Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

when do you move on from school?

• 29-03-2013 3:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭

I'm friends on facebook with a few lads I went to school with.
    They must have left school about 5 or 6 years ago now at this stage and hitting their mid twenties.

Alot of them have old school pictures as their profile picture. Stuff like them and their friends outside the school or them and the school hurling team etc.
    Some of them are still on about school aswell, talking about things they did back then or old school tours.

Does this strike anyone else as a little bit sad? It was nearly 6 years ago ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Starting a thread about it is sadder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Keeping the thread going by posting isn't sad at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

not much else to do in oz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Can't see how

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

It might be sad now but when they're all 40 or 50 years old, it'll be nostalgic!

lazygal wrote: »
    Keeping the thread going by posting isn't sad at all.
    It's a forum, the purpose of it being to express an opinion. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

They're remembering happy times in lives I suppose, nothing wrong with that. My friends and I still talk about stuff that happened 6 years ago sometimes.

Though I was over school before I hit sixth year. Couldn't wait to get out and wouldn't go back if you paid me.

It's a forum, the purpose of it being to express an opinion. :rolleyes:

Which is apparently sad

somefeen wrote: »
    Can't see how
    Well, you think they should have moved on. If they haven't and their outlook is different to yours the best thing to do is unfriend them and forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

somefeen wrote: »
    Which is apparently sad

awww

OneArt wrote: »
    They're remembering happy times in lives I suppose, nothing wrong with that. My friends and I still talk about stuff that happened 6 years ago sometimes.

Though I was over school before I hit sixth year. Couldn't wait to get out and wouldn't go back if you paid me.

Thats true and I do the same with my friends. I dunno what it is in particular about 25 year olds reminiscing about school that strikes me as sad. Think its the profile pic for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I'd still regularly talk about old school days some some old buddies and we are in are 30s. No harm and great craic when you look back and see how naive and stupid we sometimes were.

Wouldn't go as far as saying school is the best days of your life but if everything was ok and you had some good friends they were pretty fun especially in a mixed school :D

Well, you think they should have moved on. If they haven't and their outlook is different to yours the best thing to do is unfriend them and forget about it.

Nah because their actually sound. They don't piss me off with it. It just strikes me as a bit odd and I was hoping to gain some understanding of it without sounding like a weirdo by asking them personally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

About 3 minutes after walking out the door for the last time. School was shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's the mid twenties crisis. School was a safe comfortable environment, everyone was full of hope and ambition.The real world isn't as palatable to some, there's all this sh1te like having to get a job and stuff. Some want to relive the 'good old days'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

I actually really liked Secondary school, not the work like but everything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

A few weeks after I left! I was home schooled for 6th year so didn't see them much anyway.

I talk to a few of them when I bump into them but that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

After Higher Level Music...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

I loved secondary school and love to reminisce about it. Although if you never actually move on in a practical sense, you could end up like this guy ;)

http://youtu.be/6vQpW9XRiyM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

As soon as I left. School was ****e, college was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭cade

I'd a friend who was just like this. Any time we'd meet for drinks, which was failry regular at one point, he'd do nothing but recite the same old stories of the night at our debs our fun days at school. I got to realise that having left school a few months before the leaving cert and ultimately ending up in a dead end job left little for him to do in life other than to look back on his happy days.

I couldn't put up with it anymore after a few years so I just stopped socialising with him. Over ten years later and I saw recently that he's still the same, so yes, it is a bit sad. If life is so crap then take the initiative to change it by bettering yourself and opening opportunities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭matTNT

OneArt wrote: »

Agreed. I know for some people they will be the best years of they're life, but as someone in 6th year rearing to go, I hope they don't transpire to be so. I will look back fondly on certain things but certainly I hope it doesn't command too much of my time.

Honestly I reckon those people don't know where there life is going or must have hit a dead end and reminisce about better times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If you still get on with people you've known for years more power to you. I'm sort of in contact with one or two of them. I wouldn't go terminating friendships on purpose just because I'm afraid of what other, newer friends might think. I wonder how many people avoid old friends because they're afraid their friends have become much more successful.
    matTNT wrote: »
    Honestly I reckon those people don't know where there life is going or must have hit a dead end and reminisce about better times.

Can't remember who said it but: 'Nostalgia seasons the bad experience'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

It's the mid twenties crisis. School was a safe comfortable environment, everyone was full of hope and ambition.The real world isn't as palatable to some, there's all this sh1te like having to get a job and stuff. Some want to relive the 'good old days'.

This, college allows some people to extend this but for people who dont go it's straight into being an adult after school treats you like a child

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Kinski

For some people school was the high-point of their life - good at sports; popular with their classmates; loads of friends they got to hang out with everyday; parents to wash clothes, prepare meals, and provide pocket money; able to coast by in class without ever doing much, etc. Then when they went into the wider world (typically, we're talking about people who didn't make college or didn't last long there) they found that the kind of things that were valued in their school environment - things they were good at - aren't nearly so important in this new context, and they struggle to let the past go. It is a bit sad, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭VanishingActs

I don't think there's anything wrong with bringing school up in conversation but some topics get old really quickly. I have a friend who likes to go on about a fight that happened between us and other friends in freaking 3rd year... now whenever she brings it up we just tell her stop. I mean really, move on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

matTNT wrote: »
    Agreed. I know for some people they will be the best years of they're life, but as someone in 6th year rearing to go, I hope they don't transpire to be so. I will look back fondly on certain things but certainly I hope it doesn't command too much of my time.

I'd say some people just don't know what they want to do after. When I was in school all I wanted was independence. Now I work for myself and live on my own, no one tells me what to do or what to wear. Sure I have to pay bills, but I can do whatever the hell I want and still have the craic with people. I suppose the difference is knowing what you want after school as opposed to not being able to see beyond sixth year.

There's still a couple of people from school that I'm friends with on Facebook. They'll reminisce about the "good old days" and often say they wish they were back in school, though what I don't get is that a lot of them had pretty cool lives after. One lives in Jamaica now, another lived in the USA for a bit and the rest got really good jobs. How you could wish to be back in school after all that is beyond me!