Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dodge neighbours...

• 12-04-2013 6:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭

well,
    have sum very dodgy neighbours few doors down and they have been there few years, with many residents trying to get rid and to no avail. however lately they've gotten worse, anti social, drugs and abuse. one woman in particular ya couldnt even repeat what was said to her its so vulgar! and yer man aint meant to even being living there...... i know that they are on housing list as currently on rent allowance here, the landlords a twat and dont wanna know..they were seemingly offered a gaff but fell thru due to an objection..everyone heads wrecked,frustrating scrimping trying to pay a mortgage and they runnin a muck payin 20bucks a week for a house:mad: any ideas how to get rid ???????????? frustrated, irritated, aggrivated etc etc etc .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

Few of the boys, a few gallybanders and they'll be gone quicker than a keg of Hoffman's down Bunker's hill boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭leduke

had a similar situation a few years ago with a right scumbag. the only difference was the landlord got rid of him eventually. if you can't get the landlord onside you might be stuck with him. if this is the case you have my sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

- Complain to Waterford City Council housing office
    - Ring the Gardai when something is going on
    - Complain to landlord
    - Complain to the Private Residential Tennancies Board (if no joy with landlord)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

- Complain to Waterford City Council housing office
    - Ring the Gardai when something is going on
    - Complain to landlord
    - Complain to the Private Residential Tennancies Board (if no joy with landlord)

+1 to this advice especially the PRTB if it comes to that, they have increased powers of late and can actually order a compensation payment to residents effected from the landlord. Its a powerful tool to use against 'I dont give a $hit' type landlords. Do make sure you have your complaints logged with the guards etc though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

Get the landlords home number ring him every single time there is an incident organise with your neighbours to do the same he will get the message .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭dickwhittington

cheers, sent the landlord ****loads a letters/phonecalls etc but he dont wanna know and as re the cops, keep em updated but apparently yer mans dangerous an all so if he gets wind a who reports it hes liable to set me house on fire!! mite check out the prtb actually....most of the street tried gettin em out at different times and came up short for same reasons!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭mozattack

It's always the landlords fault, eh?

Never the scummy tenants is it?

A joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭tankbarry

Of course its the tenant's fault the landlord obviously doesn't want any hassle but at the end of the day its his house so everything end's up with him. Keep notice of all incident's you see, report them every time to the gardai , landlord, council if you live in a council estate. After a while even though its not the landlords fault that there is hassle tell him you have kept note of all the hassle you have spotted and tell him that you are thinking of taking it further sometimes that works.

no its aprivate estate but tenants in question on rent allowance. the landlord has had complaints the last few years since they are here. he has apparently said that they like it here so if he makes em move out they wont and twill take him a year thru courts to get them out, and he'll get no money in that time blah blah. full of s**t...tis fairly annoyin and to be honest yer man staying there has a bad rep and people dont want him knowing their reporting him, which the landlord has done/is liable to do thus people are weary of gettin together and gettin em out once and for all unfortunately..ive heard things like if he knows he could come back and burn the house down etc. thats the reputation he has around here......sick of it meself, so dont care. ill do owt :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭shebzie

What area/part of the town is it we have something sim here but this is council houseing estate.
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Dick, as a matter of interest, what sort of antics does he get up to?

driving around like a lunatic, cars coming and going at a frantic rate, calling into his for whatever reasons, smoking dope in the street where kids are etc. has abused nieghbours e.g he told his kid to hit another young fella lately and when approached he spoke like an animal. unrepeatable to be honest but it was vile and to a young mother......the list goes on, anti social stuff and the like.....some bogey now! frustrating..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

when there is an issue arrange for all neighbours to call the guards / council at the same time. Its much easier to ignore 1 complaint than 15.

Footage of whats going on would also help. Get a diary and keep dates and times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

driving around like a lunatic, cars coming and going at a frantic rate, calling into his for whatever reasons, smoking dope in the street where kids are etc. has abused nieghbours e.g he told his kid to hit another young fella lately and when approached he spoke like an animal. unrepeatable to be honest but it was vile and to a young mother......the list goes on, anti social stuff and the like.....some bogey now! frustrating..

sounds like an ignorant pig, our taxes are paying for their rent allowance too, this country! i would say complain and complain, if he is smoking hash on the street call the guards. unfortunately, the welfare/state dependency culture we have means his kid will more than likely grow up to be exactly the same.

max ur right , makes me angry...everyone in the cul de sac here scraping to pay mortgages and their running a muck with a house we're paying for..sickening. dont help the landlords a twat and they're meant to b dangerous..appartently even the inspectors that call are warned to not call alone!!

ps hopefully the council r whoever deals with housing list etc MAKES them take a house somethin in the near future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Libby029

Well hopefully when they go they absolutely thrash the house (which most likely will happen) and the landlord has to pay a fortune to fix it.. then maybe he might be a bit more choosey about who he puts in the house in future.. in the mean time a nice bit of rotten fish down the drain pipe might do the trick!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Funfair

Libby029 wrote: »
    Well hopefully when they go they absolutely thrash the house (which most likely will happen) and the landlord has to pay a fortune to fix it.. then maybe he might be a bit more choosey about who he puts in the house in future.. in the mean time a nice bit of rotten fish down the drain pipe might do the trick!!!:D

I believe the HSE guarantees the landlord thehouse will be put back the same as they find it when the lease expires. So unfortunatelythose trashing the house will cost the tax payer and not the landlord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Funfair wrote: »

I believe the HSE guarantees the landlord thehouse will be put back the same as they find it when the lease expires. So unfortunatelythose trashing the house will cost the tax payer and not the landlord.

God I know someone from work has let their house out to the council for 14 years
    I really hope it's not that long in your case

It's terrible to be in that state god help ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 reach for the stars

well,
    have sum very dodgy neighbours few doors down and they have been there few years, with many residents trying to get rid and to no avail. however lately they've gotten worse, anti social, drugs and abuse. one woman in particular ya couldnt even repeat what was said to her its so vulgar! and yer man aint meant to even being living there...... i know that they are on housing list as currently on rent allowance here, the landlords a twat and dont wanna know..they were seemingly offered a gaff but fell thru due to an objection..everyone heads wrecked,frustrating scrimping trying to pay a mortgage and they runnin a muck payin 20bucks a week for a house:mad: any ideas how to get rid ???????????? frustrated, irritated, aggrivated etc etc etc .....
    If the guy isnt meant to be living with her then report her to the social you will find they will soon move on and set up somewhere else

hope so, seemingly they checked em out a few times and they were serious trouble and still there, whether their too much hassle or its just stories goin around i dunnno. either way il be crackin open the champers when they do leave ...keep the faith :(