Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you connect a water softener to your water supply?

Options
  • 29-03-2013 4:23am
    Registered Users Posts: 33,314 ✭✭✭✭

I have been considering getting a proper water softener for my home, but I was wondering how it is all connected up?

Afaik, the cold water supply comes into my house in the utility room, up through a pipe directly under a sink thats there. Now all covered by recently installed kitchen units.

I'm no expert, but from what I can see there is no access to the water supply outside my house.

So how do the installers go about attaching it to your water supply?
    (Hope this isn't a stupid question)

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

NIMAN wrote: »
    So how do the installers go about attaching it to your water supply?
    (Hope this isn't a stupid question)

There is no such thing as a stupid question, only stupid answers!
    If the main stopcock for the house is under that utility sink and that is actually the first point within the house, then you need to cut away an access panel in the unit to reveal the pipework& isolation valve. The unit will then be pipes into there.
    You must have good access to an isolation valve in case of burst pipe & general maintenance.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,314 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

does that mean that any water softener I would install would be indoors? May be fine as I have a large, tall cupboard in the utility room that should be able to house the unit.

An in-law got one fitted and theirs is in a little custom made shed outside the back door.