Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photocopying of "official document" ?

Options
  • 22-03-2013 9:49am
    Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭

Hi, working as a paramedic I visited snap print to get a colour copy of my paramedic licence and was informed by the staff that it was illegal to make a colour copy of an official document.
    Does anyone know if this is true or might it just be their company policy ?

Many thanks.

Comments

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭nuac

Might be a copyright issue

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,205 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

As far as I'm aware its an offence to present an photocopied drivers license to the Gardai. Maybe similar in this instance

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭ibebanging

Thanks was just interested as I've never heard of this before. They did say they could give me a b&w copy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

ibebanging wrote: »
    Hi, working as a paramedic I visited snap print to get a colour copy of my paramedic licence and was informed by the staff that it was illegal to make a colour copy of an official document.
    Does anyone know if this is true or might it just be their company policy ?

Many thanks.

If that is the case, then the Department of justice are breaking that law every day in asking for colour copies of official documents including passports.

I am aware of no law that makes it an offence to colour copy a official document. There is no law to even use such a copy. On the other hand if such copy is altered then that is a different matter.