Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cycling in cold rain/sleet without getting cold.

• 20-03-2013 10:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭

Planning an 80 or 90k this Saturday and the weather is supposed to be cold, rainy and sleety - hurrah.

I'm not at a level yet where I can do an 80k without stopping so I'm planning a coffee/ bun about 45k into the cycle and it's at this point I want to avoid getting cold.

On the last few cold rainy cycles I've done (30 - 50k) I've not stopped, so getting cold hasn't been a risk, the continuous cycling kept me warm.
    On these cycles I've not worn my waterproof jacket, just a couple of base layers and a cycling jersey and I was fine.

But planning a stop midway through a cold, sleety cycle is different.
    Any advice?

Staying in bed is not an option :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Sit indoors at the cafe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Make this Saturday the day where you cycle 80km without stopping. Problem solved. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,151 ✭✭✭furiousox

Day off today and it's pi$$ing down so I'm cycling The Stelvio later on...in my front room.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Morino wool L/S baselayer
    S/S Jersey
    Winter Bib tights
    Ski Socks
    Winter Jacket
    Wool Gloves
    Neoprene over gloves.
    Neoprene Over shoes
    Waterproof Hat.

( I was still Cold! :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Morino wool L/S baselayer
    S/S Jersey
    Winter Bib tights
    Ski Socks
    Winter Jacket
    Wool Gloves
    Neoprene over gloves.
    Neoprene Over shoes
    Waterproof Hat.

( I was still Cold! :D )

Cycle harder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Bring an extra banana or two in pocket, pedal for 80km. Relax and enjoy shower and grub/coffee when you get in.

Keep pedalling is best way to stay warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I definitely find that aside from a fleece lined pair of bib tights, decent gloves and a skull cap or fleece hat is essential.

Everything else will warm up nicely, but your extremities will just get colder and colder. My ears were in bits last night as I had a casquet under my helmet, put on a skull cap today and it made a world of difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

May seem silly but if it's raining, put a sandwich bag over each foot! :)

(over the socks, then shoe on)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

Zyzz wrote: »
    May seem silly but if it's raining, put a sandwich bag over each foot! :)

(over the socks, then shoe on)

That's really true because if your feet are cold or wet, you will be cold and miserable no matter what else you have on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, sit inside at the coffee shop, open your jersey. Make the effort to put your rain jacket on when it starts raining and remove it when it stops. It's too easy to say "**** it, I'm warm" and keep going, but when you stop and your jersey is drenched it's horrible. Your tights and base layers should provide a wet suit effect so you shouldn't get cold even after stopping, unless you stand around outside.

Do not under any circumstances remove your shoes and/or socks when you stop, no matter how cold or wet they are. Removing the gloves is unavoidable usually so if you can find a radiator to put them on, at least they'll be warm and damp when you go to leave.

Sit in the coffee shop for an extra ten minutes after you've finished your bun, because when you leave the coffee shop you need to do a 15 minute hammerfest, get that heart pumping and get that body heat up. There is no way to avoid feeling absolutely horrible when you first get back on the bike, but a short hammerfest and you'll be motoring again.

Personally on a wet day I'd rather push through without stopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

You could bring a spare pair of socks and glove liners with you. If needed, you can then change into them when you stop for coffee.

Though not stopping at all on wet/cold days is probably the best advise.

seamus wrote: »
    Sit in the coffee shop for an extra ten minutes after you've finished your bun, because when you leave the coffee shop you need to do a 15 minute hammerfest, get that heart pumping and get that body heat up.

Personally on a wet day I'd rather push through without stopping.

I had planned cycling up to the Hill of Tara and stopping at the coffee shop, but what I'm getting from the replies is common sense, better really not to stop at all.

The most I've done so far is a 53k non stop, I did feel I could have kept going, but I'm trying to keep sensible and build my kms gradually, so I'll try a 65k non stop on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Put on a rack and take some extra clothes in a pannier or put them in a shopping bag and strap them on with some bungee chords. Or buy big audax style saddle bag.

I throw a small umbrella in the pannier on long training spins if I think there is gonna be a deluge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

MB Lacey wrote: »
    I had planned cycling up to the Hill of Tara and stopping at the coffee shop, but what I'm getting from the replies is common sense, better really not to stop at all.

The most I've done so far is a 53k non stop, I did feel I could have kept going, but I'm trying to keep sensible and build my kms gradually, so I'll try a 65k non stop on Saturday.

Hey i've been thinking about doing this for a good while, heard the scones in Tara are good! Just getting over a knee injury so i'd say my fitness is about the same as yourself. Where you heading from? i'm near Balbriggan.

I throw a small umbrella in the pannier on long training spins if I think there is gonna be a deluge.
    Ha! That's not an entirely ridiculous idea. Really compact umbrellas fold up smaller than any rain jacket so could be carried in a jersey pocket. Would be good for those days where it absolutely buckets down for five minutes before clearing up. Bit much otherwise though :D

Ha! That's not an entirely ridiculous idea.
    It's a wonderful idea. Whip out the flask and have a cup of tea and wait for the rain to stop. Umbrella keeps you dry, tea keeps you warm.
    Would be good for those days where it absolutely buckets down for five minutes before clearing up.
    That's most days. It never rains for very long in Ireland. It looks like it's raining more than it actually is.

It's a wonderful idea. Whip out the flask and have a cup of tea and wait for the rain to stop. Umbrella keeps you dry, tea keeps you warm.
    I bet the umbrella attaches to the seat tube and the top of the rack folds out into a table too? :D

Genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Firstly, mud guards will keep a lot of water from you. A set of race blades or something similar are a must. I will only wear water proof leggings if caught in a down pour - otherwise bibs will dry off handy enough

Clothing wise, I use a merino baselayer that I swear by. Main thing is that it maintains insulation even when damp (perspiration / water getting in from outside). It's usually enough on its own with a waterproof / breathable jacket on top. Really cold days I might put on a short sleeved baselayer underneath that.

Fleece lined bib tights are a must.

Shoes - I use Goretex winter boots, but any decent neoprene covers will keep the worst off you - provided you have mudguards. No overshoe will keep out the constant spray from the front wheel.

Socks - I wear merino socks with a pair of lambswool hiking socks on top for really cold days. Both dry out quickly if they get wet.

Hands - under gloves (some people use silk, I use a light polartec glove) with a windproof glove (windstopper is a good compromise IMHO) over these. Not 100% waterproof, but a compromise. They act a bit like a wet suit in my opinion - water gets in, but your hands warms the water up!

Head / neck - skull car (I use an Endura skull cap which is great) and a neck gaiter - I use a "choob", keeps out the draughts!

As some said, try not to stop for too long - you'll cool down pretty quickly. If you can keep moving and fed you should be ok.

detones wrote: »
    Hey i've been thinking about doing this for a good while, heard the scones in Tara are good! Just getting over a knee injury so i'd say my fitness is about the same as yourself. Where you heading from? i'm near Balbriggan.
    I'll be cycling from Dublin 12 detones, plus I can't commit to a definite time I'm afraid.
    I think the scones will have to wait til better weather :rolleyes:
    Go easy on that knee.
    Whip out the flask and have a cup of tea and wait for the rain to stop. Umbrella keeps you dry, tea keeps you warm.

:P

:P

I can tell you think i'm joking. I'm not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

If there was a way to cycling in cold rain/sleet without getting cold I think one of the well-funded Pro teams would have thought of it by now. Judging by the weekend's Milan-San Remo they haven't. It's like "chocolate AND a toy: Impossible!" but without a Kinder Surprise to disprove the theory.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Big bowl of porridge and mug of warm tea before starting off. When you hit the cafe, get them to stick your slice of cake in the microwave, and give your other half a shout to stick the immersion on for when you get back. If you're doing 80k, make your coffee stop at 60k rather than 40k, as it will help you do the whole 80k without a break next time out.

smacl wrote: »
    If you're doing 80k, make your coffee stop at 60k rather than 40k, as it will help you do the whole 80k without a break next time out.
    Good tip, thanks.
    I'm trying to gradually increase my distances, both total distance travelled without stopping and distances with a stop, so that's a handy thing to keep in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

Ha! That's not an entirely ridiculous idea. Really compact umbrellas fold up smaller than any rain jacket so could be carried in a jersey pocket. Would be good for those days where it absolutely buckets down for five minutes before clearing up. Bit much otherwise though :D

Yes indeed. Umbrella while cycling is hugely practical. Or not

piston wrote: »
    Yes indeed. Umbrella while cycling is hugely practical. Or not
    Not while cycling, damnit. You stop and get off the bike. Extend umbrella and.....instant dryness. There isn't always a tree available in the Dublin/Wicklow mountains. I might bring a book next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

theres a few very experience touring cyclists in the fellclub that carry an umbrella good ones thats strong in winds up to 50 mph ;).
    in cols wet weather top quality base layers are the way to go , i would ware assos base next to skin then merino long sleeve over that then cycling jersey top that off with a good quality cycling jacket ,if its pissing it down put on rain jacket over jersey take off the jacket.
    piping hot coffee and a sambo should keep the cold at bay but dont hang around to long.
    and another thing ride steady well within yourself .
    there ended the lesson for today.
    have fun.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Statler

Couple of these : http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Little-Hotties-Hand-Pocket-Glove-Warmers-Two-Bulk-Packs-2-x-80-160-NEW-/290874793289?pt=UK_Sporting_Goods_Skiing_Snowboarding_Clothing_LE&hash=item43b97d1d49

inside your gloves for long spins in cold/wet/sleety/snowy weather are the absolute dog's b****x. Handy to carry a pack in case the weather turns as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

+1 on not stopping.

I'd have to say that if you're doing 80k there's not much point in stopping at 60 if you are wet and its cold - may as well roll on and warm up after getting home. I say that because Ive been caught twice in the wet and cold after impromptu stops and its no fun. Ive begun to see the wisdom of indoor trainers, actually.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Well, you've certainly picked the right weekend to check out your wet weather plan of action. Good luck with it and let us know how it worked out for you.

Went to a talk given by the most amazing Dervla Murphy last night in the teacher's club (she who cycled from Ireland to India in the 60's).

I cycled there, left my beloved waterproof Sealskinz gloves on a table and when I went to go after the talk, they were gone!
    Someone must have picked them up by mistake.
    Cycled back to Drimnagh in the freezing rain, with freezing cold hands, miserable, thumbs too numb to change gears - it was awful.
    I don't know how people can cycle around in the cold without gloves.
    Anyway! I need a pair of Sealskinz pronto before cycling anywhere in this monsoon, just rang Harrys, Joe Dalys (isn't their website message great?!) and Great Outdoors - all extremely helpful but none are carrying the gloves I loved so well.
    Will try some other bike shops later.
    I'm no Dervla Murphy that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Went to a talk given by the most amazing Dervla Murphy last night in the teacher's club (she who cycled from Ireland to India in the 60's).

I cycled there, left my beloved waterproof Sealskinz gloves on a table and when I went to go after the talk, they were gone!
    Someone must have picked them up by mistake.
    Cycled back to Drimnagh in the freezing rain, with freezing cold hands, miserable, thumbs too numb to change gears - it was awful.
    I don't know how people can cycle around in the cold without gloves.
    Anyway! I need a pair of Sealskinz pronto before cycling anywhere in this monsoon, just rang Harrys, Joe Dalys (isn't their website message great?!) and Great Outdoors - all extremely helpful but none are carrying the gloves I loved so well.
    Will try some other bike shops later.
    I'm no Dervla Murphy that's for sure.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_8?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=sealskinz&sprefix=sealskin%2Caps%2C267

Thanks Zyzz, they're the ones, but I'm looking to buy them today or tomorrow for this wknd

Take a wander round the camping shops on Mary st and Capel St, one of them will have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭dited

Anyway! I need a pair of Sealskinz pronto

Take a trip out to cycle superstore?

dited wrote: »
    Take a trip out to cycle superstore?
    Thanks, I just called them and they have some in small and large, I'm a medium but will go tomorrow anyway to try them for size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Aw, that would have been so cool to go to. How come I never hear of these things in advance?...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,085 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

156067_522136951163065_945921480_n.png