Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rios - Alvarado II

• 28-03-2013 9:02pm
    Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭

Thought I'd start a thread for this, very exciting match up. Really big Rios fan he's warrior, so is Alvarado.

Anyone tell me what time GMT this is due to begin Saturday night? The clocks are going forward also, I presume that means silly o clock :(

Doesnt seem to be on any UK tv channel either? Thought someone would have picked it up with all the other crap fights that are constantly aired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

I'm open to correction here, but I thought Buncey said the other night that Boxnation were "in negotiations" to get it.

Not sure though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭el flaco

megadodge wrote: »
    I'm open to correction here, but I thought Buncey said the other night that Boxnation were "in negotiations" to get it.

Not sure though.

Yep. Deal done.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Is boxnation worth it? There probably should be streams about also but boxnation do have a good schedule coming up.

If I could find out the time for sure its difficult with the clocks going forward. If its very late I'd go to bed early, but if they're in the ring at a reasonable hour id stay up , should be a belter of a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

DB10 wrote: »
    Is boxnation worth it? There probably should be streams about also but boxnation do have a good schedule coming up.

If I could find out the time for sure its difficult with the clocks going forward. If its very late I'd go to bed early, but if they're in the ring at a reasonable hour id stay up , should be a belter of a fight.
    i'm going to pay for april they have a good show on the 20th and the 27th they have khan fight and later on the martinez fight also they have spike o sullivan fight on 12th decent schedule in april worth it for the month

If you're a boxing fan, as distinct from a casual fan who only watches big fights, then it's well worth it. They have lots of big bills coming up along with numerous repeats of older shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

Bob Arum talking about smoking joints again .......... :confused:

By estimations this is due to start in t minus 6 hours.

3:30 with the clocks forward
    2:30 if you leave your clock alone

I will begin hunting for legal streams later on.

Is there an undercard of note? I see B Prescott is due to fight an hour and a half beforehand. Might watch some of T Bellew on Sky later possibly.

Odds wise I'm tempted by Alvarado win by KO etc at 15/2. Rios to win by KO in rounds 10-12 is 11/2.

I'll be keeping my money in my pocket for this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Lets get it on...

Wahooooo, only the second round and it's already hopping!!

Wow he looked OK going back to the corner..

What a fecking fight this is one of the best i have seen in years will be hard to beat this one for Fight of the Year really want Alvarado to win just so there will be a 3rd fight and we can watch this again another Gatti Ward this what a fecking war

This is better than the first one !!!!

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

This is absolutely epic. Let it never end!!

Just when you think one guy is on top - BOOM...

2-2

Jesus, the scores were a bit tighter than they should have been, but at least the right man won.

Bring on part III !!!

I had Alvarado by 4. Awesome fight roll on #3

Credit to both guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Great fight, deserved winner. Rios really is hilarious 'Where's Bob Arum ?' as he proceeds to wander off camera in search of his promoter and ensure a 3rd fight is made there and then.

Fight 2 just over and cant Wait for number 3 right man won thank god Two total warriors in the ring tonight credit to the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Epic is the only word for it. What a fight.

Best fight I've seen in years! What a war, Alvarado definitely had it in my book. Although Rios looked distraught after thinking he won. Rios has alot to work on for III I didnt think it was as close as 114-113.

Surely there will be a III installment now. Although Arum seemed to be indicating a summer off for both, then possibly a defense for Alvarado in Denver his hometown.

"I'd like to see one of them against Provodnikov or for [Juan Manuel] Marquez to face one of them. But it doesn't have to be next," Arum said. "I sort of feel I'd like to see these guys against other people, and then we can do a rematch. Certainly, the rubber match will be bigger, but it doesn't have to be next. I really don't like doing immediate rematches. I did it here because these guys are crazy, and they wanted to do it and HBO pressed me into the fight."

Bob Arum

Interesting. Provodnikov and Marquez wouldnt be my first choice for either of the these lads.

Would be of the opinion that Garcia and Lamont Peterson would be better fights for the guys, certainly think they have earned a shot at a World Champion. Marquez would be on another level. Dont see the appeal in moving up a weight to fight Provodnikov?? Seems a low reward/high risk move, at a different weight, wouldnt be wise imo.

As a spectacle, a fight for either with Provodnikov would be fantastic. They wouldn't be moving up in weight either as Prov is a career light-welter who just moved up in the last fight for the title shot.

Despite his age and the fact that I thought he didn't actually look that good against Pacman (outside of the finish obviously), Marquez would be the wrongest possible opponent for either of them as he's at his best when opponents come straight at him. He'd pick them apart effortlessly.

I think now when their stock is highest, one or even both should be looking at a world title shot. III has to happen though. Exciting times for this division!

I'd rather they fight each other again than anyone else. Pacquiao, JMM, Bradley all beat the two of them. Provodnikov might be more interesting.

Arum might seize the opportunity to give JMM and Pacquiao showcase fights however. He can always do Rios-Alvarado III afterwards.

megadodge wrote: »
    As a spectacle, a fight for either with Provodnikov would be fantastic. They wouldn't be moving up in weight either as Prov is a career light-welter who just moved up in the last fight for the title shot.

Despite his age and the fact that I thought he didn't actually look that good against Pacman (outside of the finish obviously), Marquez would be the wrongest possible opponent for either of them as he's at his best when opponents come straight at him. He'd pick them apart effortlessly.

Yeah Marquez-Bradley is a more interesting fight, even if it won't deliver the same fireworks.

Don't know how long more JMM is going to fight for though. If he's planning on staying around for the end of 2014, then it makes sense that he takes a fight with someone like Rios. If not, then all that money for Pac-JMM V is still on the table and it's going to be hard for him to walk away from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

Cracking fight there will have to be a third but wudn't be surprised if it's not next for both boxers.

Alvarado's cutman deserves credit dunno how he kept swelling and cuts down.
    Rios has some chin and his face didn't mark up as bad as I thought it might considering the punches he took.

Here's a link to the fight for anyone who missed it

http://sosoboxing.com/boxing-video-watch-online/brandon-rios-vs-mike-alvarado-2/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Just watched a repeat of it there on Boxnation, what an absolute scrap. I think either of these would blow the likes of Amir Khan away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

FTA69 wrote: »
    Just watched a repeat of it there on Boxnation, what an absolute scrap. I think either of these would blow the likes of Amir Khan away.

If they nail him clean. But, they are also not all that big. Khan would have physical advantages. Khan obliterates them if real clever. Much too fast. Both are very defensively porous! Oh, as is Khan!

I think Khan would destroy Alvarado, but Rios would be exactly the type of opponent Khan would have major problems with. Super aggressive, ignores all punches coming his way and hits very hard and consistently.

Let's not get ahead of ourselves, as good fights as Rios-Alvarado have been these guys are not elite level fighters. This is the current era's equivalent of Gatti-Ward, except at a slightly lower level than that.
    Alvarado was clearly losing to Breidis Prescott, before he managed to drop and stop him in the last round. Paul McCloskey actually performed better vs Prescott overall than Alvarado did.

As for Rios, he got outboxed by Abril down at Lightweight and won himself quite a lucky decision. He also had a very tough fight with John Murray, which in fairness he was always going to win, but a fighter who's going to be a serious threat at 140 shouldn't really struggle with a guy like that.
    Khan would decision Rios 120-108 by moving and never allowing Rios to set his feet or get in range, and if Rios can't set his feet he just won't throw (as shown in the latter half of the Alvarado II fight).
    As for Khan vs Alvarado, Alvarado would likely be stopped on cuts. His is somewhat dangerous with that right hand but I wouldn't fancy him to land it on Khan,if Khan decides to stay mobile and not just stand there and trade.

Entertainment wise these guys are up there with anyone p4p, but they're not genuine top 5 Light-Welters, and there's ~20 guys in the division that have the capability of beating them (and about 8 that definitely would).

I think the blueprint on how to beat Khan is well and truly established now and Rios knows it.

He knows he'll have to take lots of fast sharp punches in order to get close, but that's not exactly unusual for him and when he gets inside (and he will, as Khan doesn't seem to be able to keep aggressive foes off him) his heavy hooks and uppercuts will definitely cause problems for Khan's dodgy chin.

I wouldn't regard Danny Garcia as having a heavier punch than Rios and all he needed was one. Peterson isn't as relentless or physically strong as Rios and he was able to bully Khan on the inside, so I think Khan would have major problems with Rios.

IMO it would be a 50/50 outcome, Khan surviving a few real scares to win a wide UD, or Rios winning inside with Khan well ahead on points.

I'm not convinced Rios could get inside. I mean from round 8 onwards vs Alvarado that's what he needed to do and he just couldn't do it. Khan's got better feet than Alvarado, and he's much quicker too, he doesn't even need to hurt Rios imo to keep him away.
    Even if Rios could get in range, and could keep Khan still for a moment, I don't think his left hook is as potent as Garcia's and I'm not sure one moment would be enough.

As vulnerable as Khan may be, lets not forget the shots he took off Maidana and kept on fighting, or the Peterson fight for that matter. There's the very real chance he wouldn't just crumble under the first bit of pressure Rios puts on him, if Rios could put on said pressure.

I don't really rate Rios, maybe I'm just wrong there, but anyway it's somewhat immaterial as Khan is a GBP fighter and therefore will only be shown on Showtime in America, meanwhile Rios and Alvarado are Top Rank and therefore HBO........This **** really is worse than professional wrestling (see WWF-WCW in the 90's)....:(

Khan being overrated again here IMO. Dont think he would "destroy" Alvarado by any means although the point on cuts is a valid one, he seemed to take his hits alot worse than Rios. Prescott looks awful looking at his defeat to Crawford.

I wonder what is next for Rios/Alvarado? Can they fight Garcia/Peterson or are they restricted due to their WBO ranking?? They could give them a good go. Rios needs to improve though. Marquez seems to be eyeing up Bradley in September and a move up in weight, although hes another level for these fighters.

Big Ears wrote: »

I don't really rate Rios, maybe I'm just wrong there, but anyway it's somewhat immaterial as Khan is a GBP fighter and therefore will only be shown on Showtime in America, meanwhile Rios and Alvarado are Top Rank and therefore HBO........This **** really is worse than professional wrestling (see WWF-WCW in the 90's)....:(

Can someone explain this part to me?! I dont understand how HBO/Showtime pick who fights who!?? :confused:

Is there any chance this will change!? Seems like utter bull**** to me, terrible for boxing.

This **** really is worse than professional wrestling (see WWF-WCW in the 90's)....

It's a shame because there are so many potentially fantastic match-ups in that division what with the likes of Mathysse, Provodkinov, Garcia and Peterson all being game for a scrap.

Regards the point I made about Khan,

I was perhaps a bit hasty in stating that either Rios or Alvarado would undoubtedly hammer him but they'd be certainly in with a chance. I have no doubt that Khan would be ahead on points when if KO comes but he has been caught out three times now to quite mediocre opposition and thus you can't deny the fact that the likes of Rios is well capable of beating him.

As for Khan vs Mathysse? That would be the end of him, lights out and good night. The fact that Khan was aiming at a fight with Mayweather a few months back is absolute comedy.

Khan's win over Maidana is another one of those instances where the result is used to provide a false validation of something. Those supporting Khan use it as an example of his improved chin. It's a fallacy. Maidana looked horribly drained during that fight. He was running on fumes about midway through and still had Khan doing his jelly dance. Had Maidana the stamina to follow up on that he would almost certainly have taken him out. I agree about Mathysse, I think he would be a nightmare for Khan and he needs to avoid him like the plague. He's not dissimilar to Maidana in style, but minus the stamina issues. I also think that Rios could be a big danger too. Basically anyone that will keep walking him down is a danger. Khan would need to use the tactics David Haye employed against Valuev to ensure victory against these guys. Does he have that kind of discipline?

First of all Maidana is hardly Earnie Shavers, he has decent power but he's not a one-touch KO boxer either. The fact is Khan has been sparked early by Prescott and Garcia, two mediocre boxers and lost to a Peterson who simply waded through him.

You can hold up Maidana until the cows come home but it's a moot point considering Khan's three losses and two bad KOs. He has a glass jaw. End of.

First of all Maidana is hardly Earnie Shavers, he has decent power but he's not a one-touch KO boxer either. The fact is Khan has been sparked early by Prescott and Garcia, two mediocre boxers and lost to a Peterson who simply waded through him.

You can hold up Maidana until the cows come home but it's a moot point considering Khan's three losses and two bad KOs. He has a glass jaw. End of.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Khan being overrated again here IMO. Dont think he would "destroy" Alvarado by any means although the point on cuts is a valid one, he seemed to take his hits alot worse than Rios. Prescott looks awful looking at his defeat to Crawford.

=.

I think that Alvarado and Rios are the ones being overrated. They are tough guys, but defensively desperate. They take one to give one. They aren't the most skilled. Sure they have a KO chance, but apart from that I see Khan boxing circles around them.

Speaking of the 140lb division, have ye seen Golden Boy's latest stunt? Peterson vs Matthysse is to be at 141lbs, apparently so Peterson can keep his IBF belt if he loses.

walshb wrote: »
    I think that Alvarado and Rios are the ones being overrated. They are tough guys, but defensively desperate. They take one to give one. They aren't the most skilled. Sure they have a KO chance, but apart from that I see Khan boxing circles around them.

This.

Khan is not as good as he thinks but he aint as bad as some people make out.