Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pharmacy needle exchange information?

• 07-04-2013 1:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭

Hi, I'm doing a presentation for college and was just wondering does ANYONE know where I could get information on the new pharmacy needle exchange initiative.... I cant seem to find any information on it, apart from that no one wants needle exchanges in their area and pharmacists will have to be trained properly to dispense clean needles and dispose of dirty ones... Anyone have any clue, even an online newspaper article on it.... Its all a bit hush hush and thats no good for me :) Sound. x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Ring any of the Addiction Services Clinics tomorrow, some there will be able to answer your questions or put you in contact will someone who can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

While this thread is here...

Does anyone know where I'd get a vintage sink plunger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

There was a three year programme to be rolled out in late 2011 , with pharmacys being recommended by the hse for it or by asking about it themselves.Though I never heard anything much about it .I think its outside Dublin only.

I can't understand why every pharmacy doesn't offer this service. The training can't be that onerous.

If all pharmacy's did it then there wouldn't be worry about individual ones attracting all the addicts for miles around, and there wouldn't be the not-in-my-back-yard knee jerk reaction.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Does Grainne Ni Seoige still do the news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

While this thread is here...

Does anyone know where I'd get a vintage sink plunger?

Ring the vintage sink plunger services tomorrow, they should be able to answer your questions or at least put you on to someone who can.

antodeco wrote: »
    Does Grainne Ni Seoige still do the news?

Where's she gone actually? Have seen her for ages the loverly celtic temptress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Chop Chop

Thread needs more brass monkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Seachmall wrote: »

Why do people have to be so condescending?

Here you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Oh funny, I see we have a comedian here...:rolleyes:

Why do you have to be so condescending?

Candie wrote: »
    I can't understand why every pharmacy doesn't offer this service. The training can't be that onerous.

If all pharmacy's did it then there wouldn't be worry about individual ones attracting all the addicts for miles around, and there wouldn't be the not-in-my-back-yard knee jerk reaction.

In some situations you might need to be able sit and talk to the addict, maybe recognise damage to veins etc and would you let the pharmacist or the assistant do the exchange ?

You couldn't use her as a plunger , you silly boy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭92Grainne1992

Some counselling training or qualification would be needed then yes?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Op did you ever hear of google?

Some counselling training or qualification would be needed then yes?

No , there's no actual qualification needed to work in a needle exchange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

None wanted near me, thanks OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 daisy_days

I did a presentation on the IPNE for college this year. All branches of Doc Morris are involved in the program and any pharmacy that displays the logo. They have to discreet due to the stigma attached that is why you will only see the logo on the doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

mikemac1 wrote: »

What would you prefer, dirty needles being left places on roads?

No info on it anyway, just that it was planned to be started up. Should be grand anyway :)

mattjack wrote: »
    In some situations you might need to be able sit and talk to the addict, maybe recognise damage to veins etc and would you let the pharmacist or the assistant do the exchange ?

My understanding is that the scheme is limited to a straight swap. It's not a counselling or advice service.

daisy_days wrote: »
    I did a presentation on the IPNE for college this year. All branches of Doc Morris are involved in the program and any pharmacy that displays the logo. They have to discreet due to the stigma attached that is why you will only see the logo on the doors.

What's the story with the system here, is their a charge for the exchange? Or is it a free service like the one supplied by the Addiction Services and places like MQ etc?

Is the IPNE nationwide ? would there be many pharmacies involved ?

You are based in Ballyer or am I mixing you up. I ask as there is a neddle exchange there.

Anyway why would you not want people to be getting treatment. I doubt you live in an addioct free zone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Aye, Ballyer

It's a free service aimed at reducing blood diseases like hepB&C. You go in to the pharmacy ask for a pack. Which contains •single filter syringe with an attached needle a stainless steel spoon 5ml citric and some water. Along with this you get a little case where you put in your used needle. It cannot be reopened once the used needle is in it. You then take that container back to the pharmacy where they dispose or incinerate the box and its contents aka the used needle.

Are you limited to one pack ?

My understanding is that this service is similar to the concept of an emergency exchange. They are only getting enough for one injection.

Unlike a full exchange where apart from getting up to a weeks supply or more, and availing of other available services.

So as it is a minimum intervention it would not need a lot of training.

For a more indept intervention I would imagine the person would be referred to a needle exchange woth a full range of services available.

It's called a 'one hit kit' but I'm sure you could get as many as you need so long as you return the black container to be disposed of back to the pharmacy. I guess it would depend on the pharmacist. Here is a video from a pharmacist in cork about the program. http://inef.ie/?p=6099

Aye, Ballyer

There are a few exchanges running there throughout the week. I have not seen any problems caused by the location of exchanges there.

Odysseus wrote: »
    My understanding is that this service is similar to the concept of an emergency exchange. They are only getting enough for one injection.

Unlike a full exchange where apart from getting up to a weeks supply or more, and availing of other available services.

So as it is a minimum intervention it would not need a lot of training.

For a more indept intervention I would imagine the person would be referred to a needle exchange woth a full range of services available.

Its nice to know about it.I think its a great idea.

Is it every doc morris pharmacy doing the needle exchanges? What does the logo look like on the door? :)

If you go to this website http://inef.ie/ you can see the logo it's the one with the two arrows. I am in the south of Ireland and any branches I have seen have the logo displayed. I also noticed it on some branches of Sam McAulys

Its nice to know about it.I think its a great idea.

I agree, I can remember the days when people had to sharpen their spike on a mirror.

There was another well known chemist who would do a one for one excange, but he charged a pound a go IIRC that was in the 80-90s.

People don't understand the amount of lives that neddle exchanges hae saved over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

It's annoying alright.
    I know this is only a message board but you have to laugh. Because if people said what they say on here, but in the real world, they would get a punch to the face :pac:

It's all hiding behind your keyboard crap.

I agree, I can remember the days when people had to sharpen their spike on a mirror.

There was another well known chemist who would do a one for one excange, but he charged a pound a go IIRC that was in the 80-90s.

People don't understand the amount of lives that neddle exchanges hae saved over the years.

I think it's a great program with a proven track record in reducing blood Bourne diseases. Its not about promoting injecting rather than identifying that there is a problem here. And therefore accepting that even if people are not at a place where they are ready to seek treatment we can try to help stop the spread of these diseases. This will help take the strain off our health system and is good for society as you won't be seeing needles discarded about the place.

That's jut my opinion on the program though

Thanks a million lads, ye are lifesavers :)

It's annoying alright.
    I know this is only a message board but you have to laugh. Because if people said what they say on here, but in the real world, they would get a punch to the face :pac:

It's all hiding behind your keyboard crap.

It's the law of the digital jungle man. Betta mind your 1's and 0's around here bro or someone might write something irksome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

There are a few exchanges running there throughout the week. I have not seen any problems caused by the location of exchanges there.

When people say ballyer, do they mean Ballymun or ballyfermot?

In this case it is Ballyfermot.