Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bellew v Chilemba card

• 30-03-2013 11:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭

Crolla v Matthews about to start now, fancy Crolla to get the job done this time around

Really fancy Chilemba to take Bellew out tonight, Bellew is a hard working solid pro but I always worry when the Sky fighter has to take on a similarly ranked fighter, its like being forced into a mandatory. Chilemba is no mug either, has KO'd a few unbeaten fighters in his time.

Backed Chilemba at 8/1 for the KO last week, very confident ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

What a great fight that was, if the Bellew fight lives up to that we're in for a cracker. Would definitely like to see them do it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

Crolla robbed but at least we should get to see part 3 .

Think the Bomber is going finish this early

• Registered Users Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Bellew annoys me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭megadodge

Crolla robbed but at least we should get to see part 3 .

Think the Bomber is going finish this early

I thought it was awful close, so have no problem with the draw.

I actually backed the draw in running, to save me a good few bob as I had both backed at different stages.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

I nearly choked on my drink. Did he just say "The beautiful city of Liverpool?"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

That was a close fight. Crolla by a round at best IMO but you can't argue with the draw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

Were some of the crowd making monkey sounds when the African guy was introduced?

Like the look of Chilemba so far.

Very good counter right hand when Bellew opens up. I think if Bellew gets too eager he's gonna walk into counters all night. However, Bellew is a lot smarter than he gets credit for, so it'll be interesting to see does he cool it a bit and thinks a bit more.

This could be good..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Cant see Bellew beating any of the current world champs a rematch with Cleverly being his best shot but he would get beating comfortably by Hopkins or Dawson really dont like Bellew so much mouth but not much to back it up and that crap about willing to die in the ring, given what can happen in boxing what an idiotic thing to say especially for a man with 3 children stupid

I have Chilemba doing better than Sky are thinking here, some of those early rounds Bellew didn't do enough to win when he couldn't land at all.

In the early rounds Chilemba did absolutely nothing. it will cost him the fight I have them down for Bellew by default

I still have it to Chilemba by a point.

I agree that Bellew only won the early rounds by default and if Chilemba loses, he can only blame himself for giving them away. He was the better boxer.

Disappointing fight. Chilemba should and could have made a real case.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,996 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Fair result there I say

Fair poor match thou

• Registered Users Posts: 8,968 ✭✭✭Big Ears

114-114 for me, draw a fair result.
    Absolutely shocking commentary from Sky, extremely biased.

Big setback for Eddie Hearn and Matchroom sport.

The commentators are behaving as if it's a crazy decision, then go on to talk about the silence of the crowd. The crowd were silent right throughout because they knew it was really close.

Anyway, I had a small wager on the draw midway, so I'm quite happy with it.

The early rounds neither boxers landed anything of real merit, Bellew threw more but didn't land while Chlemba countered successfully on occasion. The later stages Chilemba completely outboxed him.

Not a sound in the background its like a morgue in there

• Registered Users Posts: 53,996 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Both boxers talking bollocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Here Precious2

Bellew is very ordinary

Fair play to Johnny Nelson and John Conteh, both of whom reckoned it was a fair result.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

It looked like Bellew ran out of idea's very quickly once he couldn't land the big punches early. Chilimba did make him look very ordinary.

Draw is a fair result

• Registered Users Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Big Ears wrote: »
    114-114 for me, draw a fair result.
    Absolutely shocking commentary from Sky, extremely biased.

Big setback for Eddie Hearn and Matchroom sport.
    Why Bellew is hardly there biggest name or biggest hope, ye they hoped he would win a world title but in the long run matchroom have many fighters better then Bellew

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭el flaco

Bellew's delusion will only hamper any potential development. He's far too one-dimensional and doesn't seem to adapt in even the most straightforward ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Crap fight! in a way Bellew only has himself to blame. Madness that one judge had Chilemba 116=112 though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,249 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Bellew came accross very bad in the interview showed a lack of class.

Did I hear him right he was moaning that he was the home town boxer
    and should of got decisions.:pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Crolla - Matthews was a great scrap, thought Crolla nicked it myself but cant really argue with a draw. Crowd were very vocal in that must have been the Manchester Liverpool rivalry.

Bellew I thought was decent, thought he would have won that but he cant complain. Neither impressed me too much.

Would Bellew not be better aiming for Shumenov the WBA champion? He only has 14 fights to his name. Cant see him defeating the other champions if he wins the rematch.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Bellew came accross very bad in the interview showed a lack of class.

Did I hear him right he was moaning that he was the home town boxer
    and should of got decisions.:pac:

Agreed he came across poorly but heat of the moment and that. Adrenaline still pumping, football managers say the same and its nowhere near as bad!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,968 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Why Bellew is hardly there biggest name or biggest hope, ye they hoped he would win a world title but in the long run matchroom have many fighters better then Bellew

Oh they've plenty of better fighters, but Bellew is a massive ticket seller and headliner for them. They pretty much sold out the Echo Arena (11,000 capacity) tonight, and okay this was much helped by other local fighters such as Matthews, Stalker, Dickens, Fielding and Smith, aswell as Crolla's fans making the short trip from Manchester, but Tony is by far and away their biggest ticket seller in Liverpool and their only real headliner (for Sky quality cards) for that City.

Froch, Bellew, Frampton, Brook, and now Burns are their big guys. The draw is not only a setback for Bellew, but it's now highly evident he's never going to make the grade at World level. A fighter of Bellew's popularity, with Sky's backing and a World title around his waist would have the potential to do stadium fights, and over this side of the Atlantic where we don't have the big casinos holding the events that's where the major money is. 1 stadium fight can financially produce multiple times what a normal card can in revenue, and any chance of Bellew ever having a stadium fight in the future is long gone now.

Froch is capable of doing them, Frampton if he makes it to the very top will likely have the popularity, but Brook likely won't and Burns won't unless he gets a top opponent at home. So it's a major potential revenue stream gone for matchroom.