Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have a passion in life?

• 31-03-2013 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭

Well do ya punk?

.......Me not so much, I have lots of interests but tbh I'm average or maybe a little above average at almost anything i have turned my hand to (thats about the only remarkable thing about me imo) but I've never been outstanding at anything or really passionate about something to the point that it makes it a joy to wake up in the morning or look forward to something for ages beforehand or motivates me to excel etc

I was going to exclude being passionate about your kids or spouse etc but I suppose thats not fair and a reflection on me more than anything

So do you have a passion and if so what is it and why and would life be worth living without it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Uh, I shoot birds at the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

I go to the zoo and throw poo at the monkeys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Fruit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

Fruit.

All fruit? or specific types of fruit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

i suspect dangleberries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

amacca wrote: »
    All fruit? or specific types of fruit?

Just passion fruit.

I used to have a passion for fashion, then TnaG got a hold of my idea. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Uh, I shoot birds at the airport.

Feathered ones ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Life itself for me is a chore, i hate waking up each day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Weathering

Travelling and it doesn't have to be outside of Ireland. Nothing better than heading off with a bit of extra money in your pocket not knowing what antics you'll get up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭hadepsx

life is my passion,
    that and pussy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Tom_Cruise wrote: »

That Scientolgy shite not all its cracked up to be ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Shouting incoherently at passing traffic.

Spying on the neighbours.

Playing Fifa.

Baking different types of bread.

Writing threatening letters to Irish celebrities.

IN THAT ORDER!!!

WINNING.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

mattjack wrote: »
    That Scientolgy shite not all its cracked up to be ?

Something like that.

Tom_Cruise wrote: »

Tom cruise "grow up" ha only messing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭scwazrh

Im exactly the same as you op.Ive never been over the top about anything.When ever I try at something it goes great but I loose interest real quick.Even with work I find that I'll be really interested and try hard for a couple of weeks then do very little for a few weeks and that get interested again and restart the cycle.
    I pick up a hobby go 100% at it for a while and then justdontbother with it.ive no long term interests in sports or anything similar and even friends have to make all the effort to keep in touch with me.

I mentioned it to my doctor about 15 yrs ago and he said that it is a fairly common issue with people suffering from depression but who are trying to fight depression via the old adage of " sure I'll be grand tomorrow".My wife just says I'm lazy , which is probably true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 295 ✭✭joetoad

Just to win at life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

i suspect dangleberries

Suspect them of what ???

Trespass

scwazrh wrote: »
    Im exactly the same as you op.Ive never been over the top about anything.When ever I try at something it goes great but I loose interest real quick.Even with work I find that I'll be really interested and try hard for a couple of weeks then do very little for a few weeks and that get interested again and restart the cycle.
    I pick up a hobby go 100% at it for a while and then justdontbother with it.ive no long term interests in sports or anything similar and even friends have to make all the effort to keep in touch with me.

I mentioned it to my doctor about 15 yrs ago and he said that it is a fairly common issue with people suffering from depression but who are trying to fight depression via the old adage of " sure I'll be grand tomorrow".My wife just says I'm lazy , which is probably true.

That all sounds eerily familiar I have to say!

I often thought there must be something out there that really floats my boat though, its just a case of finding it...it always seems to me that a lot of people have real passions and interests in life rather than just pastimes + they excel at something or work hard to become very good at something that really interests them...hence the thread

If its not too personal, what did your doc suggest or did he suggest anything out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

.... but I've never been outstanding at anything ....

I was going to exclude being passionate about your kids or spouse etc but I suppose thats not fair and a reflection on me more than anything

Great thread.

I don't think you need to be outstanding at something for it to be your passion. I am passionate about cooking.

The cooking started about 20 years ago for me and in that time the passion grew and grew (and doesn't show any sign of stopping).

Most people I know think I'm a brilliant cook but they're wrong because I'm at best a slightly above average cook.

The reason they think this is because I bang on about cooking a lot and I watch cookery shows like mental and collect cook books (and also the are philistines with the palate of professional dung tasters).

The point is your passion and your talents don't have to be the same thing. I have about 40 more years to get great at cooking as long I'm passionate (i.e. not bored) about it, can't wait to take up the banjo soon as well :).

That all sounds eerily familiar I have to say!

I often thought there must be something out there that really floats my boat though, its just a case of finding it...it always seems to me that a lot of people have real passions and interests in life rather than just pastimes + they excel at something or work hard to become very good at something that really interests them...hence the thread

If its not too personal, what did your doc suggest or did he suggest anything out of interest?

Oh dear,
    It took me so long to write my post I didn't realise the thread had taken a bit of a serious turn.

I reckon a passion is exactly like a hobby, just something you do to use up free time, but unlike a hobby it doesn't get boring for you after a while.

If you haven't got one , no bods, keep on you might find a passion, if you do have one fair play to you (but take a tip from me, don't bore the bo**ix of your regular mates about it, whatever it is there's a club for it and you can discuss there)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Boobs. Knockers. Tits. Sex.

stmol32 wrote: »

The point is your passion and your talents don't have to be the same thing.

Fair point.......but you do have to be passionate about something to invest the time and energy to get really good at it, like you with your cooking (and don't tell me you are not a great cook - I can literally feel the enthusiasm for it in your post, you may not think you are but you probably stand head an shoulders above most people/non professionals)

I just think a lot of people have something like this in their lives...things as diverse as mountain climbing / air suit flying / target shooting all the way to historic coin collecting etc and I suppose I would like to understand it as I like even enjoy a really wide range of stuff and do them all on and off but I'm not head over heels with any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Boobs. Knockers. Tits. Sex.

Dolls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I'm not sure I'm passionate about it but I really enjoy reading fiction and I really love travelling and discovering new places and not having enough money to go anywhere right now is a form of Chinese torture for me. Hopefully that'll change soon. I'm not a mad muso head but the music I like, I really, really like.

Passionate though - besides from certain people, I don't think I've found my passion yet.

Fair point.......but you do have to be passionate about something to invest the time and energy to get really good at it, like you with your cooking (and don't tell me you are not a great cook - I can literally feel the enthusiasm for it in your post, you may not think you are but you probably stand head an shoulders above most people/non professionals)

I just think a lot of people have something like this in their lives...things as diverse as mountain climbing / air suit flying / target shooting all the way to historic coin collecting etc and I suppose I would like to understand it

Hah cheers OP, you're good people.
    What I'm getting from posters on this thread is "is there a difference between a hobby and a passion"

I think the difference is after doing a hobby for a while you might say "that was fun for a few weeks, the Latvian folk dancing, but I'm over it now"

I think a passion is when you say "that was fun but now I'm want to do a night class and subscribe to tautas dejas magazine*"

(* I don't think this is a real magazine but Google translate is truly bringing the human species closer together, also I wasn't trying to sh*t on Latvian folk dancing).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Passion is for students or teenagers with guilt-free smiles on their faces and the only thing wearing them down is the burden of youth. All you should be passionate about over the age of 21 is waking up alive in the morning or the prospect of not finding a new lump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

No, I suffer from pretty bad apathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Reading. I absolutely love books and couldn't get by without one on the go.
    It's great settling down in the evening and losing yourself (no alcohol needed!).

Especially love going on holiday with a new book in my bag.
    Simple thing but it's my passion in life :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Gaming. Video games, board games, card games, pen and paper roleplaying games, I'll play, design, write and run them until I die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭kwiva-g

I've got a talent that I inherited from my mother, and when I was deciding on college courses everyone just assumed I would pursue a career in it. I didn't, because I had no passion for it, and now I don't even do it as a hobby. As other posters have mentioned, having talent for something or not is no predictor of being passionate about it.
    I'd love to say that I've found a passion that has given my life meaning and all that, but no luck in finding it yet!

kwiva-g wrote: »
    I've got a talent that I inherited from my mother, and when I was deciding on college courses everyone just assumed I would pursue a career in it. I didn't, because I had no passion for it, and now I don't even do it as a hobby.

now I'm curious...again if its not too personal etc would you mind if I asked what the talent is?

kwiva-g wrote: »
    As other posters have mentioned, having talent for something or not is no predictor of being passionate about it.
    I'd love to say that I've found a passion that has given my life meaning and all that, but no luck in finding it yet!

well I hope you do find something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭kwiva-g

now I'm curious...again if its not too personal etc would you mind if I asked what the talent is?

Not too personal:P I can pretty much draw or paint anything put in front of me to almost life-like standard, but I have absolutely no passion or desire to do so! It comes in handy for making gifts for people and that kind of thing, but I don't have that burning creativity that would turn that talent into a passion.
    I always compare myself to my friend, who has no patience for realism in art, but does the most amazing fantasy drawings and designs, and is always coming up with ideas for new ones...
    well I hope you do find something
    Wouldn't it be great to find the thing that makes you spring out of bed in the morning? Good luck on your own quest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Id have interests and the one that I have had for the longest time would be videogames. I suppose I put enough time into it and its the thing I like to read about when Im not actually playing so it must qualify as a passion.

But somehow, Id equate a real passion with things that require more of the person who engages with them. Gaming is very passive and all you have to do is turn on a console or PC in your house and off you go. A passion which would require you to, for example go out on a cold winter evening to run, or train, or to attend events on a regular basis which require you to give up free time, those are the types of passions I have never had in my life. Im amazed by people who live and breath one passion and who use almost all their free time to pursue it. GAA, golf, whatever. I could never work up the necessary level of interest to put that much time and effort into any one thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Have a passion, for life but only by way of acknowledging death I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Tearwave

Star Wars The Force Unleashed 2

Dancesport, particularly Argentine Tango.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Definitely agree that your passions and your talents don't have to match.

Music is my major passion - I nearly always have music on, I play most days, I've made friends and a got a job through it - but I'm a mediocre guitarist and terrible at composing. I've had some of my best experiences because of music and there are some songs that mean so much to me that I can't put it into words... but that doesn't necessarily mean I'm ever going to be brilliant at it myself.

But I'm not sure if that even matters as long as it's still fun - fastest way to kill a passion is to turn it into an obligation or a duty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭keithb93

My passions are exercising and eating chocolate. They cancel each other out though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

Shooting and motorbikes..

Not combined unless the money is good enough.

'hdz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

Ever see a hen lay an egg.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Passion is for students or teenagers with guilt-free smiles on their faces and the only thing wearing them down is the burden of youth. All you should be passionate about over the age of 21 is waking up alive in the morning or the prospect of not finding a new lump.

:D and...disagree.

I think it's important to have something in your life you feel a passion for.
    Mine is handicrafts, particularly fibre arts.

I'd do it even if I didn't get paid for it. I love it, it's a vocation and yes a passion, not just work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Allround Predator

My hobby is my passion and that is Angling or fishing you might say, I would go everyday if I had enough time. Best hobby in the world!:)