Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Name change procedure

• 02-04-2013 7:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,169 ✭✭✭

Hello

I got married recently and my other half wants to change her name.

Is they any central place to do a name change or any ideas where one has to change a name

Or do you have to do the name change at multiple places

e.g. Revenue, passport, guards, voting register, household bills, drivers license etc

We are just a bit lost as to where to start and who exactly we need to be contacting. Do we need to engage a solicitor etc ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

In Ireland you just change it legally through 'common usage'. So you just contact each place individually and change it, some places just take you at your word, others require a copy of the marriage cert. I'm about halfway through, my passport runs out next year so once that's changed I'll change it everywhere. I did my drivers licence last year so had to do car tax, insurance to all be same name. I've done the credit union but not the bank, and all medical stuff. It would be nice if there was a central place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Jellyjelly

Hi Obi

Its only a tradition in Ireland that the lady takes her husbands surname. You don't physically have to go to an office to change it. Any legal forms will ask for surname and maiden name and she just completes these forms the way that you wants the name to appear.

You have two choices you can change everything straight away or you can wait for things to expire for example driving licence or passport, as you have to buy a new one as you can't amend it.

Regards

Jelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,169 ✭✭✭obi604

In Ireland you just change it legally through 'common usage'. So you just contact each place individually and change it, some places just take you at your word, others require a copy of the marriage cert. I'm about halfway through, my passport runs out next year so once that's changed I'll change it everywhere. I did my drivers licence last year so had to do car tax, insurance to all be same name. I've done the credit union but not the bank, and all medical stuff. It would be nice if there was a central place!

Thanks for that

Would you have a list of the things you have changed so far or need to change.

Thanks for that

obi604 wrote: »
    Thanks for that

I kind of looked at it like groups of things. So drivers licence/car tax/car insurance, gp/physio/vhi, credit union was stand alone. When I do passport ill do banks/visa card/revenue/social welfare. I've done one utility bill.

It will depend on the person and their own usage. Some people have their name in more places than others.

To be honest I am interchangeable with my single and married name. I'm mid degree and my other academic qualifications have my single name so this one will too. Married women in Ireland often use both or either. It's a organic process with me, I change things as they come up, but as some things impact others I end up doing small groups at a time.

I kind of looked at it like groups of things. So drivers licence/car tax/car insurance, gp/physio/vhi, credit union was stand alone. When I do passport ill do banks/visa card/revenue/social welfare. I've done one utility bill.

It will depend on the person and their own usage. Some people have their name in more places than others.

To be honest I am interchangeable with my single and married name. I'm mid degree and my other academic qualifications have my single name so this one will too. Married women in Ireland often use both or either. It's a organic process with me, I change things as they come up, but as some things impact others I end up doing small groups at a time.

Thanks for taking the time to reply , very helpful.

No probs, hope it all goes smoothly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Thanks for that

i changed mine in

College - Free
    Drivers licence - free
    bills - free
    bank - free, cert needed
    pps office - free
    car tax - free, cert needed
    register of electors - free

garda id - fee
    passport - fee, cert needed

if i think of more ill add them :)

hoodwinked wrote: »
    register of electors - free

Ooh - theres one I never thought of! Thanks for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Roustabout

Here is a list that I did after I got married. There may be more but I'm working my way through these for the moment!
    Work
    Revenue
    Doctor
    Dentist
    Utilities
    Electoral register
    Bank account sole
    Bank account joint
    Savings account
    Credit Union
    Mortgage
    Life assurance
    Passport
    Driving Licence
    Gym
    Mobile phone
    Credit card
    Union
    Pension companies
    Car insurance
    House insurance
    TV licence
    Store cards

Hope this helps :)

Roustabout wrote: »
    Here is a list that I did after I got married. There may be more but I'm working my way through these for the moment!
    Work
    Revenue
    Doctor
    Dentist
    Utilities
    Electoral register
    Bank account sole
    Bank account joint
    Savings account
    Credit Union
    Mortgage
    Life assurance
    Passport
    Driving Licence
    Gym
    Mobile phone
    Credit card
    Union
    Pension companies
    Car insurance
    House insurance
    TV licence
    Store cards

Hope this helps :)

It does help, thanks.

Feck me, some amount of places to change a name !

It does help, thanks.

Feck me, some amount of places to change a name !

Of course, Id keep one bank or credit union account in my single name - just in case :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

Just a quick question on this, is it worth applying for a new driver's licence and paying the fee to have one form of photo ID in your married name? My passport has about 7 years left on it so I don't necessarily want to fork out the fee for that again. The driver's licence renewal fee is less than the passport one.

Have you encountered any problems having your driver's licence in your married name and your passport not in your married name? I guess the only problem I am thinking of at the moment is remembering to book all flights in your single name until you change your passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

bovril wrote: »
    Just a quick question on this, is it worth applying for a new driver's licence and paying the fee to have one form of photo ID in your married name? My passport has about 7 years left on it so I don't necessarily want to fork out the fee for that again. The driver's licence renewal fee is less than the passport one.

Have you encountered any problems having your driver's licence in your married name and your passport not in your married name? I guess the only problem I am thinking of at the moment is remembering to book all flights in your single name until you change your passport.

You don't have to pay to change your name on your drivers licence. I changed mine in January and it was free. The waiting time can be up to 4 weeks though because there's a demand for the new licence and they're made in one place.

Thanks for that info. That is good news! How did you fair out with driving though during that time? I presume you need to send your old licence in to them so you're without a licence. There is still a 4-6 week wait at the moment, I had to ring them recently about another question and there is a recorded message on their machine telling people about the delay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I applied in the tax office and the guy there photocopied my old licence and gave me a receipt. He said that I should be okay if I had them in the car with me and that the Gardai are aware of the situation. I wasn't stopped in that time though so I had no issues.

bovril wrote: »

It just so happened that my drivers licence was set to expire last year, so I just renewed it in my new name, at the cheaper rate (its gone up since January). I didnt realise you could name change it for free, thats handy to know.

The only possible issue I came across was booking a car rental while booking flights but Hertz said that if I brought my marriage cert it would be fine - as it happened the trip got cancelled so I dont know how smooth it would have been.

The only possible issue I came across was booking a car rental while booking flights

Thanks, hadn't thought of that one.