Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does any1 else experience really bad horrors after drinking?

• 21-03-2013 5:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Ok so i was out the weekend to Celebrate Saint Patricks weekend, todays Thursday and i am still feeling pretty rough, day one i was in bed all day sick as dog, then day two i had the fear now i feel depressed and down, and finding it hard to sleep the past few nights without crazy dreams, does any1 else experience this after drinking? i dont drink to often but this seems to happen every time i do :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

Happens to loads of people, myself included. You need to make a choice about what's more important, the fun of a session (if it even is fun any more?) or not feeling like you're feeling right now. Drinking is clearly doing your mind and your body no favours. Take care of yourself, and best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

If I've had too much to drink, I feel awful the next day, and I'm not talking a mere headache and nausea.

I feel vulnerable and emotional and depressed. But that's what alcohol is; a depressant.

It's a horrible feeling and the slightest thing can set you off.

When that happens, I take a step back and avoid drink for a while, especially if things in my life aren't great at the time, cos drink can make me feel worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Just because it is socially acceptable doesn't change the fact that alcohol is a drug. You are experiencing the after effects of taking a drug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭mcballer

I get pretty bad hangovers. Day one in the bed and day 2 can have the fear and dark cloud sadness... I find if I do a decent work out like a spinning class the evening of Day two the endorphins set me back to normal....! I dont drink as often as I used to...but do like the craic of drinking still so good to know I can drag myself out of it by getting the heart pumping!! Even if I want to cry at the thought of going to the gym....feel alive again after it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,778 ✭✭✭✭fits

Yes me too, I normally feel quite down the day after I've had too many. Lately though, I cant even sleep after a few drinks (I'm talking three glasses of wine). I'm going to cut right down on it to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Ben Hadad

Yep, this is what happened to me. For ages I thought they were just bad hangovers. Turns out an actual hangover (with fairly moderate symptoms such as slight nausea and thirst) will last for about five hours after you wake up anything that lasts longer than this is your body suffering from alcohol withdrawal symptoms. This is what I had and what your are going through now. You have basically developed an allergy to alcohol and this will be your body's way of dealing with alcohol consumed from now on.

You can either continue to drink and suffer these truly awful feelings or stop drinking completely. I have stopped drinking completely.

Take it as life punishing you for drinking irresponsibly and try and see it as perhaps the best thing to ever happen to you and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I don't think I have ever drunk irresponsibly, but I have always found I have a low tolerance to alcohol which has got worse as I have got older. Now I drink very little - usually no more than one drink. The few drinks the night before is totally not worth the miserable feeling the next day.

Just figure out what your limit is and don't go above that, then you won't have to worry about experiencing the horrors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I used to get such bad hangovers that I felt like I should be hospitalised, and they would happen after only 4 or 5 drinks.

Turned out I had 2 different (and unrelated) underlying medical issues. Once they were resolved it stopped happening to me. Now I feel a bit groggy, and my stomach might be a bit off, but thats it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 189 ✭✭Bergkamp 10

I was on a 4 day bender last week , ended up in grippling pain and in the hospital, also I had hallucinations the first night after it all. It really has shaken me up, I'm in the process of trying to give up for good and I'm in my early 20s. OP its unlucky because many people dont face these issues at all or until they are alot older, but it could be alot worse. Your behaviour when you drink is also an important factor here. Basically if I continue down my current route I'll end up in prison or dead, so tough choices have to be made sometimes. But alot of people also suffer in silence, take comfort in the fact you are not alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭CdeC

Yeah I get this,

I find that if I meet up with a friend ot two or go and do something with someone it helps alleviate it.
    Company is key, what's the old saying "Misery loves company" well so do hangovers.

If they are really crippling you might think about limiting your partying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Absolutely 100% I used to. I stopped drinking 2 years ago and haven't looked back. I've missed out on nothing positive.

That said, if you don't want to quit, I would definitely cut down and look after yourself. It is rarely worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

For s time I used to be so depressed the day after drinking. On the brink of tears all day and horrible sense of paranoia and anxiety.

Limit yourself to a drink or two or always spend the next day with a clear friend where ye can relax together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

OP, you might not think that you are, but you definitely seem to be drinking more than your body can reasonably handle. Give yourself some time off the gargle and if you start drinking again drink significantly less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭DeltaWhite

Yep at age 23 I had enough of booze and when I went out with my friends I would have a few drinks and slip out the door early. I was told I'm "too sensible" for my age and I should be out get sh*t faced...

Now 4 years later the booze REALLY doesn't agree with me! Especially if I am down about something I will definitely feel shame or the fear the next day... Drink causes me to act like an idiot, saying and doing things I never would when sober!

I do try limit my drinking to the odd time here and there, but it's something I'm sick of. Doesn't help living in Ireland where the stereotypes are rampant..

Drink is really the devil and it takes a serious wake up call for people to realise that! Especially if they're in their early 20's.