Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anywhere in the general Dublin area where one could buy bales of hay?

• 24-03-2013 6:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭

And if so, how expensive is the aforementioned commodity generally going to be?
    Don't want to buy online in case we don't get it on time, need it by next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 doghunter

What type of bales do you need? small square/round, what are you intending to feed it to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I'd rather not say what the hay is for, I'll be laughed off the board ;)
    Suffice it to say, we're not fussy about the type of bale. I actually assumed in a place like Ireland that it'd be easy to get baled hay but it's proving surprisingly elusive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Suffice it to say, we're not fussy about the type of bale. I actually assumed in a place like Ireland that it'd be easy to get baled hay but it's proving surprisingly elusive.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/farmproduce/4682251

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

in a normal year it wouldnt be too hard but this year a combination of a bad summer and a long winter has left hay very scarce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Would straw get you out, or silage or haylege for that matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Bizzum wrote: »
    Would straw get you out, or silage or haylege for that matter?

Straw would be grand, silage almost definitely not.
    Basically, and I realize I'm inviting a world of ridicule here ;) some of my mates want to hold a private alternative to the Barn Dance festival this weekend and one of the ideas is to fill the gaff with hay :p

As I say, this idea was thrown around randomly and my first thought was "Ireland, sure how hard could it be to find a couple of bales of hay"... Turns out, not as easy as you might think.
    I'll check out the donedeal link above and see what they think of it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Straw would do fine so. I've heard of worse party themes!
    Best of luck with your search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 sullywell

Have small bales of hay and straw in south Dublin
    How many do you need

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 221 ✭✭Mr. Wong

Any decent farmer would give you a bale or two free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 sullywell

so your off to this party as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

just be careful. a few bales of straw and a lit cigerette could lead to trouble.

in saying that a barn dance is great craic. best of luck with it!