Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor for Pulling digger

• 01-04-2013 6:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭

for the last few summers ive been getting a good bit of work for myself and the digger 3Tonne but unfortunately ive had no way of moving it my self ive always relied on people to move it for me so my question is would the likes of say
    an international 784 or massey 35/135 be good enough for pulling it only be short distances & how would i go about insuring my self on it as im only 18 have a car and full license but jeep to pull digger would cost way too much on insurance thanks for any help

also if you could recommend any small cheap tractors that would do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Fella near me does it with an older 784.. Seems no problem.. Actually he has a twin wheel tipper trailer for behind it too and collects small loads of stone from the quarry too, gets to charge for that too so it increases cash flow too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevinhalvey

i dont have a big budget atal but every summer i always find some work with it . what about things like reliability? what kind of tractor should ibe looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

I pull one behind a ford 4000. I have a 35 as well but I would be worried about the braking power on steep hills on an unbraked trailer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

i dont have a big budget atal but every summer i always find some work with it . what about things like reliability? what kind of tractor should ibe looking at?

fair dues to you if you are only 18. what sort of work are you getting with it and how do you advertise etc?

mainly drain cleaning, digging foundations road making through fields land drainage any groundworks really grown up doing them so know the basics, have been loading a muck spreader for one farmer for the last 2 years hoping again this year he loves having me do it much faster & cleaner loading have had no advertising or anything its all been word of mouth so far but hopefully that will change when i have the ability to move machine myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Figerty wrote: »
    I pull one behind a ford 4000. I have a 35 as well but I would be worried about the braking power on steep hills on an unbraked trailer.

lots of people think only of the pulling power, if you pull you need to stop too. is there brakes on the trailer? if so then how are they piped to the tractor? older tractors dont have a hydrulic trailer brakes tied into the tractor brakes so rely on manual braking using the spool valves. I would have a look around. unless you are doing any field work than then you wont need a 4wd. id go with a small 4 cyclinder yoke about 70-80hp. gives you a bit of safety on the road. A smaller tractor would be fine but they can be a bit light up front, i remember drawing spuds with a 3000 and a dexta when i was in my teens and they were fine until i came to any hills.

plenty of lads on here swear by zetors, i'd be a ford man myself. if you do find one in your budget then beware, get soem one who knows a bit about tractors to check it out 1st. if your driving on the road you'll need the lights, brakes, gearbox and steering to be in good condition. there does seem to be good value on on small 2wd tractors these days as plenty of people are looking to trade up to a 4wd so they can stick a loader on it for feeding bales so they should be something there in your budget.

yeah was looking at some zetors alright they seem to be cheaper than than the fords. i have 2 options for trailers have an old one sitting in the yard could clean that up and use that or have an ifor williams aswell which it is usually pulled on behind a jeep/van , i dont think it wud be doing field work really be all just pulling digger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

used to drive diggers and often thought if you had a dump trailer that doubled as the digger carrier it would be very handy.you wouldnt be back and forth for a dumper often times it would handy to be able to shift a few loads of stuff .might be down the line for you but 165/4000 would do grand but brakes wouldnt be the best in 135 s /3000

keep going wrote: »
    used to drive diggers and often thought if you had a dump trailer that doubled as the digger carrier it would be very handy.you wouldnt be back and forth for a dumper often times it would handy to be able to shift a few loads of stuff .might be down the line for you but 165/4000 would do grand but brakes wouldnt be the best in 135 s /3000

neighbour has a small track machine (a bit bigger then a mini digger). he has a dump trailer as well and tows the low loader behind the dump trailer. Ran an extenstion of the brake and light cables to the back of the dump trailer. Buts thats another step down the line. right now id say your proably just looking for a way of getting from A to B. Have a look at the trade-ins in the local dealers. They will be only too happy to get them off the fore court. They might even service and fix them up for you too, though you might end up spending a bit more. That said it might be money well spent to make sure you have somehting that doesnt break down after a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

yellow50HX wrote: »
    neighbour has a small track machine (a bit bigger then a mini digger). he has a dump trailer as well and tows the low loader behind the dump trailer. Ran an extenstion of the brake and light cables to the back of the dump trailer. Buts thats another step down the line. right now id say your proably just looking for a way of getting from A to B. Have a look at the trade-ins in the local dealers. They will be only too happy to get them off the fore court. They might even service and fix them up for you too, though you might end up spending a bit more. That said it might be money well spent to make sure you have somehting that doesnt break down after a week.

I saw a tipper trailer some time back with the ramps at the front board.
    Drop the trailer and then drop the ramps, down across drawbar with machine. There you are, tractor, tipper trailer and machine all in one go.

It looked home customised, and I wondered if the front board was on a ram as it would be too heavy to handle. He seemed to have a 6-7 ton machine with him.

Thought it was a good solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

bbam wrote: »
    Drop the trailer and then drop the ramps, down across drawbar with machine. There you are, tractor, tipper trailer and machine all in one go.

It looked home customised, and I wondered if the front board was on a ram as it would be too heavy to handle. He seemed to have a 6-7 ton machine with him.

NC Engineering in Armagh do such a thing, I doubt that the word 'cheap' applies though:

bbam wrote: »

a lot depends on the height of the trailer floor and the required ground clearance for the axels. it would be a high lift to get a track machine into most dump trailers, you could need pretty big ramps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Just make sure you get something common and easy to get parts for.
    Have a chat with your mechanic before you buy and have him check it over

I'd of been thinking of a ford 4610

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭zetecescort

it will be way down your list of priorities but you can't beat a bit of comfort, even just a basic radio if you'll be spending a fair bit of time in it.

best of luck, great to see a lad with a bit of drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

i have a 3t kubota and i move it on a ifor 10ft plant trailer which has brakes. So if your buying a trailer either buy a trailer for tractor with brakes or buy a plant trailer that has brakes attached on the hitch.

i say 60hp would pull the digger. My auld lad use to have a 6911 zetor for turf and it would pull 5 or 6 ton but was light on the front. stay away from 135 to low to road and them dry brakes. Maybe get wet brakes.