Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael O'Leary - Not such a bad ba$tard?

• 01-04-2013 4:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭

Nice story to hear today: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/horse-racing/21997219
    Ryanair boss Michael O'Leary has donated 200,000 euros to a fund for paralysed jockey JT McNamara.
    The amateur jockey is paralysed in hospital after suffering a fall during the Cheltenham Festival last month.
    O'Leary announced the gift after his stable's horse Akorakor won a race at the Irish Grand National meeting at Fairyhouse on Easter Monday.
    Akorakor won a point-to-point bumper race ridden by amateur Jane Mangan, who was unseated at Cheltenham last month.
    Mangan had been in tears 17 days earlier at Cheltenham on Gold Cup day when her mount Oscar Delta unseated her in the latter stages when victory seemed assured in the Foxhunter Chase.
    McNamara suffered serious neck injuries a day earlier and was taken to Frenchay Hospital in Bristol, where he remains pending transfer to the national spinal unit at the Mater Hospital in Dublin.

Yes, we all know O'Leary is loaded and "can afford it" but the fact he did this and the difference it will make to JT and his family is immense. Well done to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭6541

Here Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Why didn't he make an anonymous donation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

He does also. We just don't hear about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Don't start with that....Is it not better that a public donation was made, rather than none at all?

Buzz Killington

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Because he had guaranteed to buy the winning horse in the race for 200k, but when won of his own horses won the race he decided to give the 200k to the JT fund. It wasn't really feasible to make it an anonymous donation in the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

Maybe he did / will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

You're damned if you do and you're damned if you don't. I'd like to think you're joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Because he's a successful businessman who knows how to stimulate people and situations to best effect...he knows that the publicity attached to this may well attract further funding and/or publicity to JT Mac's situation....Well done O'Lerary sez I,and fcuxk the begrudgers :D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭clickhere

I dont think JT McNamara will care which way he donated the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

Why should he?

Why is it always with the famous or the rich that they should keep their good deeds quiet? Does it make us plebs feel better that we can keep thinking they're a bad shower?

People are quick enough to call him a heathen when he has the audacity to add an extra €5 to a €10 flight to London but he gives a man €200k and he should keep that quiet so we should in no way think well of him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭todolist

O' Leary made air travel affordable for the ordinary Joe.He's a hero.Those ba$tards in aer fungus would still be ripping us off only for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Last year one his horses won a race sponsored by Ryanair, he gave all the prizemoney to a hospice.
    He does things like this on a personal relativley frequently, its his own money no Ryanairsand fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I believe the man is well-known for his generosity in giving to charity.

Same with JP McManus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Last year one his horses won a race sponsored by Ryanair, he gave all the prizemoney to a hospice.
    He does things like this on a personal relativley frequently, its his own money no Ryanairs and fair play to him.

It's also worth noting that when he sez he has no real interest in Aeroplanes,he's talkin the truth.

The Aviation Game is a very close knit one and attracts a far higher percentage of those with a dedicated interest,than,for example,Bank Managing,Busdriving or Car Sales...

O'Leary has in the past made no secret of being bored to rigidity at various high level Airline Industry gatherings where the Lads get to talk tech ad nauseum.

It appears the exalted one's know everything there is to know about the capacity of a 737-800's macerators,but absolutely nothing about breeding cattle or horse-racing,both of which pastimes are O 'Leary's boat floaters.

As one of Irelands most high-profile businessmen,O'Leary gets more than a few approaches for funding and the rest,not all of which are told to fcuxk off either...;)

I reckon much of the sour-puss responses are all too typical of the Traditional way we regard succesful people in Ireland,but sure EVERYBODY hates Ryanair,etc etc ...whilst their 80+% load factors keep proving that EVERYBODY,as gaeilge,usually means mé féin !

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

He does also. We just don't hear about them.

How come I've never heard of these anonymous donations?