I was looking at 01-02.

I'd be willing to break the savings jar if it was only a couple of hundred more for a 6speed.

Mileage wise, Would I be right in assuming 150kmiles is only when it's starting to stretch it's legs or is that when fly wheels etc should be getting changed?

I saw one passat on dd with 500k km's on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭bigroad

I think the 6 speed started in 01 but it could be 02.I think the flywheels can go at any time and nearly every car has that problem now.Yea i would have no problem buying one with 150k on it as most problems should have been sorted already.It would be nice to get some history with the car.There is plenty of second hand parts for them now.If you can afford the crazy tax,i would look at a volvo v70 2.5 tdi ,its a very strong car and a nice engine sound.
    Other than buy that a 2.0petrol passat and put it on lpg ,the whole deal would be around 2.5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

If I was driving 1000 km per week then comfort would be at the top of my list of priorities. Something like a Peugeot 406, Citroen C5 or Volvo V40 estate would be the most comfortable especially the C5 with it's suspension. The problem is trying to find one that isn't a POS at this stage of it's life.

Eg:
    View2-18394516.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4740790

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Dr Nic

I know im going to get laughed out the door here, but if you want a good diesel the 406 isnt bad. Ive had 3 of them, albeit in coupe forms and apart from the electric windows going a bit haywire i've not put a cent into them after about 80k miles and 4 years of driving.

Frenchies are as reliable as diarrhea, but the 406 was a good bit of stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

bazz26 wrote: »
    If I was driving 1000 km per week then comfort would be at the top of my list of priorities. Something like a Peugeot 406, Citroen C5 or Volvo V40 estate would be the most comfortable especially the C5 with it's suspension. The problem is trying to find one that isn't a POS at this stage of it's life.

Eg:
    View2-18394516.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4740790

You'd probably want to get at least €500/600 knocked off the price of that but they are an unappreciated car these days. Alternatively if comfort and relaxing surroundings are a priority one of these might do.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4643420
    Full-17900941.jpeg

Granted reliability won't be completely bulletproof but not that much worse than a passat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I agree the 406 is a bit overpriced but the cheap ones are generally cheap for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I agree the 406 is a bit overpriced but the cheap ones are generally cheap for a reason.

True enough

right lads had a quick look about and I'm starting to get an interest in this lpg craic.

What type of car would suit this best I'd be able to get a better spec petrol for my money and I could find that bit extra for the conversion.

Also any recommendations as to where to get a conversion done and are there any insurance implications?

Thanks for all the shout outs so far :)

Just a quick search but would something along the lines of this convert easily or am I barking up the wrong tree?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4752726

I was looking at this place and it seems to suit me both in location for fitting and filling. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Mr.Fred wrote: »
    right lads had a quick look about and I'm starting to get an interest in this lpg craic.

What type of car would suit this best I'd be able to get a better spec petrol for my money and I could find that bit extra for the conversion.

Also any recommendations as to where to get a conversion done and are there any insurance implications?

Thanks for all the shout outs so far :)

Just a quick search but would something along the lines of this convert easily or am I barking up the wrong tree?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4752726

I was looking at this place and it seems to suit me both in location for fitting and filling. :)

Would a decent LPG conversion not cost 1,500 to 2,000. Op if I was in your position with your budget I'd but a 1.9tdi octavia estate or a 406 diesel. My dad does over 2k km a week generally all over the country and he loves his octavia extremely economical to at least 55mpg on that sort of a commute. His is 2005 new model but even the old model is a nice car my uncles have had loads of them. Passats can be expensive to buy generally alot more than octavia's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭comanche_cor

Mr.Fred wrote: »

OP thread carefully with that car, it has changed hands in the last 3 months. I am on the look out for an estate at the moment and came across this and checked it out here: https://www.motortax.ie/PSE/start.do?page=welcome. I haven't gone to view it myself so it could be genuine but I'd look at it with my eyes fully open ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Touchè. Don't get burned like I did!

Get a 1.9TDi and it'll go forever :)

OP thread carefully with that car, it has changed hands in the last 3 months. I am on the look out for an estate at the moment and came across this and checked it out here: https://www.motortax.ie/PSE/start.do?page=welcome. I haven't gone to view it myself so it could be genuine but I'd look at it with my eyes fully open ...

thanks for that, I was only using it as a sample car. I hear some cars don;t take to well to conversion. I'm probably gonna pick one up in England anyway. done deal should be renamed dodgy deal. :)

Bpmull wrote: »
    Would a decent LPG conversion not cost 1,500 to 2,000. Op if I was in your position with your budget I'd but a 1.9tdi octavia estate or a 406 diesel. My dad does over 2k km a week generally all over the country and he loves his octavia extremely economical to at least 55mpg on that sort of a commute. His is 2005 new model but even the old model is a nice car my uncles have had loads of them. Passats can be expensive to buy generally alot more than octavia's.

The place I posted on is doing some conversion for around a grand. I'm not a fan of the old style octavia the newer ones are nice though.

I think all vw are over priced but the estates aren't very popular so the prices tend to be a bit less.