Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a used car

• 09-04-2013 9:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭

Hi Guys,

Long time reader, first time poster to this forum....

Anyway, thinking of buying a new car. My current car (first car) I've had for over 2 years with very little trouble (Suprise suprise, it was a cheap FIAT STILO...shock horror). Occasional flat battery after I've been away and 2 of the ignition coils went, cant forget the dogedy electronics but nothing serious with them. After 2 years the car really does owe me nothing. Just wanted to plug a good word for fiat stilo's ha...(but really I am thinking of staying away from used Italian cars for now and TBH over priced VW Golfs)

Anyway I am looking at buying a new (used) car. I am looking at spending between 3-4k so obviously not a huge budget. ATM im looking at Opel Vectra's, mainly the 1.6 petrol but also the 1.8 petrol as I here the 1.6 is highly underpowered. I wonder does anyone have any experience of these cars and what there like? I am also open to any suggestions you guys might have??

I've been looking around a bit and I am quiet open to any car in and around 1.4-1.8 petrol. Not really considered diesel as I only have a short (15min) drive to work each day and the usual everyday driving other then that. So any suggestions would be great in and around that budget.

Thanks guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd be looking at the Mazda 6 to be honest, superior to the Vectra in every way I can think of.

Something like this:

View2-18904412.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4839310

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭BGozIE

That's nice ye, some of them aren't badly priced for a fairly reliable brand. I hadn't actually thought of them. That one in particular looks fairly clean with a nice low mileage. Will have a look at them.

Cheers :D

I went to view a Mazda 6 and in the same garage a Vectra, and I actually think they may both be a bit big for what I need. I'm now thinking of maybe getting a hatchback. Does anyone have any recommendations?

I'm not really interested in Golfs or A3's as I feel there highly over priced for what you get.

What do people have to say about the 147?

Or I am also looking at astra's, I think this is a nice one;

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4476904

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

1.8 Civic? Look great and are bulletproof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Zcott wrote: »
    1.8 Civic? Look great and are bulletproof.

Not for 4 grand though. Presume you're talking post 06?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Not for 4 grand though. Presume you're talking post 06?

Yeah, didn't see the budget in the original post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

A Corolla is what id be going for. You will probably get something newer like a mazda 3 tor the same money but the Corolla is a better car imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Shamrock841

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4852238

Just found this on donedeal, too good to be true at that price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Matthewjohn

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4852238

Just found this on donedeal, too good to be true at that price?

Not really, it seems about right.

Just thought the price was very cheap...

Yeah thats what I thought, just wondering if anyone has any thoughts as to why its cheap!

Maybe that is actually miles instead of km.

nope its km! viewed the car, couldnt fault it, just the price is putting me off it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

amazed nobody has suggested an avensis yet

Avensis for that money (3-4k), not so sure...although if I haven't bought a car by the end of the month that budget may go up 1k...so far the cars I've viewed haven't been great value for money that being said need to stay away from garages prob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

What about an Seat Leon 1.4?
    View2-18802128.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4821011

you could get a nice avensis for that money. Got mine a year ago for 2 and a bit thousand and my old car which the garage scrapped. Had about 80K on her and I have put about 30K up in the last 12 months and apart from a clutch she has been perfect.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4817383
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4711427
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4850487
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4756464 looks very nice
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4785770 nice
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4717101 nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

BGozIE wrote: »
    My current car (first car) I've had for over 2 years with very little trouble (Suprise suprise, it was a cheap FIAT STILO...shock horror).

One of the most underrated cars ever, if you ask me. Ok, looks a bit hideous, but it's better than most people think :)
    BGozIE wrote: »
    I'm not really interested in Golfs or A3's as I feel there highly over priced for what you get.

Could not agree more.

What do people have to say about the 147?

It's a nice driver's car, essentially a 156 with a different bodywork. The back seats might be considered a bit cramped. No particular problems, the front suspension is the car's weak spot (as on the 156) with the bushings considered sort of a "consumable".
    Or I am also looking at astra's, I think this is a nice one;

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4476904

Can't wrap my head around the Astra; I kind of considered one at some point. The fact is that they look horrendous in picture, however much, much better in the flesh :)

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    One of the most underrated cars ever, if you ask me. Ok, looks a bit hideous, but it's better than most people think :)

Very happy too see someone else share that opinion:)

It's a nice driver's car, essentially a 156 with a different bodywork. The back seats might be considered a bit cramped. No particular problems, the front suspension is the car's weak spot (as on the 156) with the bushings considered sort of a "consumable".

Getting more and more drawn to the 147, you get alot for the money. And I know its not a car you can just get in and drive, it will need attention. ATM that isn't a negative for me when you way up how they look/drive...suppose its a bit of passion over sense

Can't wrap my head around the Astra; I kind of considered one at some point. The fact is that they look horrendous in picture, however much, much better in the flesh :)

Ye I do agree, but the more I look, the more I think this over a 147??? No dice....

About the avensis, dh001, I'm generally shocked at some of the ones you've shown (the last 3) really clean cars with low mileage for a good price. I'm shocked at the value, particularly when you look at the likes of the corolla...I do suspect there reliability is possible worth the asking price and I would have thought the avensis would be fairly over priced too.

randy hickey, that's a nice clean Leon, but would you take that over a 147? I just feel you get way more car in the 147 for the same money?
    I may be of a ridiculous mindset, but I don't really go for the sensible choice in cars, I do think you need to like what you drive. But in fairness if your car spends more time in the garage then on the road im sure my opinion would change...

I would have to say I'm leaning towards a 147...Those avensis are really clean and look great value for money...real decisions to be made

Thanks all for the opinions BTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Amouar

dh0011 wrote: »
    you could get a nice avensis for that money. Got mine a year ago for 2 and a bit thousand and my old car which the garage scrapped. Had about 80K on her and I have put about 30K up in the last 12 months and apart from a clutch she has been perfect.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4817383
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4711427
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4850487
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4756464 looks very nice
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4785770 nice
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4717101 nice

Great cars.

Avensis seems to be the most popular car for taxi driver ( At least in Dublin, I always see avensis taxis), therefore I'd assume that they are very reliable cars? Anyone own an avensis and want to share their opinion on the car?

Amouar wrote: »
    Great cars.

Avensis seems to be the most popular car for taxi driver ( At least in Dublin, I always see avensis taxis), therefore I'd assume that they are very reliable cars? Anyone own an avensis and want to share their opinion on the car?

I have one [1.6 petrol from 03 with new body that came out in apr 03] and now have about 112K up on her and she never misses a beat. Good on petrol. She had 80K on her when I bought her, was just NCT'ed and had a full service history from an independent mechanic. The car gives me about 40 mpg but I am easy with my right foot and use dipetane with every fill up. Only bad thing about the car is if you want to change a light bulb there are a few bits of plastic to be removed - probably takes 10-15 mins.

She doesnt use a drop of oil between services. Some of the early models had a design flaw (piston rings i think) which lead to serious oil consumption but these car had a new engine block fitted by toyota.

Car is quite comfortable steering wheel adjusts up and down and in and out and this makes a big difference to tall lads.

Apart from myself, my boss, his wife, his daughter, my housemate and two colleagues have avensis' and none of them have any problems. All are over 100K now and going strong.

If I had to buy another car in the morning it would be an avensis without a doubt.

I did replace the clutch not too long ago - but you expect that in any car after 100K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Amouar

It appears that the Toyota's are currently being recalled over issues with airbags.

as are honda mazda and nissan - believe it or not most car companies have recalled cars

Hi All,

Bit of an update...still haven't bought a car, have seen quite a few mazda 3's but all have mileage higher then id like. I've also counted out a 147, even though they drive so well, but I've decided against getting one.

Right now I have a decision to make between a 04 Toyota Corolla 1.4 HB
    and a 05 Audi A3 1.6 - both are 3 door.

There is 500 euro in the difference, the Audi is more expensive. They are both in the 60k miles.

I'm slightly leaning towards the corolla for maintenance costs and maybe reliability, although im sure there both fairly reliable. The Tax and insurance for the corolla is also cheaper. Both have NCT until next year.

If i'm honest the only things the Audi has at the moment over the Corolla is I prefer its looks, it also has the slightly bigger engine but I know its no flyer (think its 102 bhp and the Corolla is approx 97bhp)

Any opinions on the above?

PS I know I said I wasn't considering an Audi, but very little else appealed to me.