Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First time user

• 03-04-2013 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭

Well my Joyetech Ego-c starter kit arrived today. I had previously just took a few puffs off a cig-a-like and was impressed with how much like the real thing it was.

First impressions today aren't great, Firstly it's huge!! I'm nearly certain there's smaller batterys I can get though? Secondly The draw isn't great at all I'm not getting a whole lot off it even though I'm taking long pulls (5-6secs) and the throat hit leaves alot to be desired, On the cig-a-like I was happy with the way it felt and felt satisfied after it, But with this I'm still bullin for a fag after taking a good few tokes from it.

Also it's making me cough whenever I take a deep drag and it's not a nice sensation its's like I'm breathing in steam (I basically am, I know. Maybe I'll get used to that)

Would I be right in saying that a stronger E-liquid would help with the problems I'm having? The one I got is 11mg regular tobacco flavour (tastes nothing like tobacco it's very sweet)

I only smoked about 10-12 rollies a day even less some days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Themadhouse

I tried the cig lookalikes last yr and they really didnt do it for me at all.

Got an ego t kit after xmas and never looked back.
    I needed something that was not similar to a cig, something to break the habit of smoking. I got 24mg nicotine liquid as I was afraid to get a lighter one. I was a Marlboro light smoker, about 15 a day.
    I do find there is little throat hit with most that I have tried but found that for me that doesnt matter its more about the flavour.
    I would try a higher nic juice and some different flavour too. You might be surprised!

With the cough I found it was the way I was inhaling. I was smoking it like a cigarette. Now I take a long slow drag and let it linger before inhaling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭unblvlblkult

@baraca the ego-c starter kit you have does it use those little white or black translucent cartridges that you fill with liquid and push down into the pin? If so, I really think there are more user friendly and better performing systems out there.

A higher nicotine juice and a clearomiser for your battery might be a better solution for you. If the battery size is a real issue there are eGo mini's you can get. Mind though that they won't last as long so you'll need a couple to get you through a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

@baraca the ego-c starter kit you have does it use those little white or black translucent cartridges that you fill with liquid and push down into the pin? If so, I really think there are more user friendly and better performing systems out there.

A higher nicotine juice and a clearomiser for your battery might be a better solution for you. If the battery size is a real issue there are eGo mini's you can get. Mind though that they won't last as long so you'll need a couple to get you through a day.

Yep, it does. Is this what your talking about? http://www.e-smokeireland.eu/product-p/mini-vivi.htm

Do I just screw that onto my battery and fill it with juice and that's that? Is it a better vape in your opinion?

I've just ordered a few 20mg juices so hopefully they will help.

baraca wrote: »
    Yep, it does. Is this what your talking about? http://www.e-smokeireland.eu/product-p/mini-vivi.htm

Do I just screw that onto my battery and fill it with juice and that's that? Is it a better vape in your opinion?

I've just ordered a few 20mg juices so hopefully they will help.

Thems the ones. I think the evod has been getting some good reviews recently. Compared to the eGo C system the draw is much better, use is less fiddly better vapour production and flavour are better.

There can be issues with clearos, judging by threads n here recently and other people prefer cartomizers or drippers or what have you but these are definitely a better bet than what you have. 20mg is high and should satisfy any nic and TH needs in the vast majority of devices I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Thecageyone

The ego cart/tanks are terrible. I started with the ego-C too, after using cig-a-likes for 2 months. I was happier with the 'hit' but they started leaking like mad, burning, giving dry hits etc ... had a few really frustrating days while awaiting the clearomizers I ordered. They are 10x better, and actually easier to use! Those little carts pull the nails off of ya when trying to get them off! then they don't perform well. Get some MT3 clearo's or even the new evods, you'll never use those things again.

I got my first vivi nova today and it blows the others I've tried away. But it looks a bit strange on the ego batt's. You want something a little chunkier for that. The mini might work better though.

The ego cart/tanks are terrible. I started with the ego-C too, after using cig-a-likes for 2 months. I was happier with the 'hit' but they started leaking like mad, burning, giving dry hits etc ... had a few really frustrating days while awaiting the clearomizers I ordered. They are 10x better, and actually easier to use! Those little carts pull the nails off of ya when trying to get them off! then they don't perform well. Get some MT3 clearo's or even the new evods, you'll never use those things again.

I got my first vivi nova today and it blows the others I've tried away. But it looks a bit strange on the ego batt's. You want something a little chunkier for that. The mini might work better though.

I'll order one tonight so, Would the evod or the mini nova be a better bet??

Also do these screw straight into the atomizer on an ego-c?

Sorry about all the questions but I'm learning a lot here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭was.deevey

Regards the size - you cant really go much smaller without sacrificing battery life. Simply not enough juice in even 2 mini-egos IMHO to satisfy even a moderate user for half a day.

They screw directly onto the battery. Not sure which is best clearo myself. MT3 is another option. Get replacement heads from same shop you buy the clearo from as there can be different manufacturers making the "same" device so I have a suspicion that mini nova heads from one supplier may not match mini nova heads from other.

was.deevey wrote: »
    Regards the size - you cant really go much smaller without sacrificing battery life. Simply not enough juice in even 2 mini-egos IMHO to satisfy even a moderate user for half a day.

Which cartomizer would you recommend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

I started today too with an ego twist battery and t3 clearomiser. Had 2 cigs this morning while the batteries were charging and I've had no real desire to have more since.

I'm only using 12mg juice (gummy bear flavour, pretty nice) and its doing me fine nicotine wise. I've only used about 1.3ml of juice to replace the 15 or so B+H I would have smoked (been smoking roughly 10 years). I tried some 20mg juice but it was real rough and not nice.

This setup is good because you can see how much juice you have all the time, plus you can change the voltage on the battery to suit your juice. Its not expensive either, about €20 for the battery and clearomisers are only a fiver or so.

I am getting a bit of an irritated throat but other than that I'm delighted with the whole thing.

They screw directly onto the battery. Not sure which is best clearo myself. MT3 is another option. Get replacement heads from same shop you buy the clearo from as there can be different manufacturers making the "same" device so I have a suspicion that mini nova heads from one supplier may not match mini nova heads from other.

So the clearomizers have an atomizer attached?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭sept09baby

T2/T3 or mini vivi nova would be my recommendation.

You'll get used to the size of the batteries surprisingly quickly. You won't even notice after a few days

So the clearomizers have an atomizer attached?

Yes they are an atomizer and tank combined. The replacement heads have a heating element and wick which generally screw into the clearo. The tanks fits around this which you fill with liquid and the wick soaks up the juice in the tank and feeds it to the heating element. Push the button on your battery to heat the element and vapourise the juice. Simples

Thanks for all your help, So it's just the heads I'll have to replace on these

Exactly... See pic of kanger @link below. Head is on the left. They should come with at least one installed.

When buying replacement ones lower ohm ones will heat up more. When starting I preferred low ohm heads on my eGoC batteries as I preferred a warmer vape.

http://www.e-smokeireland.eu/product-p/kangt2.htm

The evods or MT3 are cheaper, I'd suggest buying a couple of either, and some replacement coild heads - they are only about €2 each, cheaper than a whole unit by more than half. You can take a coil head out, rinse it out, leave it to dry and use a new one, instead of having to wait or buy another full one.

Never mind about how much juice they hold, they're so easy fill!

The novas are great, but pricier. I paid €11.50 for the vivi nova, but .. it did come with 3 coils, all different ohms. I'll just adjust the watts for each, but I'm now on a Vamo - if I used it on the twist, I'd just down the voltage for the lower ones.

If you only use ego type batt's, most clearos will fit, I've not found one yet that doesn't. That is good news. But I wouldn't go for the bigger nova types on ego batteries. Stick to the Kanger clearomizers.

Try a few, take a chance, but whatever type you get get some spare coils for too. And I guarantee, once you try them, you'll not use an ego atomizer/cart again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭StickyIcky

vivi nova is the best in my opinion, least problems. evod is great but can gurgle. boge cartomisers (stainless steel type) in a tank are great but some tanks suck and you need to get a carto punch to make a hole in them yourself too, buy 2-3 cartomisers at least because you'll probably feck the first 1 or 2 up, plus you need to make sure the cartomiser is properly charged first before using it or it will burn and be rubbished.

With a vivi on an ego you really want a cover for it. Looks a bit ... odd on there otherwise. But the vivi is great.

yeah just get the little ego thread cover adaptor yoke and it looks grand

Can I stick another beginner question in here since there's some good info floating around.

When I filled my t3 this morning the juice was pretty much clear in colour but now its gone very dark amber brown with still about 1ml left. Is this normal? Or a sign I'm doing something wrong? I'm still using the same battery since this morning too and it seems to be going fine.

Its an ego twist set to 4.2V.

Juice can discolour depending on a few variables. Mine used do more so on an old head. I' see the wick start to discolour close to the coils. What juice and does it still taste ok?

I've learned to steep my juices as I get them in now. I find that helps a bit. Certainly they taste better after a few days in a press. But otherwise, they can clog up a little just sat in a tank, no matter the type. Give it a shake :) Make sure to put a finger over any openings! J.I.C

It's wingnuts gummy bear from e-smoke ireland. Yeah it still tastes fine so its probably ok.

I'll stick the other sample bottles in a drawer so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭sept09baby

Sweet juices tend to go like that a lot. Think a lot of it is due to the heat. Shouldn't affect taste so you're ok

EGriff wrote: »

When I filled my t3 this morning the juice was pretty much clear in colour but now its gone very dark amber brown with still about 1ml left. Is this normal? Or a sign I'm doing something wrong? I'm still using the same battery since this morning too and it seems to be going fine.

Its an ego twist set to 4.2V.

I've found this especially with some of my home made flavours which I add a lot of flavouring too. Especially the sweet ones.

So at a guess I'd say it's like sugar caramelising or something. Like it wouldn't happen if I lowered the concentration of the flavouring.

To be honest I'd love to hear the actual explanation for this.

As far as vaping being safe goes, I believe it's a million times safer than cigs, but I'd still like the be totally assured the e-liquids I'm vaping are the safest possible.

I'd happily pay a few extra euro to know the e-liquid I vape are lab quality and all the ingredients have been tested fully.