Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NUIG clubbing scene

• 05-04-2013 4:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

Is there many clubs that would play electro/house type music?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Downstairs in Electric Garden (Factory?) has some decent stuff on Wednesdays. Carbon also have the odd good DJ booked. There's not really any venues that are dedicated to any one scene (Roisin Dubh maybe) because there's more money in appealing to students who want to hear chart music.

Rhythm Scheme in Kellys was exceptional but I think might have finished up on Thurs. It was also better before it got super popular (would ya listen to him..), last few nights I went was just absolutely rammed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Rhythm Scheme in Kellys was exceptional but I think might have finished up on Thurs.

Nah, Ed's just off travelling, Byrno and Jimmy are carrying on with a new drummer.

This thread should have been renamed rather than moved...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Nal

The clubbing scene is Galway is absolutely dire unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Connor793

Thanks alot for the replies. Its just im coming from belfast to galway and im afraid the nightlife might be a bit too cheesey and not very varied f you get me! Im considering going over to newcastle in england instead now, might enjoy the nightlife better over there! Can any one tell me their feelings on galway overall? The uni, the city etc. thanks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

If you know the right sports you wont find cheese. Karma is the commercial club in galway. Bentley plays ****e call me maybe remixs. so avoid these at your own peril.

Carbon and Electric are quiet similar. Both play a mix of house, electro, hip hop, indie and drum and bass. Both Generally have two different rooms open. So theres always a change of scene even in the nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Connor793 wrote: »
    Im considering going over to newcastle in england instead now, might enjoy the nightlife better over there!

lol... Choosing your uni based on the Citys nightlife? :rolleyes:

empacher wrote: »
    Carbon and Electric are quiet similar. Both play a mix of house, electro, hip hop, indie and drum and bass. Both Generally have two different rooms open. So theres always a change of scene even in the nightclub.
    Is the Drum area of Carbon still open? It's been closed every time I've been there, even when it's pretty busy.
    ciano1 wrote: »
    lol... Choosing your uni based on the Citys nightlife? :rolleyes:
    Not sure what the face is for, for someone who goes out a lot and enjoys music it's a sensible factor. Would you :rolleyes: if someone said they chose Galway because they love rowing and it has the Corrib?

You're here for 3 years minimum during some of the most socially active years of your life. If you hate the nightlife you're not going to get along too good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

What about choosing it because it's where you'll get a good education?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭matthew2008

work hard play harder......
    from my experience i know i wont work as had if im not enjoying my life as well. im the exact same as op, except was originally guna go newcastle but guna go galway now due to price. was just wondering is corrib village within walking distance to most of the main clubs in galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

from my experience i know i wont work as had if im not enjoying my life as well. im the exact same as op, except was originally guna go newcastle but guna go galway now due to price. was just wondering is corrib village within walking distance to most of the main clubs in galway?

We walk into town most nights we're heading out but it does take like 20mins. Grand if you've had a few drinks ;)

But a full taxi costs about 2 euro I think per person so it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

You can walk from Dublin to Galway so that's a silly question.

It will take 20-30 mins from Corrib Village to walk to most clubs depends which clubs and which end of Corrib. If you're in high heels or drunk or both, it'll take longer. I guess whether it's within "walking distance" is relative.

You can walk from Dublin to Galway so that's a silly question.

It will take 20-30 mins from Corrib Village to walk to most clubs depends which clubs and which end of Corrib. If you're in high heels or drunk or both, it'll take longer. I guess whether it's within "walking distance" is relative.

I think most people in this country would have enough cop on to figure out a rough guide of what would be considered 'walking distance' for a night out

We walk into town most nights we're heading out but it does take like 20mins. Grand if you've had a few drinks ;)

But a full taxi costs about 2 euro I think per person so it's grand.

cool, 20 mins sounds good to me. and is bringing people into your house as strict as is made out on the corrib village website? iv booked there already so please say you can bring people in haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭witnessrenegade

Wouldn't be arsed living in Corrib village, as regards good clubs, Factory, Electric are good haunts, I keep well clear of the rest as I wouldn't be a fan of any of the music they play, 110th Street and most pubs down near the Roisin have some very good Dj's most weekends and Bank Holidays, Electric and the DJ Soc book some good gigs also, haven't been out in the Toon before but I thought it would be poor for gigs, Manchester would be one of the best from what ive heard

Wouldn't be arsed living in Corrib village

Why? Just out of curiosity. Have you lived there? I know a lot of people who wrote off Corrib straight away, ended up living there and loved it. I live there and I love it.
    cool, 20 mins sounds good to me. and is bringing people into your house as strict as is made out on the corrib village website? iv booked there already so please say you can bring people in haha

Well, it depends. Security don't generally start asking people for ID before 10ish, give or take, there is no exact time really I don't think. So before then anyone can go in. Then if you still want to get someone in you can sign them in which allows them in until 12, you have to sign them out before 12 though or you get a fine.

Also if you want a friend to stay over for the night you just have to get a form signed by your housemates and hand it in then the friend can stay what night! But sure, if you get them in before 10 then can stay if you keep it on the down low.

So the only thing you can't really do is have someone back after a night out, but of course, there are ways around that.

Wouldn't be arsed living in Corrib village, as regards good clubs, Factory, Electric are good haunts, I keep well clear of the rest as I wouldn't be a fan of any of the music they play, 110th Street and most pubs down near the Roisin have some very good Dj's most weekends and Bank Holidays
    Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭dropping_bombs

Where?

110th street is a club night, it's a reference to Bobby Womack's "Across 110th Street" They play in Electric once a month and in the Roisin once a month too.

Ah right, I've probably been to it in that case. I thought there was a club I hadn't heard about :eek:

What's the story with the Bentley anyway? I heard it was much the same as Cuba but I haven't heard all the crusties raving about it like they did Cuba.

Ah right, I've probably been to it in that case. I thought there was a club I hadn't heard about :eek:

What's the story with the Bentley anyway? I heard it was much the same as Cuba but I haven't heard all the crusties raving about it like they did Cuba.

It's an absolute sweat box, I avoid it at all costs!

This.

Cuba must be turning in its grave! :(

ciano1 wrote: »
    This.

Cuba must be turning in its grave! :(
    lol because Cuba wasn't....

Cuba was before my time unfortunately :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I loved Cuba but I f*cking hate the bentley. Mostly because the music is dire. Carbon, Electic and the Roisin are my favourites.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Carbon, Electic and the Roisin are my favourites.

^^ This, though only go to Electric when the full club is open. Factory tends to be a bit sh*t.

going to factory can be quite scary at times, alot of people on edge pulling some weird faces

Eh what?

What are the different parts there anyway - is Factory the smaller area with a couple couches and a bar? Electric being the full CPs area?

Eh what?

What are the different parts there anyway - is Factory the smaller area with a couple couches and a bar? Electric being the full CPs area?

I'm making a reference to narcotics,

factory is the bottom room, thats very dark. playing electro, deep house. Garden is the smoking area with funk, soul, and old hip hop. the main area is the area thats rarely open.

I'm making a reference to narcotics
    Why would that be scary? Much more likely to have some drunken eejit take a swing for you or start trouble than someone on MD.
    factory is the bottom room, thats very dark. playing electro, deep house. Garden is the smoking area with funk, soul, and old hip hop. the main area is the area thats rarely open.
    Ah I see. Talk about confusing.

Both Garden & Factory are good spots these days. I can imagine the main area being full of the the same types who filled CPs and probably populate Karma now!

Does downstairs in the Bentley still have similar music to Bar 903? Was fairly decent back then and it still looks quite nice now.

Why would that be scary? Much more likely to have some drunken eejit take a swing for you or start trouble than someone on MD.

Ah I see. Talk about confusing.

Both Garden & Factory are good spots these days. I can imagine the main area being full of the the same types who filled CPs and probably populate Karma now!

Does downstairs in the Bentley still have similar music to Bar 903? Was fairly decent back then and it still looks quite nice now.

I only find factory scary, when i've only ebing drinking ;) probably more of a jealous vibe :P

Nope the bentley went off in their own direction, and by my guess seeing as it opens less and less will be shut come summer time.

Ah I hope it doesn't close, it employs a lot of people. I don't I've been to club k since I was 17. Is it still full of scummers?

Nope the bentley went off in their own direction, and by my guess seeing as it opens less and less will be shut come summer time.

I think the Bentley was originally supposed to be a reincarnation of cuba. Afaik, the owners even tried to retain the cuba name but couldn't for some legal reasons.

A few weeks before it was due to open, CP's closed. I guess they saw a gap in the market for a cattle-mart type of club. Any hope of cuba retuning was quickly killed that night when I heard Rihanna being played on the top floor! :(

Electric has the potential to be a 'something for everyone' type of club. That last Bizsoc event there was pretty good when they also opened Halo.
    They had the usual chart sh*te on downstairs in Halo and live music upstairs.
    In the main part of Electric they had classic hip-hop and generally older tunes and factory were playing their usual electro-ish stuff and the garden/smoking area had a random mix of music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭xEmily2011

Bentley will not be closing any time soon. There are MASSIVE acts planned right through the summer and loads more to come in next semester too! The Original Rudeboys are there next week, and there is LOADS more to come!

As for the sweat box comment, all clubs get really hot and sweatty when there's over 1000 students in there! Carbon is the exact same like!! If you go into the club early, you'll see there is air conditioning there too!

As for comparing it to Cuba, i was never there as Cuba, but like any club....the DJ has to appeal to you and realistically, house music, dance music, club bangers, commercial music....Massive Live acts from country & world wide...i dont know what else the club can offer, along with the amazing drink promos like!!

But by all means, please feel free to offer suggestions on ways to make the club more appealing to YOU :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭xEmily2011

Connor793 wrote: »
    Is there many clubs that would play electro/house type music?

The Bentley have House music from time to time with different DJs in, I know Residence bring massive house djs every month and then DJ CLC has up-and-coming djs in with him on Friday nights, then Saturdays is Ladies Night with a dj in the club and a different dj in the Bar...then Wednesdays have usually got DJ OzzG in the club and he plays hip-hop music, thursdays have DJ Benzo in for priority, Monday has a range of different djs in and covers a range of different genres when Titanium Ents are in!!

There are also loads of massive acts coming up over the summer, including John O'Callaghan, The Original Rudeboys, DJ HYPE & Big Daddy Earl and also Bongoloids the drummer from the Beastie!! There is LOADS more coming up too, so dont give up hope on the Bentley yet!!

xEmily2011 wrote: »

As for the sweat box comment, all clubs get really hot and sweatty when there's over 1000 students in there.
    bentleys capacity is just under 800, carefull now or i'll calll the fire inspectorr ;)

xEmily2011 wrote: »
    But by all means, please feel free to offer suggestions on ways to make the club more appealing to YOU :)

Do you work for Bentley out of curiosity?

In fairness the heat levels are off the charts in the Bentley compared to most places.

We tend to go to Carbon most nights out, although there is a lot of crap music the drink promotions are excellent and there are always a few classic tunes thrown in the mix. Maybe it's just me but I would find Karma and Carbon far better in terms of heat. Bentley would have a reputation as a sweat box, well, amongst my friends anyway!

No disrespect to yourself, I'm a first year and isn't Carbon known as a 1st year spot?

When is JOC going to be in Bentley?

I'm 21 and in 3rd year and I still go to carbon. I don't think anywhere is a "first years club". Its usually impossible to tell the difference between a first year and a fourth year when you're hammered and its dark.

MadYaker wrote: »
    I'm 21 and in 3rd year and I still go to carbon. I don't think anywhere is a "first years club". Its usually impossible to tell the difference between a first year and a fourth year when you're hammered and its dark.
    First years tend to act like even bigger eejits than the rest of them.

I can possibly, to my shame, vouch for that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Eogclouder

I find the only appealing places these days to be the Roisin and Electric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Wow, no one has mentioned Coyotes yet, shame on ye:pac:

Rhythm Scheme have just being announced for Oxegen

https://www.facebook.com/oxegen/posts/10152309428555260?comment_id=28069081&offset=0&total_comments=68&notif_t=share_reply

Alot of people in college consider it the best monthly live show :)