Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW dumped across the road!

• 24-03-2013 1:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

There has been a late 90s BMW dumped literally across the road in a housing estate which is a public road. It has insurance, tax and NCT seriously out of date, we're talking years in some of this! The car has not moved since Xmas.

I've asked around but got conflicting advice. Some say nothing can be done by the Gardai as its not been driven, others like myself say can it be impounded due to out of tax discs on a public road, which is right and what can be done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

gurramok wrote: »
    There has been a late 90s BMW dumped literally across the road in a housing estate which is a public road. It has insurance, tax and NCT seriously out of date, we're talking years in some of this! The car has not moved since Xmas.

I've asked around but got conflicting advice. Some say nothing can be done by the Gardai as its not been driven, others like myself say can it be impounded due to out of tax discs on a public road, which is right and what can be done?

Our neighbours had a BMW like that parked up for a few years. Passed them driving it out of the estate 6 months ago and never saw it or them again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Bet they're not here any more. Anyone else would surely chase scrap value for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

the garda and council can take the car but neither want to as it cost money to do so and no one going to claim it back. take a photo and stick it up on done a deal with location free to take away. don't put in any contact details. I be surprised if someone doesn't just take it away for scrap.

Are you sure this isn't belong to one of your neighbours ? hope your not being some tidy town nut job and just wanting to move the car because you don't like the look of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

visual wrote: »
    the garda and council can take the car but neither want to as it cost money to do so and no one going to claim it back. take a photo and stick it up on done a deal with location free to take away. don't put in any contact details. I be surprised if someone doesn't just take it away for scrap.

Just out of interest, where is your car located and can you provide me with a recent photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

Jeekers, make sure the plates secured properly, because afaik if they are not displayed the Guards will remove the car:eek:!!
    Somewhere on here there are old threads describing this kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Justin10

Noticed recently (About 2 years) a few BMWs lying around housing estates. Some in decent nick some not so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Just out of interest, where is your car located and can you provide me with a recent photo.

Talking to me? :)
    Odelay wrote: »
    Jeekers, make sure the plates secured properly, because afaik if they are not displayed the Guards will remove the car:eek:!!
    Somewhere on here there are old threads describing this kind of thing.

I did read before that plates have to be removed in order for the council to do something.

But I had thought that once tax is out of date on a public road, its keepers rights for the Gardai\council? Or did I hear that wrong? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

what's the location? is there anywhere to privately park? I've a bmw beside my apartment off the road so perhaps the owner lives nearby and is keeping it as a Sunday driver? mines parked up due to costs. its a public car park.

congo_90 wrote: »
    what's the location? is there anywhere to privately park? I've a bmw beside my apartment off the road so perhaps the owner lives nearby and is keeping it as a Sunday driver? mines parked up due to costs. its a public car park.

Santry. This car has never moved on a Sunday! (it won't later this day Sunday either :) )

Its parked halfway on the grass over the kerb, its annoying as space is a premium. The estate(all houses) is not one of those allocated parking ones, its just the car is left there in a demand space near a bend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Put a notice on the windscreen and see if someone removes it. That way you know its not just abandoned.

visual wrote: »
    Are you sure this isn't belong to one of your neighbours ? hope your not being some tidy town nut job and just wanting to move the car because you don't like the look of it

Just seen your edited post, i do have my own theory that the car did appear when new neighbours moved in around Xmas, maybe a relative owns it I do not know, I do remember a person driving it then but do not know from memory if that person has a connection or not to that house.

Anyway, what is the law on abandoned cars on a public road. Is it what you say, nothing can be done? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

The only thing you can do is notify the Gardaí if you want rid of it, end of.

You have absolutely no right to touch the car, nor advertise it for taking/alteration etc etc. Imagine you went away for three months and all your locals had speculated that your car was abandoned and someone lifted it; that's just theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 its me_330

My sister had the same problem with a car and her husband got fed up with it. He removed the plates and then contacted the guards and the council because there was no plates and all the discs were out. It was gone the following day. If i was you I'd try that. No harm in trying and see if they remove it. Also it is illegal to have a car on a public road without tax even if its not being driven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

It has insurance, tax and NCT seriously out of date, we're talking years in some of this!
    Your wording is not the best. To confirm; the car does or does not have current insurance, tax, and NCT?

the_syco wrote: »
    Your wording is not the best. To confirm; the car does or does not have current insurance, tax, and NCT?

It has none. No insurance, tax or NCT, the NCT goes back to '08!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

It has none. No insurance, tax or NCT, the NCT goes back to '08!

All the discs are there but out of date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Just seen your edited post, i do have my own theory that the car did appear when new neighbours moved in around Xmas, maybe a relative owns it I do not know, I do remember a person driving it then but do not know from memory if that person has a connection or not to that house.

Anyway, what is the law on abandoned cars on a public road. Is it what you say, nothing can be done? :eek:

The only time they'll tow it is if it's causing an obstruction, for no tax/NCT they'll just keep ticketing it. But if the plates where missing and the Gardaí where contacted about an abandoned vehicle it would be removed and the Gardaí would try and contact the last registered owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Irelandspro

By any chance is it a black 5 series ? I had one disappear from outside my house in 2008, never been seen since , still have the log book :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

All the Gardai can do is continue to write tickets for it for no tax. Council won't touch it unless it's minus her plates however removing the plates is your own call and also theft/criminal damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭dhog4n

If it is a public road taken in charge by the council (you don't pay management fees) then you should be able to report it to the council as abandoned.

Different councils have different policies, Dublin City Council used to place a notice on the vehicle stating that it would be removed and crushed in two weeks if the owner did not move it themselves. Two weeks later they would remove it and crush it if the owner had not moved it or contacted them. I don't know if they still do this as that was back when they had money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 hare

Tell the local knackers not be long getting weighed in.

By any chance is it a black 5 series ? I had one disappear from outside my house in 2008, never been seen since , still have the log book :D

No.
    Del2005 wrote:
    The only time they'll tow it is if it's causing an obstruction, for no tax/NCT they'll just keep ticketing it. But if the plates where missing and the Gardaí where contacted about an abandoned vehicle it would be removed and the Gardaí would try and contact the last registered owner.
    MugMugs wrote: »
    All the Gardai can do is continue to write tickets for it for no tax. Council won't touch it unless it's minus her plates however removing the plates is your own call and also theft/criminal damage.
    dhog4n wrote: »
    If it is a public road taken in charge by the council (you don't pay management fees) then you should be able to report it to the council as abandoned.

Different councils have different policies, Dublin City Council used to place a notice on the vehicle stating that it would be removed and crushed in two weeks if the owner did not move it themselves. Two weeks later they would remove it and crush it if the owner had not moved it or contacted them. I don't know if they still do this as that was back when they had money.

Who is right? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

My local tidy towns got a couple of cars removed from the road, the Gardai came saw no tax disc and got a tow truck , one car was visibly derelict , the owner (my neighbour) just said it saved him the bother of scrapping it....

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Easily sorted. Had this problem before myself. Remove the number plates and call the council. It will be removed and the last owner will be liable for all charges

ba_barabus wrote: »

I holding out for a better scrap deal. :) I post location but I recon someone would just whip it away without even a IOU.
    I was reading here about some doggy guys lifting old cars without permission. Taken from out side their homes and work. Apparently it was just for scrap value,

I had a car that broken down and was vandalised. The Garda advised me to contact the council and they would remove it for me. I phone council they said they could only pick it up if I proved ownership or it had no reg plates. I went up next day to remove reg plates but it had already been lifted.

There is no requirement to have a car NCT or insured to have parked on road only to drive it. There is a requirement to have it taxed. Garda / traffic wardens could ticket it but that doesn't solve the problem.

If the car was been driven it could be in pounded by Garda with tax out by more than 3 months but I have no idea how they view a parked abandoned car with all discs so far out of date.

I'm surprised the owner doesn't sell it for scrap and have a few bob in his pocket.