Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

berlingo noise

• 18-03-2013 9:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭

hi folks
    just noticed today that the engine in idle is quite loud but when put into gear the noise goes, its a 02 berlingo, sounds like a belt or somthing, any ideas what it could be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Philip82

Does the noise stop when you press in clutch while in nuetral????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭king size mars bar

just going to check that now........

no still there, had a look under the bonnet noise seems to be coming from the drivers side of the engine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

could be a gearbox problem, or flywheel maybe.

wesf wrote: »
    could be a gearbox problem, or flywheel maybe.
    o no is this a big job to fix, money wise???

ah doesn't have to be major, i wouldn't be taking it to a main dealer now or anything. a second hand box would be less than €150 from a breakers and fitting on top of that, if you know any mechanics that have their own place or work from home, shoudln't charge more than €100 to fit it! that's if that is the problem, only way to know for sure is to have it looked at.
    i'd say the reason philip asked if it goes away when you press the clutch is because if the noise did stop it could be a clutch release bearing, still a box off job

ah doesn't have to be major, i wouldn't be taking it to a main dealer now or anything. a second hand box would be less than €150 from a breakers and fitting on top of that, if you know any mechanics that have their own place or work from home, shoudln't charge more than €100 to fit it! that's if that is the problem, only way to know for sure is to have it looked at.
    i'd say the reason philip asked if it goes away when you press the clutch is because if the noise did stop it could be a clutch release bearing, still a box off job
    would it be alright to drive?

Do you have any issues with the gearbox like grinding into gear, hopping out of gear or finding it hard to select the right gear, did you check for any gear oil leaks from the drive seals (the van would be very wet with oil all the way back to the back box). Is it a gearbox problem at all when you put it in gear the engine gets louder as you drive is this just drowning out the sound of a fan belt pulley for example????

Philip82 wrote: »
    Do you have any issues with the gearbox like grinding into gear, hopping out of gear or finding it hard to select the right gear, did you check for any gear oil leaks from the drive seals (the van would be very wet with oil all the way back to the back box). Is it a gearbox problem at all when you put it in gear the engine gets louder as you drive is this just drowning out the sound of a fan belt pulley for example????
    no real hassle with the gears, seem to be changing grand no grinding or that. bit stiff to get into gear when the van is just started for the first time in the day but once going for a bit they are grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Worth seeing if the box oil is low.

just an update on the craic with the van brought it to my mechanic and he had a look, pully not loose and no change in noise when clutch is pressed in neutral, have to bring it in tomorrow morning and he is going to get in at it and see whats the problem, he did said it was very noisey, hope its not a big job as i would have to consider would it pay me to do it, got caught to tax the van private in my local tax office and at 200 euros every 3 months its a costly motor might have to consider would it pay me to change??????

try a different tax office!

hope it might not be major, Also if it sounds really rough the belt might have jumped out of time by a tooth or two if the belt is old and starting to wear.

try a different tax office!
    tried that before and they told me i have to tax the motor in the county where my adress is at.

Philip82 wrote: »
    hope it might not be major, Also if it sounds really rough the belt might have jumped out of time by a tooth or two if the belt is old and starting to wear.
    hope so !

any other offices in your county? maybe change it to a relatives name in a county with a more lenient tax office and get them to tax it

well folks, got problem sorted , very lucky with it could of caused a lot of damage to the engine if left any longer and €50 was the cost to fix it! now just the tax problem to sort,worked it out going to cost €600 in tax for the rest of the year (3 x €200) cant see myself getting €200 together easy let alone €600.

what was it. there are ways around the tax, you just need to find an office that has no problem doing it

some nut or bolt or pully thing that sould not of been loose, mechanic reckons that the last owner did the timing belt himself and tightened the bolts with a normal hand held wrench and not the torck wrench so the more i drove the more it got loose, he reckons one more trip and the bolt would of came loose and done a whole world of damage to the engine.