Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I think this b*stard is gonna run off with my money..

• 11-04-2013 11:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭

Dear After Hours,

I've been subcontracted some work, an ecommerce website, from a guy in a local company.. Got 350 up front (deposit from client), and I have another 1k due to me once the site is done... BUT, I think the company that subcontracted the work is in trouble. Heard it on good authority that it's close to collapse. And I think that one of the directors of the company has been leaning on the client to get paid all of the money up front before the work is finished.. with the sole purpose of taking the money and running...

There's still a good bit of work to be done, and I dont want to do this work with trying to make sure that I get paid... I cant think of anything, bar ringing the client directly myself, which I dont think will work.. Any suggestions?

Yours Meh!..
    JA.. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 Amronoc

Three fiddy lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Break his legs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Welcome to the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

ride his missus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Down tools and go to the pub until you know more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭FoxyVixen

Stop working on the website until you get in touch with the client. Not rocket science!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Amronoc wrote: »
    Three fiddy lol

That Loch Ness monster was spotted in Leitrim a few months back and it would be something he'd do alright - the rascal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Why would he/they want a website if they're about to cease trading?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Amronoc wrote: »
    Three fiddy lol

Well it was actually €375.20, but I didnt want my thread to be treated like a humble brag..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Okay lads, here's the update.. Told yer man I'm not prepared to keep working on the project without some sort of guarantee that I will get paid.. He said he was not prepared to give me any such guarantee, so I told him to do it himself...

I find a wood screw in my rear tyre this morning... Now it could be completely random and coincidental, but I'm thinking of breaking his jaw anyway.. opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Okay lads, here's the update.. Told yer man I'm not prepared to keep working on the project without some sort of guarantee that I will get paid.. He said he was not prepared to give me any such guarantee, so I told him to do it himself...

I find a wood screw in my rear tyre this morning... Now it could be completely random and coincidental, but I'm thinking of breaking his jaw anyway.. opinions?

Pics or didn't happen..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

yes. this sounds like a plan.

approved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Yeah, stop drinking turps with Valium chasers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Dear After Hours,

I've been subcontracted some work, an ecommerce website, from a guy in a local company.. Got 350 up front (deposit from client), and I have another 1k due to me once the site is done... BUT, I think the company that subcontracted the work is in trouble. Heard it on good authority that it's close to collapse. And I think that one of the directors of the company has been leaning on the client to get paid all of the money up front before the work is finished.. with the sole purpose of taking the money and running...

There's still a good bit of work to be done, and I dont want to do this work with trying to make sure that I get paid... I cant think of anything, bar ringing the client directly myself, which I dont think will work.. Any suggestions?

Yours Meh!..
    JA.. :mad:

Are you proficient in dreamweaver by any chance or perhaps in 'geocities site builder '

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Crack him just to the left of his chin at about 60% arm stretch and drive on through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Big Bottom

I said it before in this forum that vilence never solves anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

You should go all CSI on his ass before breaking his jaw.

Are there fingerprints on the screw? If not, rewind some satellite footage to see if the same guy was anywhere near your car before you found the screw. Failing that, get a witness testimony from somebody completely unrelated to ensure you have your guy. Then break his jaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Mr Tibbs

Go into any meat factory near you and buy a fresh horses head sneak into his house when everyone is in bed and place in in his bed next to him. I bet you will have a quick cash payment within an hour of him waking up. If this don't work send a hitman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

He said he was not prepared to give me any such guarantee, so I told him to do it himself...

You're definitely right to stop working on it.

But don't resort to violence.

Hack his mainframe instead and download a virus from the systems admin tray inbox which will trigger the bio-response mechanism in his machine's internal mainguard and automatically feck with his enviro controls which will make his office just a tiny bit too hot.

Hah! That'll show him.

HACK HIS MAINFRAME!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Mr Tibbs wrote: »
    Go into any meat factory near you and buy a fresh horses head sneak into his house when everyone is in bed and place in in his bed next to him. I bet you will have a quick cash payment within an hour of him waking up. If this don't work send a hitman.

Save yourself all that hassle and leave a Tesco burger on his pillow. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Revenge!

Screw his misses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Mr Tibbs

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Ha Ha Ha very good. :D

Now I wonder what's for dinner. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

So, Johnno, where do you want us to put the bail money? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭schnitzelEater

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Or a poo. If you don't want to spend the money on a burger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Or a poo. If you don't want to spend the money on a burger.

What if he buys the burger, eats it, and then leaves the poo on the bed?

@OP: How was the initial contract worded, was there no guarantee of payment upon completion of the work already in place?