Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor driving

• 18-03-2013 7:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭

Have a young lad mad for driving, what age do ye leave them off on there own doing a bit of rolling etc his 13 and fairly steady but i am nervous enough i know how easily accidents happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

kerryjack wrote: »
    Have a young lad mad for driving, what age do ye leave them off on there own doing a bit of rolling etc his 13 and fairly steady but i am nervous enough i know how easily accidents happen.

16 for licence KerryJack. Would be wary yet to be honest to let him off on his own. Definitely would not let him do pto work. Go with him for first few times and let him off only in level fields. Should be grand if he a steady lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

kerryjack wrote: »
    13 and fairly steady but i am nervous enough i know how easily accidents happen.
    I was 12 when my dad was okish to let me drive the tractor.
    Before this though he made me learn to drive in an old car and small tractor from age 10-12 before I got promoted :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I started at nine ,left a small loader on the top of the hill without the handbrake on , she rolled down and knocked a hole through the calf shed .
    Man was I depressed after it :o, I didnt hurt any calves but i burst the mudguard on the loader and the wall and a bit of the roof of the shed .
    They were different times then , my eldest young lad will be eight shortly and it will be a good few years yet before he will be driving by himself .
    I'd think thirteen would be ok if he had good control and common sense but stay around him until you are sure he can manage ok .
    Is there a safety course for teenagers on tractor driving , it would be worth looking into

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,218 ✭✭✭zetecescort

let him drive on jobs where you'll be with him. trailer work gathering timber, pulling weeds, fixing fences, even just going to check on cattle.

like others have said, level fields are best and make sure if it gets away from him he knows how to stop the engine

slowly build up his experience before letting him on his own.