If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Bouncers in cork city

• 17-03-2013 04:25PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭

Hi guys , i would like this topic to be discussed properly and honestly and not go down the same road as so many other bouncer threads.

Now i've read on this forum and many others of the mass dislike of bouncers in cork and thought i'd give some honest answers.

I work in cork city on the door of a very respectable establishment.We have an age range of between 30 -60.First of all we do not decided who goes into the pub. We are told by the owners/management of the type of people they want as customers and its up to us to make sure this happens.Alot of what people complain about is totally avoidable and most of the time its their own choices that determine the out come.

First contact is the door.We have probably about 20 seconds to decide if you fit the profile.Before you even get to the door an opinion will have been formed about you. this is done as you walk towards the door and then you will get the mandatory 3 questions.Believe it or not we dont care where you're coming from , how much you had to drink or what type of id you have.These are all just easy methods of refusing you if once again you do not fit the profile.If you act like a normal reasonable person during these 3 questions and you fit the profile you will be left in.If not you're blown out.1-30 people may be blwon out wrongly this is unavoidable and its better to refuse entry and be wrong than to risk letting someone in that your not 100% sure of.

Once inside if you behave in a normal way and have a few drinks and some fun you will have a good night.If you are given and instruction by a member of security then follow it, put on your shoes, get off the furniture, no drinks on dance floor, no lifting etc. You are an adult and should not have to be told 2-3-4-5-6 times to do something.if you are being removed for a minor reason like this then its your own fault.You will be asked to walk out more than once before you will be removed by force, again your choice.Forced removal is always a last resort because it leaves us open to all sorts of problems and also can spoil the night of innocent customers.More serious incidents require immediate removal without question.

Once outside depending on how serious the incident you will be left go or the gardai will be called.Again this is your own choice , if you walk away with no incident all is good.If you stay and threaten or abuse or attack the door staff they will defend themselves and the gardai will be called.

Complaints are best made the day after. door staff will not listen to the drunken ramblings and he said she said stories and more often than not neither will the gardai.If you have a problem with the way you were treated ring the pub the next day when you are sober or ring the gardai to make a complaint.Make sure you have your story straight ,have times, details ,descriptions and witnesses . Remember the door staff will have cctv , incident reports, witnesses and possibly voice recordings.

I do this job to pay my bills, im not on a power trip , i dont have a massive ego, i dont want to ruin your night or humiliate you and 99% of door staff are the same.Our job is to to make sure the patrons, staff and ourselves have a good night.

I welcome all questions and constructive comments to be posted but pls refrain form stories of individual people, places or incidents please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

> Bouncer forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Or Cork forum <----

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

> Crap threads forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

wylam wrote: »
    I welcome all questions and constructive comments to be posted but pls refrain form stories of individual people, places or incidents please.

Yeah, that's not going to happen here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭ofcork

I would agree with all you said there i have been going out in cork 20 years and have never had a problem with bouncers,have always been polite and not drunk and got to know many doormen over the years and respect the job they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

city? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

sorry but iv went out all over ireland and cork is still the worst for bouncers. and by a big margin too

at the same time its extremely rare i get blown out. just doesnt happen. maybe its the look of me but even i can see the difference anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Who in their right mind would go disco dancing in Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Some bouncers are sound and fair play to you. I think the problem comes from how they are recruited. Managers can do all of the soft end of a bouncer's job so need someone to be able to hold their own should things turn nasty.

I've had issues with a bouncer twice. The first time was when a fight started near me and I was grabbed. He then saw that bouncer who had radioed him had the real culprit but had already assaulted me (no injury but still unpleasant).
    The second time was when I was let out to go to a cash machine and couldn't get back in because the door was locked. I was knocking the door for 5 mins solid having been told that they would let me back in. A bouncer came out and pinned me to the railings. He since apologised but I never returned there.

Who in their right mind would go disco dancing in Cork?

Langers?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,068 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

TL;DR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I think bouncers are worse than war criminals.

EDIT: I mean all bouncers btw. And the worst war criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,068 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Ok. Read it. (I'm bored)

Common sense stuff really. Don't act like a tit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭fathead82

I work in cork city on the door of a very respectable establishment.We have an age range of between 30 -60.First of all we do not decided who goes into the pub. We are told by the owners/management of the type of people they want as customers and its up to us to make sure this happens.Alot of what people complain about is totally avoidable and most of the time its their own choices that determine the out come.

what type of people do they want as customers? I went to Cork last year to visit my younger brother,we went to the Old Oak,I was 29,my friend was 28 & my brother was 23 but had ID on him. We were well dressed,no hoodies or runners,we were only after leaving his apartment so we were no drunk.

It was a Thursday night so there was not too many around,when we went into the pub,we ordered our drinks & were asked for id,the brother gave his but me or my friend didnt have any on us(we both look our age,if not older). We were told we would not be served without id,it was obvious that it was just an excuese & they didnt want us in the pub.We turned around & headed for the door without causing a fuss but still wonder what it was about us that they just didnt want us in the pub?

Grayson wrote: »
    TL;DR?

Bouncers have a job to do.
    Criteria is set out by establishment or "The Man"
    Punters should sit on chairs with their arms folded and finger on their lips
    Have fun and you will be thrown out.
    work, family, food.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

That story just makes my day

Im so so so happy that i logged on to see this op's first post..

P.s i dunno if i have ever seen a bouncer thread on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Since when did AH turn into a reddit AMA?!

Never experienced bouncers in Cork but having lived and traveled outside of Ireland for the best part of ten years I can safely say we have the worst bouncers in the world and that includes Glasgow on a Saturday night after a Celtic Rangers game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭actua11

First of all, fair play for giving your perspective on this subject, really does help to understand how the system works. However I've just a couple oif thoughts....
    First of all we do not decided who goes into the pub. We are told by the owners/management of the type of people they want as customers and its up to us to make sure this happens. Alot of what people complain about is totally avoidable and most of the time its their own choices that determine the out come.

This can be frustrating to patrons as although the owners/door staff know the desires clientele, the people waiting to get in don't, so although they are well dressed, well behaved, they may still be refused on an (unknown to them) prior requirement and as such have just needless wasted time trying to get in somewhere they presumably had no chance of getting into. Also, not everyone will form the exact same opinion of a person so what may be acceptable on a given night may change with a change in door staff, so consistency is a problem.
    1-30 people may be blwon out wrongly this is unavoidable and its better to refuse entry and be wrong than to risk letting someone in that your not 100% sure of.

Probably right but again if that estimate is right then you'd have to accept that there will be resentment from 1-30 people who have been wrongly treated.
    More serious incidents require immediate removal without question.If you stay and threaten or abuse or attack the door staff they will defend themselves and the gardai will be called.

Again I agree with you on this point, however the refusal to listen to points of view regarding an incident is a problem. Although I'm sure it's easier to warn/remove people, there have been many cases on nights out where a person/people have been causing problems and bystanders are wrongly assumed to be part of the problem group and are wrongly treated the same as said troublemakers i.e warned/removed
    If you have a problem with the way you were treated ring the pub the next day when you are sober

Firstly this is great after the fact, but still doesn't make up for any strife caused on the night in question. There have been incidents (of which I honestly am unsure of the details)where despite seemingly having video/several witness' no fault was ever held against any staff. This may have been correct but it still can cause a perception that the system of complaint may not be working.
    I do this job to pay my bills, im not on a power trip , i dont have a massive ego, i dont want to ruin your night or humiliate you and 99% of door staff are the same.Our job is to to make sure the patrons, staff and ourselves have a good night.

There is an awareness that there are great staff working the doors, doing a job that not many people would envy, but as is the case with many professions, it can take one or two rotten apples to make the whole barrel seem rotten e.g all politicians are corrupt, but all in all your work is appreciated, making us have in general a safe and enjoyable night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

CockCork forum.